Missouri Southern Photograph Collection: Home

• Section I: Alumni Association 

• 1967 Graduation 

• Alumni Association 1 

• Alumni Association 2 

• Alumni Association 3 

• Section II: Athletics 

• Athletics 1 

• Athletics 2 

• Section III: Campus Events 

• 1975 – Stadium Dedication 

• 1977 – Four Year, Full State Funding 

• 1977_FourYearFullStateFunding001 has an attached sticky note that states: “Signing of 4-year college status (state funding) - (L/R) Dr. Donald Patterson, Joplin; Thos. Taylor, Carthage; Elvin Ummel, Jasper; Fred Hughes, Joplin; Miles Anderson, Carthage; Norval Matthews, Webb City; Gov. Christopher Bond; Jerry Wells, Joplin; And Carolyn McKee, Carthage.” Within this list, “Norval Matthews could be a typo and be referring to Norvell Matthews, a prior trustee to MSSU. 

• MO Governor Christopher S. Bond signs legislation into law, marking MSSC as a fully state supported institution. Occurred in July, 1977. 

• 1987 – Veterans Day Memorial Celebration 

• Occurred on November 11, 1987 

• 1992 – George Bush Presidential Visit 

• Campus Events 1 

• Campus Events 2 

• Campus Events 3 

• Campus Events 4 

• Campus Events 5 

• Section IV: Schools & Colleges 

  Art 

• 1993, October – Painting Class 

• 1994, February – Printmaking Class 

• 1994, March – Jewelry Design/Metalsmithing Class 

• Biology 

• 1993, April – Biology Field Lab Instructed by Dr. Gibson 

• 1994, February – Pre-physical Therapy 

• These images appear to be used for marketing purposes. 

• Chemical & Physical Sciences 

• 1994, January – Medical Technology 

• 1994 – Physics Class 

• The envelope is addressed as “Physics/Math,” yet the back of the photos are labeled as “Physics.” 

• 1997 – Physics Photographs 

• These images appear to be used for marketing purposes, such as a prior brochure 

• Computer Information Science 

• 1993, October – CIS Photographs 

• These images appear to be used for marketing purposes. Furthermore, the envelope denotes that at least one of these images utilize a computer from the police academy. 

• Criminal Justice Administration 

• 1996, September – Criminal Justice Activities 

• English 

• 1993 – Dr. Rebecca Spracklen Instructing 

• Engineering Technology 

• 1995, April – Images for Computer Assisted Manufacturing Brochure 

• Circa mid/late 1990s – Mechanical Drawing & Computer Aided Design (CAD) 

• Environmental Health 

• 1993, September – Environmental Health Class on Field Day 

• Dental Hygiene 

• Circa 1990s – Dental Hygiene Class 

• Geography 

• 1994, August – Students land surveying 

• The instructor here also appears in CAD photographs, so this may be an aspect of engineering technology. Or, the instructor possibly taught niche geography courses. 

• International Studies 

• 1993 – Oxford Study Abroad 

• Envelope accredits photos to an E. Freeman 

• 1996, June – “Spanish Village” Summer Camp 

• International Studies 1 

• International Studies 2 

• International Studies 3 

• Kinesiology 

• 1993, October – Student Teaching Physical Education at Webb City 

• Relocated these photos from a CPR class envelope. 

• Mathematics 

• 1993, October – Dr. Dennis Harmon Instructing 

• Nursing 

• 1993, April – Nursing Participating with St. John’s Administration 

• St John’s is presently referred to as Mercy Hospital. 

• 1993, April – Nurses Examining Female Child 

• 1993, April – Nurses Examining Male Infant 

• 1993, April – Nursing Class 

• It is difficult to discern the writing on the envelope, however it possibly indicates the name of the instructor- listed underneath “classroom” 

• 1995, February – Nurses Visiting the Joplin Health Clinic 

• The name of this institution has likely changed from the Joplin Health Clinic. Presently, this could either be the Community Clinic of Southwest Missouri, or the prior clinic that is now Farber-McIntire Campus- a KCUMB expansion into Joplin. 

• Circa 1990s – Nurses Practicing Off-campus 

• Respiratory Care 

• 1994, February – CPR Class 

• Envelope also contained photos of a 1993 student teacher instructing physical education at Webb City. These photos were moved to the Kinesiology subsection. 

• Teacher Education 

• 1993, September – Teacher Education Class instructed by Dr. Sandra 

• 1996, May – Teacher Education Class 

• Theatre 

• 1993, October – Backstage Photograph 

• 1995, April – Behind the Scenes Theatre 

• Envelope is comprised of stage construction, costuming, lights, and sound.

Section I: Campus Life 

Student Organizations 

1. 1994, October – Accounting Club Seminar 

2. Baptist Student Union 

3. Chess Club 

4. CIRUNA 

5. College Players 

6. Computer Science League 

7. Environmental Club 

8. Future Secretaries 

9. Pershing Rifles 

10. Unlabeled Club Photos 

• These images were found with several other club photographs. However, they are not distinctly labeled, so they could even be a part of the Greek or honor society communities. 

Fraternities/Sororities 

11. Circa 1970s-1980s – Fraternities/Sororities 

• Contains: Lambda Beta Phi 1-2 (Sorority), and Sigma Nu (Fraternity). 

Honor Societies 

12. Circa 1970s-1980s – Honor Societies 

• Contains: Afro-American Society, Alpha Psi Omega (Theatre), Lambda Epsilon Chi (Paralegal), Omicron Delta Epsilon 1-2 (Economics), Psi Chi (Psychology), S.A.M., and an unlabeled honor society photo. 

Student Senate 

13. Student Senate 

Student Photos 

14. 1994, January – Counseling for Undeclared Majors 

15. Campus Life – Student Photos 1 

16. Campus Life – Student Photos 2 

Section II: Campus Scenery 

17. 1989 – Geese at the Mansion 

18. 1990 – Campus Snow at the Biology Pond 

19. 1994, March – Campus Snow 

20. 1995, April – Lantern/Wall Photos 

21. Campus Scenery 1 

22. Campus Scenery 2 

23. Campus Scenery 3 

24. Campus Scenery 4 

25. Campus Scenery 5 

26. Campus Scenery 6 

27. Campus Scenery 7 

28. Campus Scenery 8 

Section III: Campus Construction 

29. 1996, January – Multi-purpose Center 

• The multi-purpose center’s construction was planned but never executed. This folder consists of 11 colored copies, and 11 black and white copies of the same photo with slight variations in size and cropping. 

30. Billingsly Student Center Extension 

• Formerly referred to as College Union 

31. Billingsly Student Center, Prior to Extension (College Union) 

• Contains letters from the architects, addressed to Dr. Billingsly 

32. Fine Arts Complex 

33. Hearnes Hall 

34. Hughes, Fred G. Stadium 

35. Kuhn Hall 

• Previously referred to as Health Education 

36. Leggett & Platt Athletic Center/Robert Ellis Young Gym 

• From Physical Education Building folder 

37. Mills Anderson Justice Center 

38. References Used for MSSU’s Architectural Hiring Process 

39. Reynolds 

40. Reynolds, Includes Notes to Dr. Billingsly 

• On the back of this photograph is a list of construction notes addressed to Dr. Billingsly, for the purposes of describing the contents of a previous set of pictures that this one belonged to 

41. Spiva Library 

42. Student Housing 

43. Taylor Hall 

44. Taylor Performing Arts 

45. Ummel Technology 

• Previously referred to as Vocational-Technical building. Contruction photo enclosed in an envelope, from the Joplin News Herald, directed to Dr. Leon Billingsly 

46. Construction 

Section IV: Campus Aerials 

47. Campus Aerials

Section I: Crossroads/Yearbook Committee 

1. 1951 – Yearbook Photo, Charles Crocker 

2. Crossroads/Yearbook Committee 1 

3. Crossroads/Yearbook Committee 2 

Section II: Alumni Association 

4. Commencement 

• Date is to be determined of this photograph. 

Section III: Campus Administration 

• 1967, Spring – 1966-67 Board of Trustees 

• Indicated on the back, photo was taken at the “mansion,” as well as the individuals in the photo is as follows: Front Row: Elvin Ummel, Norvell Matthews, Thomas Taylor; Back Row: Fred Hughes, Mills Anderson, and Gene Taylor. Furthermore, the back also states that Fred Hughes was president during this timeframe. 

• Higher Education and Board of Governors 

Section IV: Employees 

Administrative 

• University Presidents 

• Contains: Julio S. Leon, Donald Darnton, Leon Billingsly, and Roi Wood, editing samples for prior presidents’ photos, Leon Billingsly at his desk, and Julio Leon in a classroom (2 copies) 

• Faculty/Staff 

• Faculty/Staff 1 

• Faculty/Staff 2 

• Student Workers 

• 1995, November – Teacher Education Student Workers 

• These photos are marked with the label of “Student Employment,” yet do not provide information as to what school/department they work for. Given the setting, these photos are likely taken of Teacher Education employees. 

Section V: Images Awaiting Processing 

• Negatives 1 

• Negatives 2 

• Photocopies of Images in Production 1 

• Photocopies of Images in Production 2 

• Photocopies of Images in Production 3 

• Slides 

• 1993, December – Choir Instructed by Professor Bud Clark 

• 1993, December – Jazz Band & Choir Instructed by Bob Meeks 

• 1993, December – Concert Band 

• Instructor’s name is likely listed on the envelope, yet the handwriting is difficult to discern. Although, it is likely “Haulely.” There may even be a typo in the handwriting. 

• 1993, December – Concert Band Instructed by Bob Meeks 

• 1993, December – Elliott/Liu Orchestra 

• Due to the difficulty in discerning the handwritten date, and the possible numerical dates on the back of the photographs, this could have occurred in November. 

• Circa 1993 – Jazz Band 

• 1994, December – Vocal Group & Choir Instructed by Professor Bud Clark 

• 1994, December – Stage & Jazz Band 

• 1994, December – Orchestra & Jazz Band 

• 1996 – Music, Southern Expos 

• Suzuki Violin Program

• Section IV: Performing Arts 

  Music 

Section I: Performing Arts 

Theatre 

• 1977, December – My Sister Eileen 

• 1978, Spring – Rainmaker 

• 1979, Fall – The Adventures of Robin Hood (Robin Hood II) 

• 1983, Spring – Ghosts 

• 1985, October – Imaginary Invalid 

• 1985, December – Pinocchio the Puppet 

• 1986, February – Red Shoes 

• 1986, April – Ah, Wilderness 

• 1986, December – Cinderella 

• 1987, March – Greensleeves' Magic 

• 1987, April – A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum 

• 1987, October – Brighton Beach Memoirs 

• 1987, December – Rumpelstiltskin 

• 1988, April – Cat on a Hot Tin Roof 

• 1988, May – Talking With 

• Contains shared film reel of both “Talking With” and “Attack of the Mushroom People” 

• 1988, October – Tom Jones 

• 1988, October – Fool for Love 

• 1988, December – Wizard of Oz 

• 1989, March – Pinter Two: The Collection and the Lover 

• 1989, April – Snoopy: The Musical 

• 1989, October – The Hot l Baltimore 

• 1989, October – Talley's Folly 

• 1989, November – The Diviners 

• 1989, December – Robin Hood & The Golden Arrow 

• 1990, February – Androcles & The Lion 

• 1990, April – Attack of the Mushroom People 

• Shared film reel with “Talking With” 

• 1990, April – Hitchhiker's Guide to the Universe 

• 1990, September – The Menaechmi 

• 1990, October – Conundrum 

• 1990, December – Blue Kangaroo 

• 1991, March – Snow White & Rose Red 

• 1991, April – The Fantasticks 

• 1991, September – The Shadow Box 

• 1991, October – Black Comedy 

• 1991, December – The Fisherman & The Flounder 

• 1992, February – Coyote Ugly 

• 1992, April – Godspell 

• 1992, September – Antigone 

• 1992, October – Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf 

• 1992, December – Dogs! 

• 1993, February – Strange Snow 

• 1993, February – Winnie the Pooh 

• 1993, April/May - Doctor in Spite of Himself 

• 1993, October – The Boys Next Door 

• 1993, December – Mark Twain’s Tom Sawyer 

• 1994, February – Asleep On the Wind/Graceland 

• This folder contains two theatre productions that were held across the same days. 

• 1994, March – Ant & The Grasshopper 

• 1994, April – Quilters 

• 1994, September – True West 

• 1994, October – Vanities 

• 1994, November/December - The Frog Prince 

• 1995, February – Waiting For Godot 

• 1995, March – Charlotte's Web 

• 1995, April – 12th Night 

• 1995, September – Orphans 

• 1995, October – The Fourposter 

• 1996, January/February - Standing On My Knees 

• 1996, February – Camelot 

• 1996, April – Peter & the Wolf 

• 1996, July – Mamet Oleanna 

• 1996, September – Waiting for the Parade 

• 1996, October – Ralph Roister Doister 

• 1996, December – The Steadfast Tin Soldier 

• 1997, January/February - One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest 

• 1997, April – The Sea Gull... in progress 

• 1998, February – Guys & Dolls 

• Theatre, semi-organized 

• Contains several sections of theatre-related documents that are grouped by sticky-notes 

• Theatre 

• Theatre 

• Theatre 

• Theatre