Collection Number: AC# 1
Missouri Southern Photograph Collection
The Missouri Southern State University (MSSU) Photograph Collection is comprised of university-related images. To preview in order of the images’ appearance in this collection, these photographs pertain to the institution’s: alumni, athletics, campus events, academia, general scenery of the campus’ grounds, construction, administration, and faculty/staff.
Regarding the purpose of these items, aggregating these photos in their current order allows the observer, whether they are a researcher or a curious spectator, to obtain detailed insight into the social history and administrative structure of Missouri Southern State University; through the majority of the institution’s existence.
To further elaborate on the contents of this collection, Box 1-2 consist of information pertaining to everyday life of the campus. This ranges from students’ end goal to achieve intellectual and social alignment, via graduation, to campus construction. Arguably, the construction of the campus serves as an excellent transition from the life of an ever-evolving and shifting campus, to the university administration. Box 3 serves as an intermediary by containing wider photographs for all sections. Continuing, Box 4 contains all administrative-related material to the university, this includes the Board of Governors, previous MSSU presidents, faculty/staff, etc. Contrary to this topic, Box 4 also houses miscellaneous images that are awaiting to be processed.
Lastly, Box 5 is currently in a rather unique position, these are photographs pertaining to specific theatre and music-related productions. Due to MSSU’s university archives having pre-existing collections for this material, these will likely be migrated in the near future to their respective positions in said collections.
The content itself is original.
Joplin Junior College
Jasper County Junior College
Missouri Southern College
Missouri Southern State College
Missouri Southern State University
Various MSSU Faculty, Staff and Students
Section I: Alumni Association
Alumni Association 1
Alumni Association 2
Alumni Association 3
Section II: Athletics
Section III: Campus Events
1975 – Stadium Dedication
1977 – Four Year, Full State Funding
1977_FourYearFullStateFunding001 has an attached sticky note that states: “Signing of 4-year college status (state funding) - (L/R) Dr. Donald Patterson, Joplin; Thos. Taylor, Carthage; Elvin Ummel, Jasper; Fred Hughes, Joplin; Miles Anderson, Carthage; Norval Matthews, Webb City; Gov. Christopher Bond; Jerry Wells, Joplin; And Carolyn McKee, Carthage.” Within this list, “Norval Matthews could be a typo and be referring to Norvell Matthews, a prior trustee to MSSU.
MO Governor Christopher S. Bond signs legislation into law, marking MSSC as a fully state supported institution. Occurred in July, 1977.
1987 – Veterans Day Memorial Celebration
Occurred on November 11, 1987
1992 – George Bush Presidential Visit
Campus Events 1
Campus Events 2
Campus Events 3
Campus Events 4
Campus Events 5
Section IV: Schools & Colleges
1993, October – Painting Class
1994, February – Printmaking Class
1994, March – Jewelry Design/Metalsmithing Class
1993, April – Biology Field Lab Instructed by Dr. Gibson
1994, February – Pre-physical Therapy
These images appear to be used for marketing purposes.
Chemical & Physical Sciences
1994, January – Medical Technology
1994 – Physics Class
The envelope is addressed as “Physics/Math,” yet the back of the photos are labeled as “Physics.”
1997 – Physics Photographs
These images appear to be used for marketing purposes, such as a prior brochure
Computer Information Science
1993, October – CIS Photographs
These images appear to be used for marketing purposes. Furthermore, the envelope denotes that at least one of these images utilize a computer from the police academy.
Criminal Justice Administration
1996, September – Criminal Justice Activities
1993 – Dr. Rebecca Spracklen Instructing
1995, April – Images for Computer Assisted Manufacturing Brochure
Circa mid/late 1990s – Mechanical Drawing & Computer Aided Design (CAD)
1993, September – Environmental Health Class on Field Day
Circa 1990s – Dental Hygiene Class
1994, August – Students land surveying
The instructor here also appears in CAD photographs, so this may be an aspect of engineering technology. Or, the instructor possibly taught niche geography courses.
1993 – Oxford Study Abroad
Envelope accredits photos to an E. Freeman
1996, June – “Spanish Village” Summer Camp
International Studies 1
International Studies 2
International Studies 3
1993, October – Student Teaching Physical Education at Webb City
Relocated these photos from a CPR class envelope.
1993, October – Dr. Dennis Harmon Instructing
1993, April – Nursing Participating with St. John’s Administration
St John’s is presently referred to as Mercy Hospital.
1993, April – Nurses Examining Female Child
1993, April – Nurses Examining Male Infant
1993, April – Nursing Class
It is difficult to discern the writing on the envelope, however it possibly indicates the name of the instructor- listed underneath “classroom”
1995, February – Nurses Visiting the Joplin Health Clinic
The name of this institution has likely changed from the Joplin Health Clinic. Presently, this could either be the Community Clinic of Southwest Missouri, or the prior clinic that is now Farber-McIntire Campus- a KCUMB expansion into Joplin.
Circa 1990s – Nurses Practicing Off-campus
1994, February – CPR Class
Envelope also contained photos of a 1993 student teacher instructing physical education at Webb City. These photos were moved to the Kinesiology subsection.
1993, September – Teacher Education Class instructed by Dr. Sandra
1996, May – Teacher Education Class
1993, October – Backstage Photograph
1995, April – Behind the Scenes Theatre
Envelope is comprised of stage construction, costuming, lights, and sound.
Section I: Campus Life
1994, October – Accounting Club Seminar
Baptist Student Union
Computer Science League
Unlabeled Club Photos
These images were found with several other club photographs. However, they are not distinctly labeled, so they could even be a part of the Greek or honor society communities.
Circa 1970s-1980s – Fraternities/Sororities
Contains: Lambda Beta Phi 1-2 (Sorority), and Sigma Nu (Fraternity).
Circa 1970s-1980s – Honor Societies
Contains: Afro-American Society, Alpha Psi Omega (Theatre), Lambda Epsilon Chi (Paralegal), Omicron Delta Epsilon 1-2 (Economics), Psi Chi (Psychology), S.A.M., and an unlabeled honor society photo.
1994, January – Counseling for Undeclared Majors
Campus Life – Student Photos 1
Campus Life – Student Photos 2
Section II: Campus Scenery
1989 – Geese at the Mansion
1990 – Campus Snow at the Biology Pond
1994, March – Campus Snow
1995, April – Lantern/Wall Photos
Campus Scenery 1
Campus Scenery 2
Campus Scenery 3
Campus Scenery 4
Campus Scenery 5
Campus Scenery 6
Campus Scenery 7
Campus Scenery 8
Section III: Campus Construction
1996, January – Multi-purpose Center
The multi-purpose center’s construction was planned but never executed. This folder consists of 11 colored copies, and 11 black and white copies of the same photo with slight variations in size and cropping.
Billingsly Student Center Extension
Formerly referred to as College Union
Billingsly Student Center, Prior to Extension (College Union)
Contains letters from the architects, addressed to Dr. Billingsly
Fine Arts Complex
Hughes, Fred G. Stadium
Previously referred to as Health Education
Leggett & Platt Athletic Center/Robert Ellis Young Gym
From Physical Education Building folder
Mills Anderson Justice Center
References Used for MSSU’s Architectural Hiring Process
Reynolds, Includes Notes to Dr. Billingsly
On the back of this photograph is a list of construction notes addressed to Dr. Billingsly, for the purposes of describing the contents of a previous set of pictures that this one belonged to
Taylor Performing Arts
Previously referred to as Vocational-Technical building. Contruction photo enclosed in an envelope, from the Joplin News Herald, directed to Dr. Leon Billingsly
Section IV: Campus Aerials
Section I: Crossroads/Yearbook Committee
1951 – Yearbook Photo, Charles Crocker
Crossroads/Yearbook Committee 1
Crossroads/Yearbook Committee 2
Section II: Alumni Association
Date is to be determined of this photograph.
Section III: Campus Administration
1967, Spring – 1966-67 Board of Trustees
Indicated on the back, photo was taken at the “mansion,” as well as the individuals in the photo is as follows: Front Row: Elvin Ummel, Norvell Matthews, Thomas Taylor; Back Row: Fred Hughes, Mills Anderson, and Gene Taylor. Furthermore, the back also states that Fred Hughes was president during this timeframe.
Higher Education and Board of Governors
Section IV: Employees
Contains: Julio S. Leon, Donald Darnton, Leon Billingsly, and Roi Wood, editing samples for prior presidents’ photos, Leon Billingsly at his desk, and Julio Leon in a classroom (2 copies)
1995, November – Teacher Education Student Workers
These photos are marked with the label of “Student Employment,” yet do not provide information as to what school/department they work for. Given the setting, these photos are likely taken of Teacher Education employees.
Section V: Images Awaiting Processing
Photocopies of Images in Production 1
Photocopies of Images in Production 2
Photocopies of Images in Production 3
1993, December – Choir Instructed by Professor Bud Clark
1993, December – Jazz Band & Choir Instructed by Bob Meeks
1993, December – Concert Band
Instructor’s name is likely listed on the envelope, yet the handwriting is difficult to discern. Although, it is likely “Haulely.” There may even be a typo in the handwriting.
1993, December – Concert Band Instructed by Bob Meeks
1993, December – Elliott/Liu Orchestra
Due to the difficulty in discerning the handwritten date, and the possible numerical dates on the back of the photographs, this could have occurred in November.
Circa 1993 – Jazz Band
1994, December – Vocal Group & Choir Instructed by Professor Bud Clark
1994, December – Stage & Jazz Band
1994, December – Orchestra & Jazz Band
1996 – Music, Southern Expos
Suzuki Violin Program
Section IV: Performing Arts
Section I: Performing Arts
1977, December – My Sister Eileen
1978, Spring – Rainmaker
1979, Fall – The Adventures of Robin Hood (Robin Hood II)
1983, Spring – Ghosts
1985, October – Imaginary Invalid
1985, December – Pinocchio the Puppet
1986, February – Red Shoes
1986, April – Ah, Wilderness
1986, December – Cinderella
1987, March – Greensleeves' Magic
1987, April – A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum
1987, October – Brighton Beach Memoirs
1987, December – Rumpelstiltskin
1988, April – Cat on a Hot Tin Roof
1988, May – Talking With
Contains shared film reel of both “Talking With” and “Attack of the Mushroom People”
1988, October – Tom Jones
1988, October – Fool for Love
1988, December – Wizard of Oz
1989, March – Pinter Two: The Collection and the Lover
1989, April – Snoopy: The Musical
1989, October – The Hot l Baltimore
1989, October – Talley's Folly
1989, November – The Diviners
1989, December – Robin Hood & The Golden Arrow
1990, February – Androcles & The Lion
1990, April – Attack of the Mushroom People
Shared film reel with “Talking With”
1990, April – Hitchhiker's Guide to the Universe
1990, September – The Menaechmi
1990, October – Conundrum
1990, December – Blue Kangaroo
1991, March – Snow White & Rose Red
1991, April – The Fantasticks
1991, September – The Shadow Box
1991, October – Black Comedy
1991, December – The Fisherman & The Flounder
1992, February – Coyote Ugly
1992, April – Godspell
1992, September – Antigone
1992, October – Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf
1992, December – Dogs!
1993, February – Strange Snow
1993, February – Winnie the Pooh
1993, April/May - Doctor in Spite of Himself
1993, October – The Boys Next Door
1993, December – Mark Twain’s Tom Sawyer
1994, February – Asleep On the Wind/Graceland
This folder contains two theatre productions that were held across the same days.
1994, March – Ant & The Grasshopper
1994, April – Quilters
1994, September – True West
1994, October – Vanities
1994, November/December - The Frog Prince
1995, February – Waiting For Godot
1995, March – Charlotte's Web
1995, April – 12th Night
1995, September – Orphans
1995, October – The Fourposter
1996, January/February - Standing On My Knees
1996, February – Camelot
1996, April – Peter & the Wolf
1996, July – Mamet Oleanna
1996, September – Waiting for the Parade
1996, October – Ralph Roister Doister
1996, December – The Steadfast Tin Soldier
1997, January/February - One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest
1997, April – The Sea Gull... in progress
1998, February – Guys & Dolls
Contains several sections of theatre-related documents that are grouped by sticky-notes
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.