Access thousands of full-text journals covering information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, engineering, law, mathematics, multicultural studies, music, physics, psychology, women's studies and many other fields.
A large digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering more than 50 disciplines primarily in the Arts & Sciences, Life Sciences, and Business. Coverage begins at the first issue of the journal and extends up to a publication date usually set in the past three to five years.
A sub-database of ProQuest Central; provides political science and international relations journals, dissertations, and working papers on topics such as comparative politics, political economy, international development, and environmental policy.
A sub-database of ProQuest Central; offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
American Political Science Review
British Journal for the History of Philosophy
British Journal of Political ScienceThe Journal of Political PhilosophyJournal of the History of Ideas
Journal of the History of PhilosophySocial ResearchTheoria : A Journal of Social & Political TheoryOnce you have a set of results, there are many options for exploring your search further. You can narrow your results or refine your search.
Use Boolean Logic (AND, OR, NOT) to combine search concepts.
AND
By default, all terms in a Summon search are combined with AND:
teacher education will return results that contain both terms.
Quotation Marks (" ")
Put quotation marks around any words you want to search as a phrase:
"teacher education"
OR
Use OR to expand your search:
"teacher education" OR "teacher training" will return results that contain either phrase.
NOT
Use NOT to exclude terms:
animal NOT dog will return results that do not include the term dog.
*AND, OR, and NOT must be in ALL CAPTIALS in your search.
Tilde(~)
Use the tilde character to find words within a defined proximity to other words:
"yeast bread"~10 will return results where the terms are 10 words apart or less.
The tilde can also be used at the end of a word to find similar words:
lead~ will also find wead, veade and tead.
Question mark (?) will match any one character
wom?n will find woman and women
Asterisk (*) will match zero or more characters within a word or at the end of a word
ch*ter will find charter, character, and chapter
temp* will find temptation, temple, and temporary
Note: Wildcards cannot be used as the first character of a search
To access fulltext articles or eBooks from off-campus you must be a current MSSU student, faculty or staff member with a Username and PIN.
Your Username and PIN is the same one used to log onto campus computers.
Username: doej001 (first half of your mymail email)
PIN: ****** (6 random character PIN assigned with your S#)
You can find out your university email address via LioNet (https://lionet.mssu.edu).
If you do not know your PIN please contact the Information Service Technologies helpdesk @417-659-4444 or helpdesk@mssu.edu.
Use your Active Directory logon or wireless logon to access library resources from off campus.
Contact the Library Reference desk.
Phone: 417-625-9342
Email: LibrRef@mssu.edu
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.
