Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Documenting COVID-19 At MSSU: Home

How to document your COVID-19 experience and how to donate materials to the MSSU Archive and Special Collections

About

The Archives and Special Collections at MSSU is interested in preserving the experiences of Missouri Southern State University's students, faculty, staff and alumni during the COVID-19 pandemic. In accordance with MSSU's policies, the University Archives is already collecting official university announcements about the pandemic.

You can help by volunteering to document and contribute your thoughts on how you are experiencing the ongoing situation around COVID-19.

You can preview some of the current submissions to this collection here.

How to Participate

The method you use to document your experience can take many forms. For the purposes of this project we invite participants to submit materials in the following forms:

  • A story, essay, journal or other piece of writing
  • Emails or other correspondence relating to the pandemic
  • A photograph or image (this includes original artwork)
  • A video recording or video journal
  • An audio recording or audio journal

Topics of interest may include but are not limited to stories about remote learning and teaching at MSSU, a photograph of your at-home work space, an original work of art, a poem about your experience during the pandemic, the ways you are staying in touch with family and friends, the challenges international students or those with families abroad are facing, your day to day life both on and off campus, and any of the other varied ways the pandemic has affected you.

Guidelines for Donations

The digital materials that you submit must be wholly original and created by you.

You retain ownership and copyright of your digital materials. By submitting these materials to Missouri Southern State University's Archives and Special Collections, you permit the archives to preserve, reproduce, and distribute your work. There are options on the submission form as to whether you wish to remain anonymous, or whether you have other stipulations for your donation.

If you interview or record other people in the course of documenting your experience, we will also need their permission so that we can preserve and share the recordings with future researchers. Please have any friends, family members, or community members fill out the corresponding portions of the form (with their name, contact information and permission of use) if you wish to interview or record them. We will not be able to preserve the materials submitted without proper permissions.

Loaned material will not be accepted.

How to Submit Your Donation

Donations can be submitted using the following form:

https://mssu.libwizard.com/f/DocumentingCOVID19

You may submit materials to project using the form multiple times.

If your file or document is too large to uploaded, or if you have further questions, please email archives@mssu.edu.

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.