Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

4-State Sports Show Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#164, 4-State Sports Show Collection. Flyers, letters and newspaper clippings from the 4-State Sports Show in Joplin, Missouri from 1956-1957, and the Springfield Metro Club Sports Show in Springfield, Missouri from 1956-1959.

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#164

Title: 
4-State Sports Show Collection

Dates: 
1955-1962


Collection Size: 
1 Box

Biographical History

The 4-State Sports Show was held in Joplin, Missouri from 1956-1957, and the Springfield Metro Club Sports Show in Springfield, Missouri from 1956-1959. These sports shows were commercial exhibits for sports and sporting related equipment.

Scope and Content

This is a collection of flyers, letters and newspaper clippings containing information about the 4-State Sports Show.

Creator(s)

Joplin Chamber of Commerce

Springfield Metro Club

Acquisition Information

Donated by Mary Lou Dove in 1994.

Preview the Collection

Preview the Collection

Collection Inventory

Box 1

Folder 1

  • “The Star Trio” photographs (4 photos)
  • Written notes (3 pages)
  • “Introducing Keith Curtis” paper
  • “Second Add: Local Mailing List: Joplin Sports Show” paper (3 pages)
  • “Add: Local Mailing List: Joplin Four State Sport Show” paper (2 pages)
  • “Publicity and Promotion for Sport Show Committee Meeting” paper
  • “Dog Exhibition” written paper
  • Notecards
    • “American Foxhound – July strain”
    • “Afghan Hound”
    • “American Foxhound – Goodman strain”
    • “Irish Setter”
  • “Pep Up Your Fair This Year. It’s Not Too Late! Contact Jimmie Downey Today” flyer
  • “The Flyer Sensations” informative program
  • “J.C. Michael Revenue” poster
  • “WLS ‘Packs ‘Em In’” flyer
  • “Cy’s Dilapidated Flaming Wreck: Fire Over and Under” flyer
  • “Previews of Coming Attractions: Be an Early Bird!” flyer
  • “4-State Sport Show Joplin, MO” paper (2 pages)
  • “For Your Entertainment…the BEST in” program
  • “From the ‘Heart of America’ – Jack Collins” flyer
  • “The Perfect Program: Mr. Johnny Kemm” program
  • “Jimmie Downey Enterprises: Complete details on all shows available on your request” paper (3 pages)
  • 1955 – “Jimmie Downey Enterprises: A Superb Entertainment Program for your 1955 Fairs Homecomings, Celebrations, Centennials” paper (8 pages) (2 copies)
  • March 16, 1955 – “Joplin Chamber of Commerce: Sport Show Committee Meeting – Minutes” paper (5 pages)
  • Sept. 25, 1955 – letter to Ed Landreth from George Goetz (2 pages)
  • 1956 – “Financial Summary 1956 4-State Sport Show” paper (5 pages) (2 copies)
  • 1956 – “Report of the Entertainment Committee – 1956 Sports Show” paper (2 pages)
  • 1956 – “Jimmie Downey Enterprises: Entertainment for your 1956 Fair” flyer
  • 1956 – “Jimmie Downey Enterprises: A Few of our New Attractions for 1956” flyer
  • Jan. 28, 1956 – letter to Mr. Johnny Kemm from David Fly
  • Feb. 2, 1956 – “American Federation of Musicians” contract
  • Feb. 24-26, 1956 - “For Real Sales Promotion…Investigate the 2nd Annual 4-States Sport Show” pamphlet (2 copies)
  • Feb. 28, 1956 – Thank you letter to Guy Greenwell from Ed Landreth
  • March 15-18, 1956 – “The Metro Sport Show of 1956” program

Folder 2

  • 25 written notes
  • 3 envelopes
  • “Sport Show” memo to Buddie from Bus Greenwell
  • Ticket prices paper
  • Maps of Streets
  • “Sports Show First Floor Plans – Memorial Hall” map
  • “Street Guide Joplin Missouri” mini booklet
  • “Large Tent Space Available” map
  • “General Expenses” written paper
  • “4 State Sport Show 1957 budget and 1956 budget” written paper
  • “4 State Sport Show 1957 Budget and 1956 budget” paper
  • “Hook Line and Sinkner” pamphlet
  • “Chick Major Family” newspaper clipping
  • “Champ and challenger” newspaper clipping
  • “World Champion Duck Caller” flyer
  • “Chick Major’s Dixie Mallard Call” flyer (2 copies)
  • “Contract for Booth Space Four State Sports Show” contract (9 copies)
  • “March 22-24 – “Chick Major Family to Appear in Sport Show” paper
  • March 22-24 – “World Famous Author-Conservationist to MC Four State Spot Show” paper (3 copies)
  • April 22 – “Joplin Chamber of Commerce 4 State Sport Show Committee: Agenda” paper
  • Aug. 22, 1956 – “Financial Summary 1956 – 4 State Sport Show” paper (6 pages)
  • Oct. 1, 1956 – “Tentative Committee Chairmen – 1957 – 4 State Sport Show” paper
  • Oct. 16, 1956 – “Joplin Chamber of Commerce Natural Resources Committee Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • Dec. 7, 1956 – letter to Russ from Gilbert J. Maschmann
  • Dec. 18, 1956 – “Sports Show” written notes
  • Dec. 31, 1956 – “Vickers Joplin Employees Federal Credit Union” paper (10 pages)
  • 1957 – “News Release – Sports Show – 1957” paper
  • Jan. 2, 1957 – letter to Gentlemen from Edson Junge
  • Jan. 9, 1957 – “Joplin Chamber of Commerce Sport Show Committee: Minutes” paper
  • Jan. 30, 1957 – “Joplin Chamber of Commerce Four State Sports Show Committee Meeting: Minutes” paper (4 pages)
  • Jan. 31, 1957 – “Joplin Chamber of Commerce Four State Sports Show Committee Meeting: Agenda” paper (2 copies)
  • Feb. 1-10, 1957 – “4th Annual Kansas City: Sports, Travel and Boat Show” program
  • Feb. 5, 1957 – letter to Mr. Greenwell from Mrs. Chick Major (2 pages)
  • Feb. 11, 1957 – letter to Guy and Jane from Charlie
  • Feb. 11, 1957 – letter to Bus from the Chick Major’s (2 pages)
  • Feb. 11, 1957 – “Joplin Chamber of Commerce Sport Show Committee Meeting: Minutes” paper (2 pages) (3 copies)
  • Feb. 11, 1957 – “Joplin Chamber of Commerce Four State Sport Show Committee meeting: Agenda” paper (2 copies)
  • Feb. 13, 1957 – letter to Chick
  • Feb. 16, 1957 – letter to Mrs. Greenwell from Chick Major
  • Feb. 19, 1957 – letter to Mrs. Major from Mrs. Guy A. Greenwell
  • Feb. 19, 1957 – letter to Charlie and Lib
  • Feb. 25, 1957 – “Joplin Chamber of Commerce Program of Activities Committee Meeting – Minutes” paper (2 pages) (3 copies)
  • Feb. 25, 1957 – letter to Guy and Jane
  • March 1957 – “Personal History Statement on Charles W. (Walsh) Schwartz” paper (2 pages)
  • March 1, 1957 – letter to Mrs. Mae Talbott
  • March 5, 1957 – letter to Mr. & Mrs. Shore from Guy A Greenwell
  • March 7, 1957 – “Expenses for Sport Show to Date” paper
  • March 12, 1957 – letter to Guy and Jane from Charlie
  • March 15, 1957 – “Joplin Chamber of Commerce Sport Show Committee Meeting: Agenda” paper
  • March 15, 1957 – “Received of” paper
  • March 16, 1957 – letter to Jane and Guy from Charlie
  • March 22-24, 1957 – “Financial Report on the March 22-23-24, 1957 Four State Sport Show” paper (5 pages) (2 copies)
  • March 24, 1957 – “Received of” paper
  • March 25, 1957 – “Congratulations” postcard
  • April 1, 1957 – “Joplin Chamber of Commerce Sport Show Committee Meeting: Agenda” paper (2 pages)
  • April 24, 1957 – letter to Guy Greenwell from L.A. Freeman

Folder 3

  • 2 envelopes
  • “Camp Rising Sun (F.F.A. Camp)” hand drawn map
  • “Willing Workers for Wildlife Inspection Sheet” paper
  • “Willing Workers for Wildlife Demonstration Program” paper (4 copies)
  • “Willing Worker for Wildlife Demonstration Program” paper (2 pages) (3 copies)
  • “Lake Ozark Conference Program” paper
  • “Program Conservation Leaders’ Conference” paper
  • Letter to all chapter officers from Ray Krebs
  • “Conservation Federation of Missouri: Name of Club” paper
  • “Conservation Federation of Missouri” paper
  • “Conservation Federation of Missouri: For several years…” letter to all club officers from Ed Stegner (2 pages)
  • “Conservation Federation of Missouri: Do not forget the two conservation conferences…” letter to all club officers from Ed Stegner
  • “Conservation Federation of Missouri” letter to all chapter officers from Ed Stegner
  • “Conservation Federation on of Missouri” letter to all officers, board members and club officers from Ed Stegner
  • 1957 – “Jasper Co.” paper (2 pages)
  • “Newton Co.” paper (2 pages)
  • March 1957 – Joplin Chamber of Commerce News, “Joplin’s 4 State Sport Show” article
  • Aug. 12, 1957 – “4-H Planting in Jasper and Newton Counties” memo to Ed Junge, Ore Maples, George Babb, Guy Greenwell, Daniels, Cunningham from Buddie Maschmann
  • Aug. 14, 1957 – “Conservation Federation of Missouri” letter to Jane Greenwell from Ed Stegner
  • Aug. 24, 1957 – “Missouri Ruralist” newspaper
  • Sept. 12, 1957 – “September meeting” program (2 copies)
  • Feb. 6, 1959 – letter to Ed
  • Feb. 9, 1959 – letter to Guy Greenwell from Ed. Junge
  • Feb. 24, 1959 – letter to Ora from Guy A. Greenwell
  • Dec. 7, 1962 – letter to Edson Junge from Buddie Maschmann

Folder 4

  • 3 written notes
  • Mini notepad with written notes
  • 1958 - “Springfield Metro Sports Show of 1958” program
  • Nov. 1, 1958 – letter to Rex B. Ross from B. J. Allen
  • Nov. 25, 1958 – letter to Mr. Allen from Guy A. Greenwell
  • Dec. 2, 1958 – letter to Guy Greenwell from Richard B. Jamison
  • Dec. 6, 1958 – letter to Guy A. Greenwell from Bill J. Allen

Folder 5

  • “Wildlife Exhibit Trailer to be here for Sports Show” newspaper clipping
  • “Sports Show” newspaper clipping ad
  • “4-State Sport Show” newspaper clipping ad
  • “Plans Shaped for Four-State Sports Show Here Next Weekend” newspaper clipping
  • “Four-State Sport Show Opens Tonight at Hall” newspaper clipping
  • “Crowds Throng Memorial Hall As Four-State Sport Show Opens” newspaper clipping
  • “This is Your Column” newspaper clipping
  • “Four-State Sport Show Here Ends; 15,000 Attended” newspaper clipping
  • “Plan Turkey Shoot at Sports Show” newspaper clipping
  • “’All-Boat’ Parade Schedule Saturday” newspaper clipping
  • “Four-State Sport Show Will Open in Joplin Today” newspaper clipping
  • “Sport Show Aquaria and Wildlife Exhibit” newspaper clipping
  • “More Than 1,500 at Sport Show on First Night” newspaper clipping
  • “Conservationists Here for Show” newspaper clipping
  • “Sport Show Opens For Three Days at Memorial Hall” newspaper clipping
  • “Everybody Has Fun at Joplin’s Four-State Sports Show” newspaper clipping
  • “Unique Wildlife Program Conducted in Jasper And Newton Counties Told in Magazine Article” newspaper article (2 copies)
  • “Six-Time National Archery Champion to Give Exhibitions at Four-State Sport Show in Memorial Hall February 25-27” newspaper clipping
  • “Archery Star in 4-State Sport Show” newspaper clipping
  • “Wildlife Exhibit Booth at Sports Show” newspaper clipping
  • “The Four-State Sport Show” newspaper clipping
  • “For the Best Marksman” newspaper clipping
  • “Sport Show Plans Outlined Before South Joplin Lions” newspaper clipping
  • “3rd Annual Four-State Sport Show” newspaper clipping
  • “3rd Annual Four-State Sport Show” newspaper clipping ad
  • “3rd Annual Four-State Sport Show” newspaper clipping ad
  • “Devil’s Wash Pan State Park Plan Will Be Discussed” newspaper clipping
  • “The Globe’s Farm Department” newspaper
  • Feb. 18, 1955 – The Joplin Globe, “Casting Tourney Site is Selected” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 25, 1955 – Joplin News, “Conservation Officials Here for Sports Show” newspaper  clipping
  • Feb. 25, 1955 – Joplin Globe, “Big Crowd Sees the Sport Show Despite Showers” newspaper clipping
  • March 11, 1955 – “Forest Tree and Wildlife Planting Stock Received” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 5, 1956 – Joplin Globe, “Cake Walk to Be a Feature of Four-State Sport Show” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 23, 1956 – Joplin Globe, “Sport Show Booths and Exhibits Placed in Memorial Hall Today” newspaper clipping (2 copies)
  • Oct. 17, 1956 – Joplin Globe, “Prairie Chicken Preservation in State Discussed” newspaper clipping
  • Dec. 17, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Globe’s Farm, Market and Financial News” newspaper clipping
  • Dec. 18, 1956 – Joplin Globe, “C. of C. Sports Show Group Meets Tonight” newspaper clipping
  • Jan. 31, 1957 – “4-State Sports Show Will Be Held in March” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 3, 1957 – The Detroit News” newspaper
  • Feb. 12, 1957 – “Plans Advanced For Sports Show Here March 22-24” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 22, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “4-H Clubs Will Begin Wildlife Planting Projects Saturday” newspaper clipping
  • Feb. 26, 1957 – “Five Champions Will Appear in Sports Show” newspaper clipping
  • March 3, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Ozarks Out O’Doors” newspaper clipping (2 copies)
  • March 7, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Chick Major Family” newspaper clipping
  • March 10, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Log Rolling Act Signed for Show” newspaper clipping
  • March 12, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Seal to Perform at Sports Show” newspaper clipping
  • March 16, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Report Given on Sport Show” newspaper clipping
  • March 18, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Advance Ticket Sales Are Brisk For Sport Show” newspaper clipping
  • March 20, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Sport Show Talk Given Before Lions” newspaper clipping
  • March 21, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Sparky to Appear Here” newspaper clipping
  • March 22, 1957 – “Four-State Sport Show Opens Tonight” newspaper clipping
  • March 23, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Herschel ‘Woody’ Bledsoe” newspaper clipping
  • March 23, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Log Rollers to Perform Here” newspaper clipping
  • March 23, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Hall is Filled at Third Annual Sport Exhibition” newspaper clipping
  • March 24, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Another Large Audience For Sportsman Exhibition” newspaper clipping
  • March 24, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Ducks out of Season” newspaper clipping
  • March 25, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Record Crowds At Sport Show Attraction Here” newspaper clipping
  • April 21, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Sports Show Committee to be Given Report” newspaper clipping
  • April 23, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Financial Report Delivered On Annual Four-State Show” newspaper clipping
  • May 15, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Ayers Returns From Arkansas” newspaper clipping
  • Aug. 1, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “Group Discusses Plans for 1958 Sports Show” newspaper clipping
  • Aug. 25, 1957 – Joplin Globe, “4-H Club Works for Wildlife in Pond Planting Project” newspaper clipping

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.