Skip to main content

Dr. Robert Markman Collection: Home

Special Collections. SC#47. Dr. Robert Markman Collection. Donated by Robert Markman. Union labor publications from national and Missouri labor organizations from the 1950s through the 1980s, including local labor meeting flyers and other papers.

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#47


Title: 
Dr. Robert Markman Collection

Dates: 

1917-1919, 1953-1986, 1991


Collection Size: 
1 Box

Scope and Content

Donated by Robert Markman. Union labor publications from national and Missouri labor organizations from the 1950s through the 1980s, including labor and union organization manuals, labor pamphlets, and local labor meeting fliers and other papers.

Creator(s)

American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO)

R.L. Turner – Financial Secretary-Treasurer, creator of Local 200 Financial Report

Office of the Governor, State of Missouri

Missouri Advisory Committee

William Krudwig

Amos E Jackson

Kansas Department of Human Resources

Ozark Christian College

Acquisition Information

Donated by Dr. Robert Markman in 1985-1986, 1992-1992, 1995 and 2004.

Preview the Collection

Collection Inventory

Box 1

Local Union & Business Papers

  • Local Union #200 Financial Report
    • A financial report from August of 1976 for the Local Union #200 of Joplin, Missouri.
  • Local 319 Joplin Missouri
    • “Agreements of the Construction and General Laborers’ Local Union #319, Joplin, Missouri” from 1970 to 1980 and a copy of the organization’s 1977 labor commission case.
    • Agreement – Construction and General Laborers’ Local 319 – Joplin, Missouri
      • May 31, 1970
      • July 31, 1973
      • July 31, 1975
      • July 31, 1978
      • July 31, 1980
    • 1977 – Labor Commission Case
  • Local Union #322 Joplin Missouri
    • A 1983-1986 agreement between Harber’s Thriftway, Incorporated in Joplin, Missouri and the United Food and Commercial Workers Union Local #322 of Joplin, Missouri.
  • Local Union #620 Joplin Musicians
    • A statement from the Joplin Musicians’ Association, Local 620 from 1976, giving their position of non-union members.
  • Local Union #716
    • Photocopies of a 1982-1985 agreement between Elder Manufacturing Company and the Southwest Regional Joint Board of the Amalgamated Clothing and Textile Workers Union in Southwest Missouri, Local Union #716 of Joplin, Missouri, and related papers.
    • Appendix B – Productivity and Cost Incentive papers
    • 1982-1985 Union Agreement
    • Jan. 15, 1984 – Agreement
    • Jan. 10, 1986 – Letter from Beulah Clark to Gertell Hill
  • West Central Missouri Rural Development Corporation
    • Letter correspondences between various parties, from Amos. E. Jackson and William Krudwig. Copies of correspondence on Family Planning Programs from Krudwig.
    • July 7, 1972 – letter from Amos E Jackson to Robert Markman
    • Feb. 15, 1973 – letter from Amos E. Jackson to Robert Markman
    • Oct. 5, 1973 – letter to Krudwig
    • Oct. 6, 1973 – letter to Helen
    • July 18, 1974 – letter from William Krudwig to Charles Braithwait
    • Jan. 19, 1976 – letter from William Krudwig to Charles Braithwait
    • Jan. 20, 1976 – letter from William Krudwig to Edward Delaney
  • Agenda from the June 7, 1976 Joplin City Council meeting, on rezoning.
    • Request by the Downtown Development (2 copies)
    • A resolution for Presentation to the Joplin City Council
  • A proclamation from the Office of the Governor, State of Missouri and invitations from the Missouri Advisory Committee to join the Spring of Towns Meetings in April and May of 1977.
    • Feb. 14, 1977 - “Proclamation: Office of the Governor State of Missouri” photocopy
    • April 4, 1977 – “Spring of Town Meetings” (2 pages)
  • Kansas Department of Human Resources
    • Regulations for Collective Bargaining Division of Employment Department of Human Resources
      • Feb. 16, 1979
        • K.S.A. 49-6-1 through 49-12-7
      • Feb. 16, 1979
        • K.S.A. 48-1-1 through 48-4-2
      • Feb. 16, 1979
        • K.S.A. 97-1-1 through 97-3-7
  • 1991 – Ozark Christian College, Annual Report
  • Photocopies of Civil War letters, Camp Parapet
  • Photocopies of Old Missouri Newspapers
  • Photocopies of Captain Thomas Ward’s Papers (1847-1865)
  • Local Elections
    • Harvey E. Arnce, 1976 campaign letter
    • Senator Richard M. Webster, 1977, Equal Rights Amendment feedback survey
    • October 15, 1976, Richard D. Humphrey letter to Jasper County voters
    • Jasper County HB-240 Fact Sheet
  • Labor Rally Posters
    • March 4, 1987 Letter from John Ashcroft
    • Joplin Rally poster, undated
    • Labor Rally poster, Joplin, October 29, 1982
    • Labor Rally poster, Joplin, May 28, 1982
    • Notice to stop shopping at Consumers Market, Inc. in Joplin
    • Labor Rally for Political Education, Joplin, October 27, 1976

AFL-CIO Documents and Publications

  • Missouri State Labor Council, AFL-CIO
    • News, May 1984
    • Endorsements of the Missouri State Labor Council, 1982
    • September 29, 1980, COPE Endorsements
    • October 15, 1979 Letter
    • February 9-June 8, 1979, Actiongrams
    • Insight, “We won the ‘RTW’ battle in Missouri, but… We can still lose the war!”
    • “Summary Annual Report for Kansas City Area Retail Food Store Employee Pension Plan,” April 1, 1979
  • Constitution of Flour & Cereal Workers, Local #92 of Minneapolis and Vicinity of the International Union of United Brewery, Flour, Cereal and Soft Drink Workers of America
    • December 3-13, 1917
    • December 22, 1919
  • Fundamentals of Occupational Safety and Health, presentation documents, unknown date
  • Union Constitutions
    • 1975 Constitution, United Rubber, Cork, Linoleum and Plastic Workers of America
    • June 14-17, 1976 Constitution Adopted by the Las Vegas, Nevada Convention, International Brotherhood of Teamsters, Chauffeurs, Warehousemen and Helpers of America
    • January 1, 1977, International Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers
  • Plan for Settling Jurisdictional Disputes Nationally and Locally, Approved by The Building and Construction Trades Department, AFL-CIO
    • September 15, 1953
    • September 1963
  • Agreement and Declaration of Trust between Associated General Contractors of Missouri and Eastern Missouri Laborers’ District Council and the Western Missouri and Kanas Laborers’ District Council
    • May 1965
    • May 1, 1977
  • Laborers’ International Union of North America, AFL-CIO, Organizing Manual, unknown date
  • September 11-13, 1978, Proceedings of the Fifth Annual and Ninth Biennial Convention of the Missouri State Labor Council, AFL-CIO, held at Kansas City, Missouri
  • Labor Pamphlets
    • “What Labor Law Must Overcome”
    • “Labor Law Reform is Halfway Home”
    • “Sample Letters to Senators on Labor Law, S.2467”
    • “The Changing Situation of Workers and Their Unions,” A Report by the AFL-CIO Committee on the Evolution of Work, February 1985
    • “What They Wore: Some Highlights of Fashion History,” by Phyllis Joyce, International Ladies’ Garment Workers’ Union
    • “Your Money’s Worth,” by Sidney Margolius, International Ladies’ Garment Workers’ Union
    • “Free Trade Unions-Force for Democracy
    • “Fred Farkle Fractured Fairy Fables or A Labor of Love, or Labor,” by Bill Payne and Dan Gibson
    • “Fight for my union? …Damn right I would!”
    • “This is the AFL-CIO,” March 1978
    • “Labor Champion of Public Education,” American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations
    • “Unions of America”
    • “Why Unions?” September 1976
    • “Why Unions?” July 1980
    • “Rights and Responsibilities Under the LMRDA,” September 1977
    • “Labor Looks at Congress 1977”
    • “You Can Usually Tell a Bill (Labor Law Reform) By the Company it Keeps”
    • “Films for Labor,” December 1975
    • “Collective Bargaining: Democracy on the Job,” July 1965
    • “20 Ideas for Steward Meetings,” September 1975
    • AFL-CIO Special Report, “The Union Busters”
    • AFL-CIO Special Report, “Mom & Pop Aren’t Involved,” 1978
    • AFL-CIO, “The Year for Labor Law Reform!” June 1977
  • Labor Magazines
    • “Security in time of need,” March 1974 (2 copies)
    • AFL-CIO Labor Studies Center, 1975-1976 Catalogue
    • “Keeping the Records Straight,” Service Employees International Union, AFL-CIO/CLC
    • “The Truth About Newspaper Endorsements of Labor Law Reform,” 1978
    • “How to conduct a successful strike: The SEIU strike manual”
    • “Small Gas Engines: Operation, Safety and Maintenance: A Laborer-Trainee Manual” 1973
    • “Concrete Vibration: Operation, Safety and Maintenance: A Laborer-Trainee Manual” 1973
    • “Concrete Saws: Operation, Safety and Maintenance: A Laborer-Trainee Manual” 1973
    • “Clearing Tools and Procedures: Operation, Safety and Maintenance: A Laborer-Trainee Manual” 1974
    • “Safe Chain Saw Operation and Maintenance: Operation, Safety and Maintenance: A Laborer-Trainee Manual” 1974
    • “Chain Saw Sharpening: Operation, Safety and Maintenance: A Laborer-Trainee Manual” 1974
    • “Felling and Bucking Safety: Operation, Safety and Maintenance: A Laborer-Trainee Manual” 1974
    • “The Mechanics of Lifting, Prying and Moving Objects: Operation, Safety and Maintenance: A Laborer-Trainee Manual” 1974
    • “A Teaching Guide for AFL-CIO Stewards,” AFL-CIO Department of Education, March 1973
  • Proceedings: 14th Convention, International HOD Carriers’, Building and Common Laborers’ Union of America, October 16-20, 1961
  • Labor Laws of the State of Missouri, Compiled by The Industrial Commission of Missouri
    • October 13, 1963
    • October 13, 1965
    • October 13, 1967
  • AFL-CIO Speakers Manual, 1978
  • IBEW Leadership Training Manual, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers, 1964

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.