Skip to main content

Library Collection List: Home

Archives and Special Collections

Located on the first floor of George A. Spiva Library at Missouri Southern State University, the University Archives/Special Collection Department collects, arranges, preserves, and makes accessible the institutional history of Missouri Southern State University, from its beginnings as Joplin Junior College through today.This department also maintains special collections to preserve various local history collections.

Visit Archives and Special Collections

Award Winners

The library purchases several categories of award books every year. Juvenile and Young Adult award books are kept separate on the 4th floor in their own collection. Other award books are added to the Main Collection.

Go to Full List of Awards Go to Library Items

Contemporary Collection

The Contemporary Collection features content from our yearly collaborative collection, recreational reading section, new bookshelf, international semester books, and our graphic novels.

Go to Library Items

Curriculum Kits

Curriculum Kits can be found on the fourth floor of the library. The Audio Visual Center/Government Documents desk is also located on this floor and is staffed most hours the library is open. The friendly staff at this help desk will be happy to assist anyone with locating items from this collection as well as items from any of the other collections located on the fourth floor.

Curriculum kits are for MSSU patron checkout only.The checkout period is for 1 week. Kits can be renewed if the item is not wanted by another patron.

Go to Collection Guide

Feature Films

On a shelf in the middle of the floor on the third floor of the library, Spiva Library houses nearly 700 full length feature films for students and patrons to check out. Missouri Southern students, faculty and staff may borrow up to five videos at a time for a period of ten days. They may be renewed for one additional time period if no one has requested the item.

Go to Library Items

 

Government Documents

Spiva Library is a selective depository for Federal publications for the Seventh Congressional District of Missouri. The mission of Government Documents staff is to provide quality reference service as well as free and easy access to government information in all forms, both to our own students, faculty and staff and to the constituents of the Seventh Congressional District of Missouri. All patrons are encouraged to seek help at the fourth floor help desk with any questions they may have concerning government documents.

State Resources

Honors Theses

In their senior year, students in the Honors Program produce original research or a creative project in their field of study, under the guidance of a professional faculty mentor. The Spiva Library made an agreement in 2010 with MSSU's Honors Program to make seniors' theses available online through the SWAN catalog.

Go to Library Guide

 

IELTS (International English Language Testing System)

Resources for English Language learners are located on the third floor of the library, near the fireplace.

Go to Library Guide

Go to Library Items

Journals

undefined

The library has access to thousands of journals in both print and electronic format. Print journals can be found on the third floor of the library near the Reference desk. To find articles within journals use Full Search on the library homepage.To see full holdings use the Journal finder tool below. Make sure to select journals at the top as it will search for books and journals by default.

Go to Journal Finder

Juvenile & Young Adult Books

Popular fiction for children of all ages, including a section of award winning books can be found on the fourth floor of the library. The Audio Visual Center/Government Documents desk is also located on this floor and is staffed most hours the library is open. The friendly staff at this help desk will be happy to assist anyone with locating these titles as well as items from any of the other collections located on the fourth floor.

Search for Library Items here

 

 

Modern Languages

Spiva Library collects materials in a variety of languages, with an emphasis on collecting materials in languages that are taught at the university. Current languages taught include French, Spanish, Chinese and Japanese.

Go to Library Items

Native American Collection

This collection is a combination of books and government documents and is located on the 4th floor of Spiva Library. The library now serves as the host of the resources relating to Native Americans for the state's regional depository library.

Go to Library Items

 

New Materials

Go to Library Guide

Each month Spiva Library adds new materials to its collection.
 

Second Floor

Third Floor

Fourth Floor

Electronic Resources



 

 

Newspapers

Spiva Library has a wide assortment of current and historical newspapers both electronically and physically. Search all or our newspapers below.

 

 

Go to Library Guide

Non-Fiction DVDs

Our non-fiction DVDs are located on the third floor across from the entrance and behind the graphic novels. Missouri Southern students, faculty and staff may borrow up to five videos at a time for a period of ten days. They may be renewed for one additional time period if no one has requested the item.

Go to Library Items

 

Overdrive: Audiobooks

A collection contributed to and shared by participating MO libraries, containing over 7000 e-books and 3000 audiobooks available for current students, faculty and staff.

Go to Overdrive Collection

Go to Overdrive Guide

 

Reserves

Materials can be placed on reserve to limit checkout of popular or limited materials. Materials can be on reserve at request of a faculty member or for an entire department. All materials on reserve are located at Main Circulation on the 3rd floor of the library.

Search Library Items

See Full List

Themed Semester Materials

Each fall, a particular country or region of the world is selected to become the focus of intensive study for the Missouri Southern Campus. Each summer preceding the 'themed semester' library staff removes select books related to that theme from our main collection and places them on the International Semester shelf located to the left of the fireplace on the third floor of the library. Books that the library or other departments on campus have purchased to support the theme semester emphasis are also placed on this shelf.

Go to Library Items

Go to International Semester Homepage

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.