Reference Print Books - 3rd floor by Reference Desk
American Foreign Relations since 1600 by
Call Number: E183.7 .G84 2003
Publication Date: 2003-06-10
"he arrangement is essentially chronological, with the first of 32 chapters covering reference works and bibliographies and the second chapter, overviews and synthesis. Individual chapter editors were free to include journal articles, essays in collections, and dissertations as they judged best; each chapter begins with a brief statement of the editor's selection criteria. Works in related specialties are listed for their influence on foreign relations, including Native American relations, gender and ethnic issues, and religious groups." - -Marcia L. Sprules, Council on Foreign Relations Lib., New York. Library Journal Review, 2010.
American Presidential Campaigns and Elections by
Call Number: JK1965 .A57 2003
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
"Despite no mention of political parties in the U.S. Constitution and a warning about them in George Washington's Farewell Address, the American political system gave birth to a vibrant two-party system, including the world's oldest political party. In this comprehensive encyclopedia, editors Shade (history, emeritus, Lehigh Univ.) and Campbell (history, Northeastern Univ.) cover both the large and the small dimensions of America's electoral history. While there are introductory and thematic chapters, the bulk of the publication is made up of chronological chapters covering the quadrennial contests between 1788 and 2000. Fascinating, readable, and illustrated with photographs and cartoons, these sections are authored by nearly four dozen scholars and place each presidential campaign in historical sequence, along with background information on the major candidates, issues, and campaign organizations." - Library Journal Review, 2010
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution by
Call Number: KF4548 .E53
Publication Date: 1990-08-01
"The articles in the set provide comprehensive coverage of all aspects of constitutional law, as well as biographies of people who have had an impact on our government's legal framework (Supreme Court Justices, Presidents, Cabinet Members, Lawyers, and more). Judicial decisions handed down by the Supreme Court are also analyzed. Congressional laws, executive orders and other public acts that impacted our legal structure are also examined. Finally articles also cover historical periods (of the Court as well as of US Historical eras)." - Gale CENGAGE Learning webpage description of 6-Volume 2nd edition.
Encyclopedia of the American Presidency by
Call Number: JK511 .G45 2004
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
"Encyclopedia of the American Presidency seeks to provide a current and definitive guide to the role of the president throughout history. With 600 entries arranged in an A-Z0 format, the volume provides a treasure trove of information regarding elections, court cases, scandals, domestic and foreign policy issues, war and peace, political opponents and running mates, plus a number of other topics." - Jerry Carbone, Booklist Review, 2004.
Encyclopedia of the United States Cabinet by
Call Number: E176 .G89 2010
Publication Date: 2009-09-01
"In this excellent work, Grossman, author of the ABC-CLIO Companion to the Native American Rights Movement and several other reference books, presents in a single set all of the people who have served in all of the cabinets in U.S. history. The departments are presented alphabetically, and the entry on each opens with an essay describing its creation, historical development, and significant achievements. Within each chapter, the secretaries' biographies follow in chronological order." - Thomas J. Baldino, Wilkes Univ., Wilkes-Barre, PA; Library Journal Review, 2010.
Print Books Located in Main Collection - 2nd Floor (Available for checkout)
Encyclopedia of American Public Policy by
Call Number: JK468.P64 J33
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
"In this readable and informative encyclopedia, Jackson (California State Univ., Chico) indicates a passion for political history and uses the introductions and chronologies at the beginning of each chapter to place policy issues in a historical context." - S. W. Nicholson; Michigan State University, Choice Review.
The Presidency A to Z by
Call Number: JK511 .P775 1992
Publication Date: 1994-08-01
"The work includes biographical entries on all of the presidents and vice presidents as well as some first ladies and such topical entries as Ethics, Interest Groups and the Presidency, and Public Opinion and the Presidency, plus articles on each of the cabinet departments and other executive departments. The specific powers associated with the office of the president are also covered in such articles as Appointment and Removal Power, Economic Powers, and Treaty Power." - Booklist Review, 1993
Reference eBooks - Available 24/7 online
Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science: a User's Guide to Its Terms by
Publication Date: 1999-08-25
"The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science is a clear introduction to the terminology of political science for students and general readers. The book comprises rigorous definitions and explanations of around 1000 key terms presented in an engaging style, cross-referenced, and easily accessible to readers new to the subject. It also includes a section of short biographies of the most eminent writers in the discipline - both classical and modern. The book is unique in combining a single author's overview and minimal assumptions about the reader's prior knowledge of the discipline. Major entries include short bibliographies for those who wish to pursue topics further."--BOOK JACKET.
Milestone Documents in American History by
Call Number: E173 .M62 2008
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
With the help of contributors from across the country in the areas of history, law, and political science, Finkelman (law & public policy, Albany Law Sch.) and Lesh (vice chair, National Council for History Education) have assembled the important documents of America's history from the Colonial period to the 21st century. Each entry provides the complete text of the document and an analysis. Diane Fulkerson, Univ. of West Georgia, Library Journal Review, 2010.
Political Theory: Methods and Approaches by
Publication Date: 2008-09-15
"Political Theory: Methods and Approaches is one of the first books to analyze research methods in political theory and political philosophy. Drawing together essays by a distinguished set of contributors, this rich and varied collection introduces students to many of the often unelaborated methods and approaches that currently inform the work of leading scholars in the field. The selections consider how political theory should be conducted today and also examine the complex and contested connections between political theory and a range of adjacent disciplines--moral philosophy, the empirical social sciences, the history of political thought, the world of "real" politics, critical social theory, and ideology. Both individually and as a collection, these essays will promote understanding and provoke further debate amongst students and established scholars alike." - Amazon.com Book Description
Princeton Encyclopedia of American Political History by
Publication Date: 2009-11-09
"Assuming an expansive definition of politics, this encyclopedia offers accessible, thorough, and enlightening coverage of political history in the U.S. from colonial times through the conservative ascendancy period, which ended in 2008 with the election of Barack Obama. The 187 signed essays by academics and journalists provide historical background, context, and analysis. Each essay concludes with a bibliography and cross-references. " - Lewis, Jan. Booklist Review, 2010.
State Constitutions of the United States by
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
"Introductory material provides perspective on the significant role of the state documents in the nation's history and in recent years. Charts convey the structure of the three branches of government in each state (e.g., number of statewide elected officers, appointment or election of Supreme Court members, and the legislative vote needed for amendments). Special provisions, such as a balanced-budget requirement, home rule, and abortion rights, are also shown in comparative charts." - Booklist Review
Vital Statistics on the Presidency by
Publication Date: 1998-01-01
"The book intends to collect statistics from many sources in a single easy-to-use resource. However, its greatest value lies in the introductory essays before each chapter. Each is well written, places the data in historical context, shows how a quantitative analysis of the American presidency can broaden and enhance our understanding of institutional behavior, and explains how the statistics may highlight trends and issues regarding the executive office. Each of the approximately 150 statistical charts and tables is clearly presented and always lists the source of the data." - R. V. Labaree University of Southern California, Choice Review.
Vital Statistics on Congress 2008 by
Publication Date: 2008-08-13
"The introduction offers a useful narrative comparing the Congresses of 1951, 1975, and 2007. Most of the volume provides important tables, graphs, and charts: occupations of members; net party gains in House and Senate elections; number of bills enacted by each Congress; and congressional staff members and operating expenses, among many other topics." - D. Altschiller, Boston University, Choice Review.
Search for MORE Books at Spiva Library
Use KEWORD option if you don't know the Library of Congress Subject.
Browse titles by Subject Heading
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.