Research and Course Guides: ENG 102 & 111: College Composition II: Find Articles, Reports & Documents

Databases

Academic Search Complete
Featuring thousands of full-text journals covering information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
JSTOR
A growing digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering more than 50 disciplines primarily in the Arts & Sciences, Life Sciences and Business. Coverage begins at the first volume and issue of the journal ever published, and extends up to a publication date usually set in the past three to five years.

Biography Reference Center This link opens in a new window
This database offers a collection of full-text biographies, narratives, and obituaries including those contained within Biography Today and Biography
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Education Resource Information Center (ERIC) provides access to education literature and resources.
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text scholarly journals from universities and scholarly societies. Project MUSE has over 800 journals and 80,000e books.

Database Search Tips

Use Boolean Logic (AND, OR, NOT) to combine search concepts.

TOO FEW hits: OR to add synonyms; individual key words, NOT whole phrases; drop concept(s) with AND; truncate; consider other databases.

TOO MANY hits: AND another concept into search; use other available limiters in the database.

Truncation symbols (?, *, !, +) will provide variant spelling after the root word.

A wildcard (?, *) is a character that may be used in a search term to represent one or more other characters.

Do an advanced search and take advantage of the fields provided.

Use the subject headings/descriptors to find additional citations on your topic. If that does not work, use the keyword search.

You can also use limits (e.g., publication year, language, words in the title, etc.) to narrow your retrieval.

Set up an auto alert/RSS feed to monitor the research.

Interlibrary Loan Request for Books

If you need a book which Spiva Library does not own, we can request a copy from another library using a service called InterLibrary Loan.

Before you place a request for a book, be sure to check MOBIUS. Books available through MOBIUS libraries can be requested by MSSU students, faculty and staff from the MOBIUS page.

This service is available to all MSSU students, faculty, alumni, staff and community card holders.

InterLibrary Loan Policy

*a nominal service fee may
apply in some cases*