note: off-campus access requires a login - University email and PIN
Contains local, regional, national, and international newspapers including The Joplin Globe, The Kansas City Star, USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Guardian, and The Times of India. Many newspapers have decades of access as well as current news.
Covers the most significant events of the year including presidential speeches, international agreements, Supreme Court decisions, U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions beginning with year 1972.
A large digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering more than 50 disciplines primarily in the Arts & Sciences, Life Sciences, and Business. Coverage begins at the first issue of the journal and extends up to a publication date usually set in the past three to five years.
Use articles to find in-depth information on a specific topic.
Databases let you search for articles on your topic and will tell you in which volume of which journal it's published.
Sometimes a database will actually have a copy of the article for you to view online. This is called full-text, and it's a beautiful thing.
Other databases just tell you where to find the article, but don't have a digital copy to give you. In that case, you'll have to look for it in the E-Journal Portal. If we don't have it, request a copy through InterLibrary Loan.
If you need an article to which Spiva Library does not have full-text access, we can request a copy from another library using a service called InterLibrary Loan.
This service is available to all MSSU students, faculty, alumni, staff and community card holders.
*a nominal service fee may
apply in some cases*
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.