Criminal Justice

Guide to a variety of research, news, and information sources related to criminal justice.

Full Search

Search Missouri Southern State University LIbrary Holdings:
 
 

Search library databases that contain Criminal Justice specific information

Search more databases that cover Criminal Justice and related subjects

Subscription Databases with Full Text Current Newspapers

These databases are available only to current MSSU students, faculty and staff from off-campus.  Community members and others not affiliated with the university must be in the library to access the materials available via these databases.

Full Search Video Guide

Interlibrary Loan Request for Articles

If you need an article to which Spiva Library does not have full-text access, we can request a copy from another library using a service called InterLibrary Loan.

This service is available to all MSSU students, faculty, alumni, staff and community card holders.

InterLibrary Loan Policy

*a nominal service fee may
apply in some cases*

Database Search Tips

Use Boolean Logic (AND, OR, NOT) to combine search concepts.

 

TOO FEW hits: OR to add synonyms; individual key words, NOT whole phrases; drop concept(s) with AND; truncate; consider other databases.

 

TOO MANY hits:  AND another concept into search; use other available limiters in the database.

 

Truncation symbols (?, *, !, +) will provide variant spelling after the root word. 

 

A wildcard (?, *) is a character that may be used in a search term to represent one or more other characters.

Do an advanced search and take advantage of the fields provided.

Use the subject headings/descriptors to find additional citations on your topic.  If that does not work, use the keyword search.

You can also use limits (e.g., publication year, language, words in the title, etc.) to narrow your retrieval. 
 
Set up an auto alert/RSS feed to monitor the research.  

Need Help?

Ask A Librarian

In-Person:

Stop by any service desk in the library during the library's hours. Daily library hours can be found on the library homepage. 

By Phone:

417-625-9362

Text us! 417-720-2079

By Email:

mssulibrary@mssu.edu

A Librarian will attempt to respond to emails within 24-48 business hours.

Chat with Us:

On Facebook:

The George A. Spiva Library offers help, via our Facebook Fan Page, to all fans of the page.

A Librarian will attempt to respond to Facebook questions and suggestions  within 48 business hours.

 

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.