Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Emergency Medical Technician - Paramedic

Guide to a variety of research, news, and information sources related to Emergency Medical training and procedures.

Web Resources

 

American Heart Association Guidelines for CPR and ECC (2015) --  Full text as HTML or PDF.

The Difference Between an EMT and a Paramedic -- Excellent article.

Emergency Medical Technicians and Paramedics --  Job description with statistics from the Occupational Outlook Handbook, 2015-2016 edition, compiled by the U.S. Department of Labor.

EMS1.com -- EMS1 is revolutionizing the way in which the EMS community finds relevant news, identifies important training information, interacts with each other and researches product purchases and suppliers.  It has become the most comprehensive and trusted online destination for prehospital and emergency medical services. 

EMTB.com -- Comprehensive online resource for EMT-B students and instructors; includes quizzes, skill sheets, a vocabulary explorer, an anatomy review, and much more.   Sponsored by Jones & Bartlett, medical publishers.

EMT Life -- Online discussion forum for those working in the EMT profession.

First Aid --   The Mayo Clinic's first aid page, including CPR.

First Aid --  Medline Plus' first aid page, including CPR, wounds.

Hardin MD (Hardin Meta Directory) - a "directory of directories" for health and medicine.

HIVdent - a not-for-profit coalition of concerned health care professionals committed to assuring access to high quality oral health care services for adults, adolescents, and children living with HIV disease.

International Association of Flight Paramedics -- Includes news, newsletters, study guides, position papers, press releases, and links to other web sites.

JEMS -- This website replaces the print version of JEMS magazine. 

Merck Manual Online- a trusted source for medical information available free online.

Learn CPR: You Can Do It! --  Includes information and video demonstrations; up to date as of October 2015.

 National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians --  Certification information.

Paramedic.com - Includes podcasts for medical professionals, and links to nursing, firefighter, and paramedic resources. 

ParamedicTV --  Lots of online videos for paramedics!

 U.S. National Library of Medicine Gateway - the world's largest medical library providing information and research services in all areas of biomedicine and health care. This link provides a global search function for PubMed, PubMed Central, and Medline Plus.

 

Evaluating Websites

The World Wide Web has a lot to offer, but not all sources are equally valuable or reliable!

Consider the following when evaluating a website:

Criterion #1: Purpose

Consider the main purpose of the page. Web pages are not always easy to categorize and some may combine some of these categories.

Extensions(domains) on addresses can sometimes indicating reliability:

a .edu extension indicates a college or university

a .org extension indicates an organization

a .com indicates a commercial enterprise

These extensions are used in the U. S. only. Foreign sites, and some in the U.S., use a geographical extension or domain. These "extension" rules should only be applied in a general way. Some commercial sites contain high quality information but many are advertising a product or service and, therefore, are not objective sources. A person who works for the commercial enterprise may be reliable, although a person who is merely "renting" space on their web server may not be. Government sites usually have reliable information but remember that government also deals in propaganda and partisan views. Academic sites will most likely contain quality information suitable for research, but you must still check the author's background. An organization may be a legal entity that has an interest in providing reliable information. However, the information found on an organization's homepage may also be highly biased and one-sided


Criterion #2: Authority

An author's affiliation is an important clue to the reliability of the information:

Look for any biographical statement about the author.

Look for an e-mail address or site address to determine affiliation.

Questions to ask about the author:

  • Is the author even listed?
  • Is the author the original creator of the information?
  • Did the author list his/her occupation, educational background, expertise?
  • Do you think this person is qualified to present this information?
  • Did the author cite his/her sources?
  • Can you verify the author's credentials from another source?
  • Has the author also published in professional or scholarly journals?

Criterion #3: Accuracy

Don't take the information presented at face value. Web sites are rarely refereed or reviewed, as are scholarly journals and books:

Are the sources for any factual information clearly listed so they can be verified in another source? (If not, the page may still be useful to you as an example of the ideas of the organization, but it is not useful as a source of factual information).

Is the information free of grammatical, spelling, and typographical errors? (These kinds of errors not only indicate a lack of quality control, but can actually produce inaccuracies in information.)

Criterion #4: Objectivity

Are the sponsor's biases clearly stated?

If there is any advertising on the page, is it clearly differentiated from the informational content?

Criterion #5: Currency

Are there any indications that the material is kept current?

Is there an indication that the page has been completed, and is not still under construction?

Are there dates on the page to indicate:

-When the page was written?

-When the page was first placed on the Web?

-When the page was last revised?


Don’t see any date information on the page?

-In Netscape pull down “View” from the menu bar and select “Page information”

-In Internet Explorer pull down “File” from the menu bar and select “Properties”

-In Mozilla Firefox pull down “Tools” from the menu bar and select “Page Info”

Criterion #6: Coverage

Is it clear what topics the page intends to address?

Does the page succeed in addressing these topics, or has something significant been left out?

Is the point of view of the sponsor/author presented in a clear manner with its arguments well supported?

Are the links on the page relevant to the subject?

Does the content cover a specific time period or aspect of the topic, or strives to be comprehensive?

Criterion #7: Style and Functionality

Is the site laid out clearly and logically with well organized subsections?

Is the writing style appropriate for the intended audience?

Is the site easy to navigate?

Is a search function offered?

Is the homepage easy to navigate?

Is the homepage logically organized?

Is the writing clear?

Are there numerous spelling or grammatical errors?

Are there errors in the use of HTML tags?

Do the links work?

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.