Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Donations: Home

Donation Policy

General Donations

If you would like to make a monetary or physical donation to the Spiva Library, we would be delighted to receive it! We accept both new and gently used books, DVDs, and other material that support our collections. Donated items must meet our standards for acquiring new material, including age, condition, and quality of content. Acceptance of a donation does not guarantee inclusion in the Library’s collections. Once a gift or donation is offered, it becomes property of the Library and may be disposed of, sold, or incorporated into the collection as the Library sees fit.

Material donations can be dropped off at Library office L-329. Donors must sign a Donation Agreement Form. You can print one in advance and bring it with you if you visit the Donation Agreement tab above. Monetary donations can be made through coordination with the Library Director. 

If you would like to make a purchase in coordination with the Library, whether in memory of a loved one or as a personal gift, please reach out to Melissa Forsythe (417.659.4039, forsythe-m@mssu.edu). We can share wish list items, select material that reflect the interests of your loved one, or discover titles that our academic departments need most. We'd love to work with you!

Archival Donations

For material destined for the Archival collections, donors will need to complete an

and work closely with Archivist Whitney Hamm (417.625.9552, hamm-w@mssu.edu) to determine if the material is suited for our collections. 

Additional Notes

It is the responsibility of the donor to keep a list of items donated and to obtain an appraisal of value if one is wanted. Internal Revenue Service regulations prohibit libraries from appraising gifts they receive. Gifts appraised at more than $5,000 are accepted only after it has been determined that the items are wanted for the collections.

Only the Library Director may approve acceptance of gifts with special stipulations concerning copyright, legal title, restricted access, location, or other restrictions.  Establishment of separate named and/or housed collections is discouraged, as collections are most useful when integrated with other material on the same subject.

As the Library works to update its agreement, please contact Melissa Forsythe or Whitney Hamm for a form. Thank you!

Collections and Content Specialist

Melissa Forsythe's picture
Melissa Forsythe
Contact:
417.659.4039

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.