Skip to main content

Frank C. Wallower Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#3, Frank C. Wallower Collection

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#3

Title: 
Frank C. Wallower Collection

Dates: 
1895-1952


Collection Size: 
7 Boxes

Biographical History

Frank Carmany Wallower was the son of E.Z. Wallower and Maria Wallower. His father, E.Z. Wallower was a newspaperman. In 1888 E.Z. Wallower purchased land in southwest Missouri to begin mining. He also purchased the land at 4th and Main Street in Joplin to construct the Keystone Hotel. In 1891 E.Z. Wallower, and a group of investors, built railway lines in southwest Missouri, which would later be consolidated into the Southwest Missouri Electric Railway. E.Z. Wallower never moved to southwest Missouri to follow these investments, but his son, Frank Wallower did.

Frank Carmany Wallower was born in 1882 in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. After graduating from Lawrenceville University and Princeton University, with degrees in engineering, Frank Wallower moved to southwest Missouri in 1906. He managed mines and other property in the area from 1906 through his retirement in 1946. In an unfortunate mining accident in 1906, Frank Wallower lost his left hand and a finger on his right hand. Frank Wallower was the manager of the Goldenrod Mine, the Evans-Wallower Lead Company, the Southwest Missouri Railroad Company and the Keystone Hotel, among other investments.

Frank Wallower was married three times and had three children. His first wife was named Marie Russert. They had three children before her death in 1920. Frank Wallower’s second wife was also named Marie, in this case Marie Lambert. She died suddenly only three years after their marriage, in 1929. Frank Wallower married his third wife, Juanita Hammons, in 1937. In 1940 the Wallowers bought a 620-acre estate, then known as the Buchanan Estate, which was renamed the Mission Hills Farm. The couple lived on the farm with their Scottish terriers and a herd of Hereford show cattle until it was sold to Missouri Southern on July 20, 1964.

Scope and Content

The papers, maps, photographs and business records of Mr. Frank Carmany Wallower from 1895 to 1952. This collection deals with business and mining activities of the Tri-State area. Mr. Wallower’s college diploma from Princeton University, which is signed by President Woodrow Wilson, is included.

Creator(s)

Frank Carmany Wallower

Acquisition Information

Donated by Juanita Wallower and accessioned into the collection in 1980. Juanita Wallower was the wife of Frank Wallower.

Preview the Collection

Frank C. Wallower

Juanita Wallower

Mission Hills Estate

Mission Hills Estate

Frank C. Wallower Joplin Globe Cartoon

Preview the Collection

Joplin Rotary Seal

Plat Showing Production of Mining Tracts, March 18, 1911

Sections 6, 7, 18-Township 21, Range 32

Collection Inventory

Box 1

Series 1: Wallower Family Papers

  • Photographs: Frank C. Wallower, Juanita Wallower, the Wallower estate, other members of the Wallower family
  • Jacqui Potter video, films from Mission Hills, travels – VHS tape of reel recordings of the Wallower family from around 1937-1942
  • Working script for the TV program ‘ How the Wallowers of Pennsylvania Developed Southwest Missouri and Shaped its History’
  • Letters to T.D. Wannfried and George B. Paxton from Galen Spencer, 1890, 1891; Letters E.Z. Wallower from T.D. Wannfried, 1891
  • Mission Hills Farm building plans
  • Joplin Globe newspaper clipping, “Men of Affairs Cartoon Series: Frank C. Wallower”

Series 2: Financial and Mining Information

  • Memorandum about the connection between the Southwest Missouri Railroad and the San Francisco Railroad
  • The Free Coinage Lease Mine Reports, 1897-1899
  • Drill Records, Wallower Land
  • Bonnie Pattie Mining Company, financial information
  • Bradford and Kansas City Zinc Company, financial information
  • United Drilling Company, financial information
  • Peru-Laclede mill, stockholder statements
  • Geological map, log book and paper about the geology of the Joplin district

Series 3: Publications and Miscellaneous

  • Newspaper clippings: The Kansas City Times, 1936 “Down Through History with the Edwards of England;” “The Family Group that Provided Four Generations of British Rulers;” The National Observer, June 10, 1962, “Shirer’s Critical Study of the Third Reich’s Record Raises a Loud and Angry ‘No’ from a German”
  • Postcards of Webb City
  • Western Division, American Mining Congress and American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers, Tri-State Mining District, Joint Convention; September 28-30, 1931; Program with history of the Tri-State District
  • The Alexander Stobo Ambulance, Donated by the Class of 1903, Princeton University, by Ward B. Chamberlin III, 1946 (with letter from Ward Chamberlin II to Frank C. Wallower)
  • Presstite Engineering Company, St. Louis, Missouri Publications: Ours By Heritage and The Rights of Men
  • In the District Court of the United States for the Western District of Missouri; F.C. Wallower and Harrison C. Rogers, Receivers for the Southwest Missouri Railroad Company, and the Southwest Missouri Railroad Company, Petitioners, vs. United States of America, Defendant; September 15, 1926
  • Before the Interstate Commerce Commission, Routing on Ores via Southwest Missouri Railroad, Brief in Behalf of the Southwest Missouri Railroad Company and F.C. Wallower and Harrison C. Rogers, Receivers; May 26, 1936; May 28, 1936; September 5, 1936
  • A Review of the Zinc Industry in 1954, by Ernest V. Gent, Executive Vice President of American Zinc Institute, Inc.; January 24, 1955
  • United States Department of the Interior, Bureau of Mines; Report of Investigations: Zinc-Lead Ore Reserves of the Tri-State District Missouri-Kansas-Oklahoma, by Otto Ruhl, Simeon A. Allen and Stephen P. Holt
  • When Ambition Reigned, 1909-1919, by Bud Belden, 1948
  • Southern Pacific’s First Century, August 1955
  • Pennsylvania History: Quarterly Journal of the Pennsylvania Historical Society, Volume 11, Number 3; July 1954
  • A Handy Guide to First Aid, by James Carlton Zwetsch, 1937
  • Missouri Geological Survey and Water Resources, Driller’s Well Record Book (blank)
  • A Series of Cartoons, by the Joplin Globe
  • Victor Mining Company Wage Book, 1895
  • Farmer’s Bank, Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, bank notes, 1877-1878
  • Ledger, 1906-1907
  • Bradford and Kansas City Zinc Company, Stock Certificates, 1906

Collection Inventory

Box 2

  • Bound volume of photographs of the Wallower estate
  • Princeton University, Pen Topographical Drawing Class of 1903, F.C. Wallower book
  • Minutes of the Meeting of the Stockholders and Directors of Peru-Laclede Syndicate, Inc., 1927-1933
  • Minutes of the Bradford and Kansas City Zinc Company, 1903-1950
  • F.C. Wallower cast iron plaque
  • Small case of mineral samples, unlabeled

Box 3

  • Frank C. Wallower books, 1903

Box 4

Mining Maps
  • California, Section 31
  • Pearl C. Mining Company
  • Plat of the Bruce Mining and Smelting Company; Section 31, Township 28N, Range 32W; Pearl “C” Mining Company, Victor Boys
  • Plat Showing Production of Mining Tracts in Jasper County, Missouri; Sections 6, 7 and 18, Township 27N, Range 32W; Production to January 1, 1911
  • Plat of Lot 55: Wampum Mine Company Lease, Midway; Section 31, Township 28N, Range 32W, May 9, 1907
  • Pelican Mining Company, Forum Mining Company Lease; Section 6, Township 27, Range 32; September 27, 1910
  • Survey for F.C. Wallower, West 30 acres of Section 31, Township 28N, Range 32W; May 6, 1948
  • Movakan
  • Movakan Mine
  • Wallower-Weyman Tracts
  • Tracing of Wallower-Weyman; Section 31, Township 28, Range 32; February 28, 1958
  • The Doctor Mining Company’s Lease at “Midway” Joplin District
  • Tracing of The Doctor Mining Company’s Lease at “Midway” Joplin District; February 28, 1958
  • Lease of the Dividend Mining Company, Lots 3-12, 19-21; Section 6, Township 27, Range 32; Section 31, Township 28, Range 32
  • The Dividend Mine
  • Tracing of the Dividend Mine; Section 6, Township 27, Range 32; February 28, 1958
  • Tracing of Wallower Land, Pelican Mining Company, Forum Mining Company Lease; Section 6, Township 27N, Range 32W; September 27, 1910
  • Tracing of Turkey Creek Mining Company Lease, F.C. Wallower Land; Section 6, Township 27N, Range 32W; May 1949
  • Tracing of Turkey Creek Mining Company, Section 6, Township 27N, Range 32W; March 3, 1958
  • Copy of Turkey Creek Mining Company, Section 6, Township 27N, Range 32W
  • Hill Lead and Zinc Company; Section 6, Township 27N, Range 32W
  • Tracing of Wallower Land, Hill Lead and Zinc Company; Section 6, Township 27N, Range 32W; March 3, 1958
  • Tracing of Lot 2 and the W ½ of Lot 1 of the NW Fractional ¼ of Section 6, Township 27N, Range 32W, Jasper County, MO; February 4, 1910
  • Tracing of Brown and Root, Incorporated, F.C. Wallower Land; Section 6, Township 27, Range 32; May 1949
  • F.C. Wallower. L.P. Buchanan Estate; Section 6, Township 27, Range 32; October 16, 1939
  • Map of the Pitkin, Kalitan and Osyka Leases; Section 6, Township 27, Range 32; February 4, 1910
  • Mining Map Prepared for F.C. Wallower of Section 31, Township 28N, Range 32W; February 1944 (2 copies)
  • New Water Line Installed, F.C. Wallower Farm
  • The Associated Engineers Incorporated Civil and Mining Engineers, Map of the Joplin Mining District
  • Exhibit “A” Missouri Pacific Railroad Company, Joplin Division, Proposed Use of Certain Missouri Pacific Tracks by South West Missouri Railroad Company
  • Plat of the Bruce Mining and Smelting Company; Section 31, Township 28, Range 32
  • Wallower Dairy Farm; April 9, 1942
  • Map of the Wallower Land in the Southwest Quarter; Section 31, Township 28, Range 32; July 1943
  • Mission Hills Farm Telephone Lines; October 6, 1955
  • The Midway Mining Company’s Mineral Land; Section 31, Township 28, Range 32
  • Plat of the Free Coinage Mining Land; Section 31, Township 28, Range 32
  • Map of the area around Turkey Creek, Wallower Land; Aetna Mining Company, McConey Land, Uncle Sam Mining Company, Jumbo, McClary Mines, Boston Mines, Bob Moore Mining Company, International Zinc Company, Bruce Mining Company
  • Midway Mines; Henry Weymann; Section 31, Township 28, Range 32
  • Map of the Wallower Land in the Southwest Quarter; F.R. Hodgdon; Section 31, Township 28, Range 32; July 1943
  • Terra Cotta; Lot Number 42; S.J. McKee; August 29, 1903

Box 4

  • The State of Missouri Certificate of Incorporation, The Bradford and Kansas City Zinc Company; December 12, 1901
  • Frank C. Wallower Master’s Diploma, Lawrenceville University, 1899
  • Frank C. Wallower Princeton University Diploma, 1903
  • Frank C. Wallower Columbia College Diploma, 1906 (2 pages)
  • Rotary Club of Joplin, Missouri Seal

Collection Inventory

Box 5

  • Steam whistle

Box 6

  • Mining Convention, Tri-State Mining District, September 1931, Commemorative Bucket
  • Seal of the Southwest Missouri Railroad Company
  • Bradford and Kansas City Zinc Company Stamp
  • Ralph Christman’s tool set: Two ruler, compass, two wrenches, screwdriver
  • “Yankee” North Brothers Manufacturing Company
  • Irwin Speedbore 88
  • 3 Bells
  • Hammer
  • 2 Doorknobs
  • Empty tube (previously had Frank C. Wallower’s diploma’s inside)

Box 7

  • Miniature decorative forge
  • Hand crank bellows
  • WW1 1917 German Inert, Z.s.u.m W.M, 17cm Minenwerfer Fuse
  • Hammer
  • 2 Railroad ties
  • Lock and 2 keys
  • Small wheel
  • Unknown buckle

[on shelf]

1960 Plaque honoring Juanita Wallower, from the Jasper County Association for Social Service

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.