Library Orientation: Getting to Know George A. Spiva Library: Find Articles/Journals

Learn about the library, its people, resources and services.

What is Fulltext?

Databases with fulltext have complete articles. 

Databases without fulltext simply identify that the articles exist, but don't provide the articles themselves. 

Most of Spiva Library's databases are a mix of both. 

Interlibrary Loan Request for Articles

If you need an article to which Spiva Library does not have full-text access, we can request a copy from another library using a service called InterLibrary Loan.

This service is available to all MSSU students, faculty, alumni, staff and community card holders.

 

InterLibrary Loan Policy

*a nominal service fee may
apply in some cases*

Accessing Off-Campus

To access database subsctiptions from off-campus you must be a current MSSU student, faculty or staff member with a username and PIN.  If you don't know or can't remember your Missouri Southern Username or PIN, please contact the IT Help Desk.

RefWorks

RefWorks Logo

Easily manage & organize your research and writing efforts.  Create an account to export journal article and book citations and automatically insert references into your papers to generate formatted bibliographies in seconds.

For more information see our RefWorks LibGuide.

Articles/Journals

In Spiva Library, newspapers, magazines, and journals are arranged alphabetically. The most current issues are located on the third floor by the Reference Desk.  Most older print issues of magazines and journals are also found on the third floor.  Older issues of newspapers and some magazines and journals that have been filmed are located on the fourth floor.

If you are looking for a specific journal, you will want to use the Journal Finder Search box below.

To locate articles on a particular topic you will want to search our electronic databases via the Summon Search box.

Journal Finder

Search forJournal Titles

 

Browse Journals by Subject

Browse Journal Titles by Alphabet

0-9 A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z Other

Summon Search Box - Large

Search Summon for articles, books, & more

 

What is a Scholarly or Peer Review Article

North Carolina State University Libraries explains the peer review process and its significance in research.

Need Help?

Ask A Librarian

In Person:

Stop by the Reference desk on the 3rd floor. There is a librarian regularly scheduled at the desk most hours the library is open.

Hours a Librarian is typically scheduled at the Reference desk are:

Sunday: 1:00pm-4:00pm & 6:00pm-9:00pm

Monday - Thursday:  9:00am-Noon & 1:00pm-4:00pm & 6:00pm-9:00pm

Friday:  9:00am-Noon & 1:00pm-4:00pm

By Phone:

Reference Desk: 417-625-9342

With Email:

LibrRef@mssu.edu

A Librarian will attempt to respond to emails within 24-48 business hours.

On Facebook:

The George A. Spiva Library offers help, via our Facebook Fan Page, to all fans of the page.

A Librarian will attempt to respond to Facebook questions and suggestions  within 48 business hours.

Why Use Google Scholar?

Google Scholar is not designed for comprehensive research or clinical questions. However, it is still a worthwhile and useful search tool, although a limited one. Much like the Google search engine, Google Scholar is designed to find quick and easy answers for time-pressed users.

Set Preferences to link to full-text available @ MSSU and export citations to RefWorks

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.