Skip to main content

Joplin, Missouri History Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#53, Joplin, Missouri History Collection. Various articles and other papers about the history of Joplin, Missouri, including a timeline detailing Joplin history through the 1960s and an informational packet about Joplin from 1980.

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#53

Title: 
Joplin, Missouri History Collection

Dates: 
1967-1993


Collection Size: 
1 Folder

Scope and Content

Various articles and other papers about the history of Joplin, Missouri, including a timeline detailing Joplin history through the 1960s and an informational packet about Joplin from 1980.

Creator(s)

Joplin Chamber of Commerce

The Joplin Globe

Webb City Chamber of Commerce

Joplin Branch of the American Association of University Women

Acquisition Information

Portions of the collection donated by Linda Tarpley and F. West in 1986.

Preview the Collection

Collection Inventory

  • Club Theatre, 4th & Joplin St., paper
  • A short history of Joplin’s Early Years
  • Capsule History of Joplin, Jasper County, Missouri
  • Aug. 21, 1894 – Official Program – Court House Day (photocopy)
  • Jan. 6, 1909 – Mrs. Bloomfield Zeisler’s, Piano-forte Recital (photocopy)
  • May, 1967 – Points that might be investigated by Research Committee, Joplin Historical Society
  • Feb. 1978 – The Midwest Motorist Magazine – “Joplin with a shady class and a Sunny future” (photocopy)
  • Feb. 1978 – The Midwest Motorist Magazine
  • May-June 1980 – The Midwest Motorist Magazine
  • May 27, 1993 Newspaper Clippings, The Joplin Globe
    • “Joplin: history shows it’s a boom town that got the lead out”
    • “History in the making”
  • 1995 – “Joplin” copied article from “Missouri Roadsides: The Traveler’s Companion” by Bill Earmgey
  • “Joplin – You’re Among Friends” Folder, 1980 Informational Packet
    • Spook Light
    • The Dorothea B. Hoover Historical Museum
    • A Short History of Joplin’s Early Years
    • Requested Information
    • Area Industrial Directory – Joplin Chamber of Commerce
    • Joplin Chamber of Commerce Members
    • Joplin, Missouri Population from 1900-1978 photocopy
    • Dec. 8, 1876 – Webb City Missouri – “The Friendly City of Flags” pamphlet
    • Sept. 1978 - Handbook for Local Citizens, Joplin Branch of the American Association of University Women
    • 1979 – Cost of Living Indicator Joplin, Missouri
    • March 1979 – Joplin Missouri – Community Profile
    • May, 1979 – Missouri Division of Employment Security
    • 1980 – “Spring and Summer in Joplin” pamphlet
    • “Joplin – You’re Among Friends”
      • General Information
      • Business and Economic Data
      • Transportation and Distribution
      • Utilities
      • Taxation/Financing/Pollution Control
      • Health and Education
      • Manpower

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.