Skip to main content

Elizabeth (Betty) Baron Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#18, Elizabeth (Betty) Baron Collection

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#18

Title: 
Elizabeth (Betty) Baron Collection

Dates: 
1930s through the 1980s


Collection Size: 
5 Boxes

Biographical History

The daughter of Charles and Elizabeth Wilkerson, Elizabeth “Betty” Baron was born on May 28, 1904 in the Springfield, Missouri area. She married William Baron on June 3, 1925 and the couple lived most of their lives in the St. Louis, Missouri area, specifically Maplewood, Missouri. While there Betty Baron joined a number of women’s clubs, including the Women’s Safe Driving School of the St. Louis Safety Club, the A.B.B.C. Coterie of the Missouri Federation of Women’s Clubs, and the Weaver of Dreams Story League. Mrs. Baron died on March 23, 1986 and is buried in Springfield, Missouri.

Scope and Content

The scrapbooks of Elizabeth (Betty) M. Baron, a former resident of St. Louis and Maplewood, Missouri. The scrapbooks contain information on clubs in the St. Louis area from the 1930s through the 1980s, including the Women’s Safe Driving School of the St. Louis Safety Club, the A.B.B.C. Coterie of the Missouri Federation of Women’s Clubs, the Weaver of Dreams Story League, and a scrapbook on Baron’s father, Charles Wilkerson, and his family.

Creator(s)

Elizabeth (Betty) Baron

Acquisition Information

The collection was donated between 1982 and 1984 by the Elizabeth (Betty) Baron.

Selections from the Saint Louis Safety Scrapbooks

1938-1939 Saint Louis Safety Committee Scrapbook

1938-1939 Saint Louis Safety Committee Scrapbook

1938-1939 Saint Louis Safety Committee Scrapbook

1938-1939 Saint Louis Safety Committee Scrapbook

1938-1939 Saint Louis Safety Committee Scrapbook

1938-1939 Saint Louis Safety Committee Scrapbook

1938-1939 Saint Louis Safety Committee Scrapbook

1938-1939 Saint Louis Safety Committee Scrapbook

1938-1939 Saint Louis Safety Committee Scrapbook

1938-1939 Saint Louis Safety Committee Scrapbook

1938-1939 Saint Louis Safety Committee Scrapbook

Saint Louis Safety Club Missouri Federation of Women's Clubs (MFWC) Scrapbook, 1962-1963

Saint Louis Safety Club Missouri Federation of Women's Clubs (MFWC) Scrapbook, 1962-1963

Saint Louis Safety Club Missouri Federation of Women's Clubs (MFWC) Scrapbook, 1962-1963

Saint Louis Safety Club Missouri Federation of Women's Clubs (MFWC) Scrapbook, 1962-1963

Saint Louis Safety Club Missouri Federation of Women's Clubs (MFWC) Scrapbook, 1962-1963

Saint Louis Safety Club Missouri Federation of Women's Clubs (MFWC) Scrapbook, 1962-1963

Saint Louis Safety Club Missouri Federation of Women's Clubs (MFWC) Scrapbook, 1962-1963

Selections from the Weaver of Dreams Story League Scrapbook

Weaver of Dreams Story League Scrapbook

Weaver of Dreams Story League Scrapbook

Weaver of Dreams Story League Scrapbook

Weaver of Dreams Story League Scrapbook

Weaver of Dreams Story League Scrapbook

Weaver of Dreams Story League Scrapbook

Weaver of Dreams Story League Scrapbook

Weaver of Dreams Story League Scrapbook

Weaver of Dreams Story League Scrapbook

Selections from the ABBC Coterie Scrapbook

ABBC Coterie Scrapbook

ABBC Coterie Scrapbook

ABBC Coterie Scrapbook

ABBC Coterie Scrapbook

ABBC Coterie Scrapbook

ABBC Coterie Scrapbook

Saint Louis Safety Committee Scrapbook, Box 2

1938-1939 Saint Louis Safety Committee Scrapbook, Box 2

  • Adopted on February 4, 1941
  • 2-3 about the safety meeting
  • 3-4 safety quiz tea party, bicycling safety
  • 5-6 badges, Betty Baron as newly elected president on May 26, 1940
  • 7-8 things they donated/helped in
  • 9-10 gave 50 safety belts to the news boys, Betty won a written examinations and a driving contest
  • 11-12 the safeties you need to know about driving, Home safety skit  in February in 1941
  • 13-14 safety belts for the news boys and how to drive safe during a forest fire, protection against LYE
  • 15-16 different type of accidents in the car and at home, safety on house fires
  • 17-18 don’ts at the house, making homes safer
  • 19-20 safety on the streets and how to survive disaster, safety on drinking and driving, kitchen safety during thanks giving, and child’s safety in the car
  • 21-22 expanding drivers education, family safety
  • 23-24 what women should know about cars, Saint Louis Safety Club 1942-43
  • 25-26 letter from William Yorger about a copy of the 1936 women’s safe drivers school, right of way paper
  • 27-28 1941 Betty was relieved from office and Mrs. C. V. Wilcox how to  be heard, She shall have safety
  • 29-30 safety checklist for babysitter, child, and for the elderly, safety and dangers of burglars, carbon monoxide, and an automotive accident
  • 31-32 educational toys, Betty Baron was selected for scrap book and research
  • 33-34 safety driving school 1940, driving school
  • 35-36 who said women are not safe drivers paper, the safe driving school test in 1940
  • 37-38 safe driving, how the women reacted to the women’s safe driving school
  • 39-40 I’ve had an accident paper and Betty Barons graduate certification in 1942 Women’s Safe Drivers School, more about the Women’s Safe Drivers School
  • 41-42 safe driving trophy winners, 1941 Wuxtree Auto School for Women
  • 43-44 Women’s Safe Drivers School programs, safety and more about the safety school
  • 45-46 Drivers Safety School meeting program, February 28, 1940 slogan for the meeting: Drive carefully ---- Don’t kill off the citizens of tomorrow with the carelessness of today.
  • 47-48 application for driver’s license, True or False radio program from the women’s safe driving school.
  • 49-50 safety Council of Greater St. Louis, minutes from the safety council meeting
  • 51-52 drivers guide book and the 47th Annual Women’s Driving School program, a paper called “ Foreword” and it’s about driving safety
  • 53-54 Saint Louis traffic laws in 1929-1930, promotions on driving safety
  • 55-56 driving requirements, how to use the roads and defensive driving tools
  • 57-58 driving tools, Ghost in the road paper
  • 59-60 defensive driving, an open letter to hit and run drivers
  • 61-62 new road way signs and the booby traps built into highways in 1973, tips on turnpikes
  • 63-64 Easter card and Saint Louis Safety Club pamphlet 1952-1953, comic on driving and home safety guide
  • 65-66 pictures of the women at the Women’s Safe Drivers School, bicycle safety test
  • 67-68 comics on driving, driving safety
  • 69-70 safe drivers get cash reward, But officer paper
  • 71-72 deaths from driving, testing drivers and making sure of their safety
  • 73-74 warnings of drivers being killed from car wrecks, safe driving rules
  • 75-76 boy scouts in city safety drive, winners for safety awards
  • 77-78 safety first, skit on safe driving
  • 79-80 picture of safety club drivers winners, area women offered safe driving course
  • 81-82 paper on Mrs. Dickinson heads Women’s Federation, safe holidays are happy holidays
  • 83-84 why accidents happen, rate yourself as a driver
  • 85-86 department of safety and motor corps paper, the man who built roads in the sea newspaper
  • 87-88 automotive accidents, chamber of commerce dinner
  • 89-90 nursing award handed out, red cross service strives presented to Irene Wilcox
  • 91-92 women from all over are attending the General Federation of Women’s Clubs, jaywalking fines
  • 93-94 pedestrian protection, Gas protection
  • 95-96 Children accidents, smoking bill
  • 97-98 pedestrian accidents, fire drills enforced
  • 99-100 All about safety, traffic safety
  • 101-102 traffic officers, protection for children
  • 103-104 safety for children, war on child accidents
  • 105-106 safety club prayer, Missouri Federation of Women’s Clubs
  • 107-108 Women’s clubs, State pressing drive on social diseases
  • 109-110 Paper on the man who saved a thousand lives, the new presidents take the chair
  • 111- 112 Ladies empowerment, Saint Louis Safety Club pamphlets
  • 113-114 Saint Louis Safety Club pamphlets, picture of women driving
  • 115-116 comics on safe driving, comic on the best female driver
  • 117-118 comic on drivers called the screwdrivers, comics on safety
  • 119-120 comic on safety, safety newspaper snippets
  • 121-122 clinic for auto drivers, safety poster ideas
  • 123-124 driving comics and poetry, safety bureau comic
  • 125-126 drunk drivers are our enemy
  • 127-128 why it’s bad to be a hit and run driver, watch out for children
  • 129-130 don’t speed, are you physically able to operate a vehicle
  • 131-132 happy vacation, driving fatigue
  • 133-134 highway courtesy, driver responsibility
  • 135-136 driving safe books, poster on handwriting after you drink so much beer and the importance of safety

Saint Louis Safety Club Scrapbooks, Box 4

Saint Louis Safety Club Missouri Federation of Women's Clubs (MFWC) Scrapbook, 1962-1963, Box 4

  • 1-2 New president Mrs. William Baron, Quote
  • 3-4 improvement program award
  • 5-6 steamboat progress
  • 7-8 Carol Lane award, letter from National Safety Council telling them to keep up the good work
  • 9-10  safety club newspaper articles, flower drawn
  • 11-12 safety club articles, fire prevention week
  • 13-14 fire prevention paper, talks more about fire prevention week
  • 15-16 meeting pamphlet, yearbook contest
  • 17-18 letters to Betty, safety club
  • 19-20 article on monument falling,
  • 21-22 shrine, supporting pilgrimage
  • 23-24 kits for women, letters thanking for the kits
  • 25-26 kits, safety at Christmas
  • 27-28 newspaper pieces about the meetings
  • 29-30 program on driving school for women in 1963
  • 31-32 article on teaching them to drive, poetry on driving
  • 33-34 they need traffic safety leaders, pamphlets to get people aboard on being a part of the meetings
  • 35-36 meeting pamphlets
  • 37-38 the club donation, the donation letter saying thank you and showing how they helped
  • 39-40 dedication to Mrs. Winnie Von Wehrden
  • 41-42 letter in memory of Von Weldens memorial
  • 43-44 article on traffic safety
  • 45-46 buyers guide, pictures of dolls
  • 47-48 helping children auto deaths, mail from the fire department saying they will help and do a demonstration on chemical science
  • 49-50 memorial to Jennie McCane
  • 51-52 club leadership awards
  • 53-54 Mr. Safety retires, elects new officers
  • 55-56 Score sheet on co-operation, Letter thanking Mrs. Powers for her financial support
  • 57-58 safety topics, letter from safety council thanking Mrs. Powers for her financial support

Saint Louis Safety Club, Betty Baron

  • 1-2 Betty Baron award, safety awards
  • 3-4 home safety skit, driving school program 1936
  • 5-6 Missouri State Federation of Women’s Clubs program 1939, driving test
  • 7-8 instructions from driving test, high way safety badge for Betty Baron
  • 9-10 MFWC program 1940, schedule for traffic safety meeting 1975
  • 11-12 report from Missouri women in traffic safety conference in 1975, picture
  • 13-14 home made safety drivers meeting invitation, schedule of MWTS
  • 15-16 club women are guests, various name tags from the Red Cross, Chamber of Commerce, ect.
  • 17-18 Safety Committee programs, how safe St. Louis is
  • 19-20 Safety Committee programs, report of Betty Baron
  • 21-22 safety broad cast script 1949, instructions to the contestants of 1940 driving contest
  • 23-24 souvenir program, 1947 luncheon program
  • 25-26 public safety article, St. Louis Safety Club meeting
  • 27-28 pictures at the meeting, pamphlet of responsibilities of state and local safety council boards of directors
  • 29-30 pictures and newspaper article about safe driving being pushed, safety council letter to Betty Baron
  • 31-32 safety awards, newspaper article in color
  • 33-34 home safety skit, MWTS program
  • 35-36 WITS (Women in Traffic Safety, letter about the meeting for WITS
  • 37-38 award, fine arts festival presidents luncheon
  • 39-40 meaning of safety, award
  • 41-42 safe driving cup, Safety Club
  • 43-44 Safety Council, letter
  • 45-46 daily bulletin, highway safety conference
  • 47-48 highway safety conference, invitations to highway safety conference
  • 49-50 letter on celebrating the safety clubs 45 birthday
  • 51-52 WSDS (women’s safe driving school) announcements, 45th anniversary
  • 53-54 shopping list, comic on safe driving

Weaver of Dreams Story League Scrapbook, Box 3

Weaver of Dreams Story League Scrapbook, Box 3

  • 1-2 Yearbook, stories
  • 3-4 banquet pamphlet, programs
  • 5-6 programs
  • 7-8 programs, short stories book
  • 9-10 programs
  • 11-12 programs
  • 13-14 programs and pictures
  • 15-16 programs
  • 17-18 programs
  • 19-20 thank you letter for programs, minutes from the meeting
  • 21-22 a galaxy of female poet’s newspaper article, newspaper article
  • 23-24 invite for a Halloween dinner, meeting minutes
  • 25-26 on program of story teller’s newspaper article, winner of ‘letter to Cynthia’ contest newspaper article
  • 27-28 Central district bulletin, programs
  • 29-30 programs, history map of Saint Louis
  • 31-32 hate letter, program schedule
  • 33-34 year book and letters
  • 35-36 program, table seating
  • 37-38 decretive page
  • 39-40 cards
  • 41 cards 7:40

ABBC Coterie Scrapbook, Box 5

ABBC Coterie Scrapbook, Box 5

  • 1-2 Certification of membership, showing what the club stands for
  • 3-4 letters from the women’s club, paper about the club
  • 5-6 Monday study club, pictures
  • 7-8 cards, golden jubilee for women’s clubs
  • 9-10 pictures and events
  • 11-12 pictures, meeting schedule
  • 13-14 pictures, badges
  • 15-16 scrap book decorations
  • 17-18 letters to Betty, newspaper articles on the clubs
  •  19-20 pictures
  • 21-22 newspaper articles on ABBC
  • 23-24 newspaper articles
  • 25-26 pictures
  • 27-28 tour to Mexico menu, pictures of native dances
  • 29-30 pictures of group
  • 31-32 pictures of tour
  • 33-34 ABBC. Club meeting
  • 35-36 cards and flowers
  • 37-38 flowers, pictures
  • 39-40 Str. Admiral ticket, letter from Betty
  • 41-42 club activities, pictures, and script
  • 43-44 cards, article from two surviving pilots from war
  • 45-46 pictures, cards
  • 47-48 Christmas program, roller skate party
  • 49-50 soldiers will be guests to ABBC Coterie, bridal gowns for women in service
  • 51-52 pictures, more about wedding gowns, Missouri club women
  • 53-54 wearing of the green theme
  • 55-56 newly installed officers, installation dinner
  • 57-58 newspaper articles on women’s clubs, newspaper articles on women’s clubs
  • 59-60 newspaper article on GFWC president urging women to take intelligent part in post war program, newspaper article on clubwomen as delegate to peace conference
  • 61-62 ABBC elect new officers, ABBC letters
  • 63-64 Newspaper article on dinner dance for service men, Birthday section for her mom
  • 65-66 MFWC holds a garden party, ABBC barn party
  • 67-68 ABBC initiation party, Halloween theme page
  • 69-70 Betty is co-founder of club, Holiday dinner
  • 71-72 pictures from party
  • 73-74 Christmas page
  • 75-76 holiday dinner, pictures from party
  • 77-78 letters, decorative page
  • 79-80 cards, St. Patrick’s day page
  • 81-82 ABBC meeting, Deloris Jercick newly installed officer
  • 83-84 wedding invite, Mother’s Day 1945
  • 85-86 cards, wedding
  • 87-88 newspaper articles, letters
  • 89-90 letter from red cross, party
  • 91-92 party, Halloween party
  • 93-94 Hawaii theme page, decorative page
  • 95-96 MFWC letter to Betty
  • 97-98 decorative pages
  • 99-100 party for soldiers end, newspaper articles
  • 101-102 annual meeting, the Missouri clubwoman news paper
  • 103-104 letter from betty saying to send in pictures for scrap book, letters about party
  • 105-106 Jubilee party, wedding pictures
  • 107-108 Ruth Renfrow donating to charity, letters
  • 109-110 meeting, installation of officers
  • 111-112 installation dinner decorations
  • 113-114 Betty adds more room to her house for the meetings, Valentines cards
  • 115-116decorations
  • 117-118 cards
  • 119-120 cards
  •  121-122 letters to Betty
  • 123-124 letters to Betty
  • 125-126 letters to Betty
  • 127-128 letters to Betty and ABBC
  • 129-130 letters to Betty
  • 131-132 letters to Betty
  • 133-134 cards to Betty
  • 135-136 cards to Betty
  • 137-138 cards to Betty
  • 139-140 cards to Betty, report of the ABBC Coterie party
  • 141-142 cards to Betty

Box 1

Box 1

  • St. Louis Safety Club – Receipts – 1957-74
  • Ledger – St. Louis Safety Club Membership – 1957-73
  • Ledger – St. Louis Safety Club Membership – 1960-80
  • Minutes – St. Louis Safety Club – May 1968-Oct 1972
  • Central States Safety Conference pamphlet – May 1946
  • GFWC manual – June 10, 1978
  • Minutes – St. Louis Safety Club – May 1946-Nov 1978
  • Notebook – Minutes, Receipts, Membership lists – St. Louis Safety Club – 1968-80
  • Safety Highlights – 1958-59; Springfield, MO newspaper article – Sep. 1979 Plaque – Safety Council of Greater St. Louis – 1979-80

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.