It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bailey Collection: Home
Bailey Collection, Special Collections, SC#114. Correspondence, photographs and other papers of the Bailey family of Carthage, Missouri from 1940 to 1950, during World War II.
Collection Information
Collection Number: SC#114
Title:
Bailey Collection
Dates:
Documents ranging from 1933-1965, with two documents dating 1892 and 1919.
Collection Size:
12 Boxes
Biographical History
Edward C. Bailey – Date of Birth: August 10, 1896. Date of Death: July 19, 1951. Wife: Mabel Bailey. Son: Carroll Bailey. Served in World War I and World War II, achieved the ranking of Colonel. Stationed in China in the 1940s.
Scope and Content
Correspondence, photographs and other papers of the Bailey family of Carthage, Missouri from 1940 to 1950, during World War II.
Creator(s)
Edward Bailey
Mabel Bailey
Carroll Bailey
Acquisition Information
Donated in 1986 by Ruby Wilson and Fran Logan.
Preview the Collection
Edward Bailey, 1940s
Mabel Bailey, February 14, 1945
Carroll Bailey
Preview the Collection
Harry S. Truman Letter to Edward Bailey, September 20, 1939
Certificate of Award, Republic of China, July 27, 1946
Certificate of Award, Republic of China
Nuclear Attack Instructions, 1957
Nuclear Attack Instructions, 1957
Collection Inventory, Boxes 1-3
Box 1
Edward Receiving Rank of First Lieutenant Certificate
Framed document of Edward Bailey receiving the ranking of First Lieutenant, Field Artillery Section in the United States military in 1919.
Military Records 1942-1951
Certificate of Award from the Republic of China in 1946. Colonel Edward Bailey was awarded Collar Order of Yun Hui.
Army Advisory Group document, subject being the Chinese Awards for Edward Bailey.
Chinese awards and documents
Document awarding Edward Bailey the Certificate for Distinguished Service Medal from the Chinese government for his service in building the India-China pipe line.
Military change of orders for Edward Bailey – reassigned from St. Louis, Missouri to Columbia, South Carolina in 1941.
Military orders for Edward Bailey – 1940
Certificate of honor for Edward Bailey – appointing him to the rank of Colonel, Field Artillery in the Army of the United States in 1946.
Address list of Military Personnel in Columbia, South Carolina
Document on settlement of accompany check from the General Accounting Office
Orc Evaluation for all inactive Reserve Officers in the Joplin Area
Reserve Officers Availability Questionnaire
Travel Orders in regards to specific personnel in China – Headquarters Shanghai Port Command United States Forces, China
Thank you letter to Colonel Bailey for his service from Army Ground Forces Office of the Commanding General
Organized Reserve Corps Qualification records Plan
Health examination of Colonel Edward Bailey in while in China (1940-1945)
Orders from Headquarters United States Forces China Theater
Special Orders from Headquarters United States Forces China Theater (1941-1946)
Office of the Finance Office of the U.S. Army – documents regarding the cost of moving and the reimbursement of such costs.
Army of the United States Separation Qualification Record of Edward Bailey
Discharge Papers of Edward C. Bailey as of 1919.
Military Record and Report of Separation, Certificate of Service (1946)
Edward Carroll Bailey’s educational and military history with dates.
Preparation of Officers and Warrant Officers Qualification Record Documents
Records Jacket – Records of Ed Bailey
Motor Vehicle Permit for Hq. U.S.A.F.S.
Identification Card for Edward Bailey, 21 may 1945
Public Voucher of payment of Death Benefits
Watch receipt from China.
Letters between Harry H. Vaughn and Edward Bailey over opinions of Chinese affairs, 1950-1951
Military Record and Report of Separation; Certificate of Service ; 1946
War Department Pay and Allowance Account Record
General Orders 1944
Certificate of the awarding of the Bronze Star to Colonel Edward Bailey for his service in China
General Orders ; Award of the Legion of Merit, Award of the Soldiers Medal, Award of the Bronze Star Medal, and Bronze campaign star – China Campaign.
Special Orders ; 1940-1946
Statement of Service for Longevity Pay
Chinese Award certificate
Request for Forty-Five Days Temporary Duty from Edward Bailey
Letter Orders for Col. Bailey, 1946
Harry Truman Letter and Recommendation
Letter recommending Col. Edward Bailey as Superintendent of Equipment in the State Highway Department. (1933)
Letter to Col. Edward Bailey, responding from a previous letter – extending his regret that he was unable to visit Col. Bailey while in Joplin, also stating his views on the war. “ I sincerely hope you are all wrong about the necessity of any of us becoming embroiled in any of the European mess, but you never can tell what will happen” Harry S. Truman, 1939.
Box 2
Correspondence between Bailey and Harry H. Vaughan.
Letter written to Vaughan from Bailey, addressing the issues Bailey observed with the policies and actions in China. Notes on this letter made by the president and Harry H. Vaughan.
Response from Vaughan to Bailey, responding to the letter in the folder with opinion and answer.
Letter between Bailey and Vaughan, May 13, 1948, continuing the conversation over policies and actions in China.
Army – Personal Orders for Edward Bailey
Memo to Adjutant General from Edward C. Bailey, 1941
Letter from Edward Bailey to Colonel John T. Kennedy; 1941
Letter from Edward Bailey to Lt. Col. Thomas C. Swanson ; 1941
Letter from Edward Bailey to Finance Officer about Pay and Allowance Account; 1941
Letter from Edward Bailey to Verne the Taylor; 1941
Letter from Edward Bailey from General Dawley
Extract from comments of first army maneuvers, October 15-17 1941
Handwritten note on personal information
Application for Extension of Tour of Active Duty
Letter from Edward Bailey to Colonel Marcus Brenneman Bell
Authorization for Allotment of Pay
Statement of Service for Longevity Pay
Last Will and Testament for Mabel Bailey
Transportation by Army Transport letter from G. W. Schilling, Jr. 1st Lieutenant
Preliminary Data Sheet over Col. Edward Bailey
Physical Record of Edward Bailey
Immunization Register/Record
Last Will and Testament of Edward Bailey
Power of Attorney for Edward Bailey
Travel Orders for Edward Bailey; 1942
Special Orders for Edward Bailey; 1941-1943
Orders for Edward Bailey; 1941-1943
Letter of Transportation by Army Transport from Edward Bailey
Letter of Artillery Fire Marketing from Edward Bailey
Memo to Major Emigh from Colonel Edward Bailey
Transcript Statement of Account from Finance Department by Edward Bailey
Secret document
Disposition of baggage
War Department letter to Mrs. Edward Bailey from W.J. Callahan
Letter of Shipment of Personnel Effects from Edward Bailey 1943
Memo to Lieut. Ridings, from W.H. Sadler in regards to Lieut. Col. Edwards Bailey
Affidavit of Edward Bailey
Radiogram from War Washington; May 1943
Letter to Colonel Edward Bailey from J.O. Mullenix
Memo to Chief of Staff concerning the Statement of Military Service for Edward Carroll Bailey
Restricted Document; 1942
Tracer Letter on Transcript statement of account to L. Col. Edward C. Bailey
Air base headquarters, Hurricane Instructions – General Orders , 1942
Signal Communication Annex to Hurricane Instructions
Statement of Account for Edward Bailey, 1943
War Department Official Documents
South Carolina Military District; Education and Training, Army Extension Courses, 1950
The Artillery School
Section II – List of Sub courses Available Consolidated as of 30 November 1949
The Ground General School
Copies of Orders for Bailey
Copies of Orders for Bailey
Box 3
Carroll Bailey’s Papers
Application for Entrance to Office Candidate School – Carroll Bailey, 1945
Statements to be appended to application for entrance to office candidate school
Personal history Statement for Carroll Bailey 1945-1946
American Embassy Office of the Naval Attaché, third endorsement for Carroll Bailey
Civilian Employment Document 1948
South Carolina High School League Certificate of Award for Carroll Bailey
Application for Federal Employment for Carroll Bailey
Notice of Authorization of Training and Subsistence Allowance
Newspaper – China Marine Anniversary
Responding letter to application to Officer Candidate School
Update on the status of application to Officer Candidate School
Disposition Form
Letter between Carroll Bailey and W.L. Burbank
Military forms for Carroll Bailey
Receipts
The Decisions and Indiscretions of General A
Information for New Arrivals, Japan – booklet
Newspaper clipping 1940s
“Your Heart” booklet
History of Employment
DriClad Storm Coat
Letter to Amy Bailey
Aid Certification for Carroll Bailey
Veterans of Foreign Wars Citizenship School
Full translation of certified extract copy of family register re Koda Emiko 1957
Application for marriage for Carroll Bailey to Amy Eileen Koda
Special Naturalization Benefits for Veterans, Wives and Husbands of United States Citizens and Children of United States Citizens
The Foreign Service of the United States of America, American Consulate General to Amy Bailey
Document in Chinese
The American National Red Cross, Staff Aide Training certificate for Amy Bailey
Letter from Amy Bailey
United States Department of Justice, Immigration and Naturalization Service letter to Emiko Bailey
Application to file petition for Naturalization for Amy Bailey
Affidavit for Amy Bailey
U.S. Army Command Reconnaissance Activities Pacific Command- Field Projects Branch
Document in Chinese
Full translation of certified extract copy of family register re KODA Emiko
Letter to Carroll Bailey from the Foreign Service of the United States of America
Inter – Island – SFC ; Carroll S. Bailey Hq. USARISC APO 343
Issue Slip
Air Force Commercial Transportation Office – Tokyo Branch
Special Orders 1957
Inventory of Household Goods
Handwritten note
Household Goods statement
Lost item note
Inventory of items and damages
U.S. Government Bill of Lading
Papers to Sgt. Carroll S. Bailey
Special Orders 1951-1952
Temporary Duty 1954
Organized Reserve Corps
Application for Entrance to Office Candidate School
US Army and US Air Force Recruiting Station
Orders 1951
Application for Discharge Submitted on 14 September 1951
Letter to Carroll Bailey from M.B. DePass
Letter to Carroll Bailey from George Strosnider
Handwritten note/letter from George Strosnider
Papers to Sgt. Carroll S. Bailey
Request for Authority to Enter into Private Rental Agreement
Status of Private Rental location
Dependent Supply Procedures (Private Rentals)
Statement of Assumption of Responsibility and Release of tenant from liability
Letter of Appreciation
Landlord’s Agreement
Amendment of Letter Order
Letter Order
Special Orders 1955-1958
Orientation for Personnel Assigned to HQ & HQ CO
Claim’s Officers Check List
Claim for Personal Property
Issue Slip
Turn-In Slip
Statement of Account
Medical Certification of Alien For Marriage
Assignment of Duties
Control Card
TDY Orders
Distribution
List of Establishments in Jasper, Newton and McDonald county that sell alcoholic beverages
Permanent Change of Station 1955
Headquarters U.S. Army – 1964
Special Orders 1964
Unit Orders 1964
Treasury Check, Military Payment Order
National Service Life Insurance & Veterans Administration 1950-51
Veterans Administration National Life Insurance letter
Veterans Administration National Service Life Insurance check letter
Insurance Accts Div. Vets Adm. 1950-51
Collection Inventory, Boxes 4-6
Box 4
Letters to Maj. General Harry H. Vaughan to Col. Edward Bailey, 1947-1950
Letters to Major General Harry H Vaughan to Colonel Edward Bailey dated from 1947 to 1950.
Letters from the White House
Letter from the White House ; Harry H. Vaughn to Edward Bailey, 1947-48
Letters to James K Vardaman, Jr. 1948-1951
Letters to James K Vardaman, Jr. from Colonel Edward Bailey dated from 1948-1951
Legal letters from Ralph Baird 1950
Legal letter from Ralph Baird to Colonel Edward Bailey dated in 1950
Letters from Bob Kerr 1945-1949
Letters between Bob Kerr and Colonel Edward Bailey dated from 1945-1949
Letters from James K. Vardaman 1948-1951
Letters between James K Vardaman and Colonel Edward Bailey dated from 1948-1951
Military Letters – Ed Bailey; 1948-1951
Military Letters to Colonel Edward Bailey from 1948-1951
War Records/Official Records related to War time activities; Colonel Bailey, 1949
War records of Edward Bailey in 1949
Military Awards/Recognition
National Republic of China, Certificate of Award
Military docs – Col Edward Bailey
Military docs and letters to Edward Bailey; 1948
Ministry of Communications- Senior Officials List , June 1948
Ministry of Communications document with names and rankings, 1948
Meyer’s Party list – September 1948
List of guests to ‘Meyer’s Party”, dated September 1948
Box 5
Personal Insurance & Trust documents – Bailey
Mill Owner’s Mutual Insurance Document for Carroll Bailey ad Amy Bailey
Income Tax Returns for Carroll Bailey 1961-1963
The Sponge Rubber Products Company document for Edward Bailey 1950
U.S. Treasury Department – Division of Disbursement; Life Insurance Document – Edward Bailey
Easton – Taylor Trust Co. 1950 (5 Documents)
The First National Bank of South Carolina – 1950 (3 Documents)
The Citizens and Southern National Bank – 1950 (5 Documents)
Sloan’s moving & Storage Co. – 1950
Break down of Material for Edward Bailey
Bank and Insurance 1946-1948
Commercial Union Assurance Co. – Personal Property Floater
Letter from the First National Bank of Columbia from Edward Bailey – 1948
Letter from The First National Bank of Columbia to Edward Bailey from Arthur B. Horton
Letter to the Easton-Taylor Trust Company, from Edward Bailey – 1946
Letter to the Citizens and Southern National Bank from Edward Bailey – 1948
Endorsement from Commercial Union Assurance Company Limited to Edward Bailey 1947
Deposition for Arnold Motor Sales Co. vs. Herbert Taylor
Deposition for Arnold Motors Sales Co. vs Herbert Taylor
Letter from Edward Bailey to Sheaffer Pen Co. and vice versa 1950
Letter from Edward Bailey to Zippo Mfg. Co. and vice versa 1950
Letter from Edward Bailey to Ronson Art Metal Works, Inc. 1950
Letter from Edward Bailey to Universal Camera Corporation 1948
Letter from Edward Bailey to Parker Pen Co. 1950
Information request 1950-51
Letter to Precision Optical Supply Co. from Carroll Bailey
Letter to Spice Islands from Carroll Bailey
Letter to Esatmen Kodak Co. from Carroll Bailey
Letter to Mr. A. Waronoff from Mrs. E. C. Bailey
Travel court, letters, etc. 1950
Letter from J. L. Rosenblum, president of Paulson Engineering Co. Inc., to Edward Bailey
Letter to Holly Manufacturing Co. from Edward Bailey
Letter to The Sponge Rubber Products Co. from Edward Bailey
Letter to the Mississippi State Highway Commission from Edward Bailey
Letter to Mr. R.P. Hall from Edward Bailey
Letter to Edward Bailey from Nall-Broach & McRaven General Insurance
Handwritten catalog records for “Guest Room Furniture”
Handwritten notes on Oakley Motor Company stationary
Country Order memo from The Lammert Furniture Co.
Travel Court Cost estimation and information
Specifications for Travel Court for Edward Bailey
Merchandise Orders – 1950
Sears, Roebuck and Co. Office of the General manager letter to Colonel Edward Bailey
Letter from Edward Bailey to O.S. Detweiler, Gen. Mgr.
Letter from Edward Bailey to Franklin Railroad Salvage
Letter from Mrs. Edw. C. Bailey to Raleigh Cigarettes
Beldt’s Aquarium Catalog
Letter to Brown and Williamson Tobacco Corp. from Mrs. Edward C. Bailey
Letter to Luxemburg from Edward Bailey
Furn-Storage-Moving Documents
Letter from Sloan’s Moving Storage Co. to Edward Bailey
Access Record from Sloan’s Moving & Storage Co.
Storage information for Sloan’s Moving Storage Co.
Furniture Warehouseman’s Transit Policy
Memorandum Associated Services
Box 6
Chinese writing
Chinese documents
Miscellaneous Doc in relation to China
FMF badge
Diagram of the Government of Chia
National Highway Administration Senior Staff List
List of Technicians on Board the SS General M.C. Meigs
Chinese Building Diagram
First Phase Program Materials & Equipment for Canton Hankow Railway
A Brief Description of Central China Iron and Steel Corporation
Canton Hankow Railway
Projects for Reconstruction and Rehabilitation
The Tayeh Plant of the Hwa Hsin
Exhibition of Korean fine Arts
Things to do under Chemical, Biological or Nuclear
Code of Conduct for member of the Armed Forces of the United States
Artificial Respiration Directions cards
Chinese Restaurant Card
Framing notes
Letters 1946-1948
Letter to General C. K. Fang, Director National Highway Administration from Col. Edward C Bailey
Chinese Supply Commission
Letter/Memo to The Minister of Communications from Edward C. Bailey
Report to The Honorable J. Leighton Stuart from Nanking, China
Classifies data from the Chinese Government to the Honorable J. Leighton Stuart
Letter to Mr. Roger D. Lapham, Director, The American Economic Cooperation Mission, Shanghai – Mistry of Food
Rehabilitation program and test of proposed China Aid Bill – 1948
Text of Proposed China Aid Bill and Background Information on Economic Assistance Program for China
First-Year Rehabilitation Program of Chekiang-Kiangsi Railroad
Statistical studies on operation finance and traffic prospects of Canton Hankow Railway – 1948
Statistical studies on operation finance and traffic prospects of Canton Hankow Railway
Review of Chinese railroads 1946 & maps, letter, and contracts – 1947
Railroad map
Translation – Review of Chinese Railroads in 1947
Contract of Employment
Translation – American Embassy, Copy for Col. Bailey
Minister of Communications, N.H.A. Study
Ministry of Communications – Yellow River Bridge document
Letters – 1946-47 & statistics of employees
The Foreign Service of the United States of America, Advisor to the Minister of Communications
Staff of NHA Headquarters, Official records
Memo to Minister of Communications, Rehabilitation of South China Railroads
Confidential document, to the minister of communication from Edward Bailey ; Airports and Airport Facilities for International Use
Itinerary and personnel of a Taiwan factory – 1948
Taiwan Sugar Corporation statistics and records
Taiwan Railroad documentation and timestamps
Kwangtung Provincial Government – Canton China, Chinese writing
Programmed for members of the Reconstruction Survey Group, China Aid Mission, Visiting Hong Kong.
Itinerary in Taiwan
Chiaotungpu black paper
Ministry of Communication – Blank Papers
Report of reunion of 2nd Battery, Ft. Roots – Oct., 1947
Report of Reunion of Second Battery, Ft. Roots and 335 TH F. A. Held in Hot Springs, Arkansas, October 11-13, 1947
Program for 2nd Battery and 335th F. A. Reunion A T Arlington Hotel, Hot Springs, October 15, 16, 17
Specifications for Travel Court Unit for Mr. Edward C. Bailey
Briefing folder on relations with China
Comments on the Military Aid Features of United States Relations with China, Department of State, July 30, 1949.
We can send China some Vital Arms and Ammunition Now Without Warning For Legislation or Appropriation
China’s Tanks document
American China Policy Association, Inc.
Letter of April 13, 1949 From the Secretary of State to The Chairman, Committee on Foreign Affairs, H.R. Regarding Military Aid to China
Ammunition From all U.S. Sources Received in China From VJ-Day to November 1946
Building and Reconstruction of Chinese transportation reports – 1946
Handwritten note to Ed Bailey
Documents in Chinese
Telecommunication Materials UNRRA First Quarter 1946
Brief Description of Requirement
Telecommunication Materials UNRRA Second Quarter of 1946
Revised Summary Lists of Materials In the Port Program and Firm Request of Second Quarter of 1946 For Rehabilitation of Communication and Transportation in China
Ships and Materials to be Procured Through UNRRA for the Ministry of Communications
Memorandum, Mr. Z. S. Hwa , Director of Department of Stores and Purchases, Ministry of Communications
Plant & Equipment Required for the Construction of 40 kms. Highway
Minister of Communications Nanking 1946
Supplement Detail List of Machinery, Tools, and Equipment for Repair for “A” , “B”, and “C”, Shops.
Memo – Automotive Repair Equipment to be Request from UNRRA, and shop Locations
Map of Chinese Railroads
United Nations Relief and Rehabilitation Administration
National Highway Administration Ministry of Communications National Government Republic of China
Existing Conditions of Railroads
Letters to Chinese in U.S.A. – 1946
Map of Chinese Railroads
Letter draft from The Honorable J. Leighton Stuart
Rehabilitation of Chinese Railways
The Embassy of the United States of America
National Automotive Supplies Commission
Memo – Reply to translation of letter No. “Han” 569, from the Investigation and Checking Section, Peiping Local Court, Dated 23 July 1946
Memo to Mr. H.H. Ling, V.M., MOC – 1946-1947
Paper of translations
First Regional Highway Engineering Administration, National Highway Administration
Plans, Drafts, Memos, & Reports 1946
Outline on Conditions of Highways and motor Transportation in China
Report by the Aeronautics Administration on Past and Present Conditions and Future Plans for Civilian Aviation
Railways, Past and Present Conditions and Plans for Reconstruction
The Telecommunications and Postal Service , Past and Present Conditions with Plans for Rehabilitation and Improvement
Report on water Shipping and Harbors with Past and Present Conditions and Future Plans
A proposed solution to China’s Transportation Problem
A Tentative Plan of Highway Transportation for Emergency Rehabilitation Program
Memo – Transportation Emergency Measure Occasioned By Japan’s Unconditional Surrender
A General Plan for Motor, Rail, Water and Air Transportation
Constitution and By Laws For A.A.A. Clubs
American Automobile Association
Memorandum for a new Automobile Club
Highway Transportation Private cs. Government Operation
Section I. Common Carriers
Memo – Ministry of Communications, 1946
Translation – Draft of Five – year Reconstruction Program for Communications
Regulations Governing Highway Motor Carriers In China
Drafts
Map of Chinese Railways
Draft – Report on Water Shipping and Harbors
Draft – Telecommunications and Postal Services
Draft – Report by the Civil Aeronautics Administration on Past and Present Conditions and Future Plans for Civilian Aviation
Drafts – Railways, Past and present Conditions and Plan for Reconstruction
Letter File
Veterans Administration, 1949
Department of the Army – Dependent Travel
Travel Orders – 1946
Special Order – 1946
War Department Appreciation Letter to Colonel Edward Bailey
Collection Inventory, Boxes 7-9
Box 7
Letters – 1945
Letter from the Office of the Deputy Director General about Technical Assistance
Letters 1946
Ministry of Communications 3rd Regional Office National Highway Administration to Edward Bailey
Memorandum to Director General, NHA.
Railway records
Memorandum – Rehabilitation of South China Railroads
Letters regarding Chinese policy and action with the transportation rehabilitation 1946
Appreciation letter from Chinese Embassy
Bank of China letter
China Merchants Steam Navigation Co. letter to Edward Bailey
Notes to Ministry of Communications from Edward Bailey
Ministry of Communications letters about N.H.A. Study – 1946
Letters – 1947
Letter to Mr. Edward Bailey, Advisor from the Ministry of Communications in Nanking
MOC Budget for the Expenses for the Advisor, Mr. E.C. Bailey, in 1947
Hangchow Automobile Repair Shop, Letter to Edward Bailey from Richard Shih about repairs
Changsha Auto Repair Works, National Highway Administration – Letter to Mr. E.C. Baily and Mr. J.P. Kearnes from Mr. K.C. Lien
Letter regarding railroad plans to Mr. Shao Shen
Letter from the Travelers Insurance Company
Letter to Easton-Taylor Trust Co. from Edward Bailey
Letter and Reports from P.H. Ho, to General Yu Ta-wei, Minister of Communications
Letter to Edward Bailey from Andrew S. F. Lin about military and business decisions.
Papers, Contracts, Memos, Etc. No Dates.
Brief Statement on Transfer of CNRRA Road Vehicles, Tires & Spare Parts to MOC
Balanced Equipment for Automotive Repair, Maintenance & Tire Vulcanizing Shops
Blank Contracts of Employment
Railroad documents
Memo to the Minister of Communications, Subject – Recommendations for the Consulting Group
Recommended Initial Salaries
War Transportation Board, National Military Council – Republic of China. Memo, Subject – Report on Inspection Trip to Changsha, Hunan, to General C.K. Fang from Col. Edward Bailey
A brief Statement on the Tientsin Automobile manufacturing Works
Letters – 1948
Ssu-Fang Works General Survey, 1948
Advice and documents on Highway conditions and repairs from the Preparatory Committee of Chinese National Highway Labor Union (in Chinese)
Handwritten notes
Copy of Alcohol Contracts No. ASI-SOS-264 to the Headquarters U.S. Army, c/o Lt. J. P. Kearnes, KHA
Letter to Col. Edward Bailey from the Edgar M. Hastings of the Richmond, Fredericksburg and Potomac Railroad Company – 1948
Sales receipts and maps – 1947
Property Issue Slips for Edward Bailey
Documents in Chinese
MOC Papers
Blank papers from Chiaotungpu (Ministry of Communications)
Box 8
Purple cloth book
Personal notes
Recipes
Miscellaneous – Receipts & Business/Name Cards
Receipts for Registered Article
Post Office Receipts
Premium Receipts
Symphony Appliance Repair Shop Name Card
Edward Bailey Name Card
R.P. (Bob) Hall Realtor
Note on Hotel Continental Stationary
Envelope full of stamps
The Travelers Insurance Company
Baggage Declaration and Entry
Receipts
Thank you! Notes from Levee’s
City of Columbia, South Carolina Receipt for 1946 taxes
Invoices
Service Studio card and advertisement
Unknown Lists & Documents
Seating chart
Date and event section of paper
Dinner guest list
Paper with unknown notes
Unknown letter – 1892
Letter on C.G. Sellars & Co. Boots and Shoes to “Father” from “Sellars” dated December 30, 1892.
Box 9
Book – Boot by Cpl. Gilbert Bailey USMCR – 1944
Boot by Cpl. Gilbert Bailey USMCR_1944
Newspapers & Articles
Report Changes of Address to you Appropriate Headquarters
Yank – The Army Weekly – Magazine, December 28, 1945
What is the Truth about China? – Speech of Hon. Walter H. Judd
Newspaper Clippings – China 1940’s
The Shanghai Evening Post & Mercury – Friday, January 24, 1947
The China Press – September 20, 1948
The China Press – October 6, 1948
The China Press – October 13, 1947
Navy Ship Ready for U.S. Evacuees Bound for Japan
Mobilization Information Article
Reds Said Holding Up Drive on Pengpu to Meet Threat by Gov’t Troops from Rear
Army Honors Champion Article
“The Menace of Red China” by Louis Francis Budenz
Collier’s for March 19, 1949
The Shanghai Evening Post & Mercury_ Wednesday, September 1, 1948 – Shipping News
Newspaper Clippings – China 1947-1948
The China Press – December 12, 1948
The China Press – November 11, 1947
The Shanghai Evening Post – December 11, 1948
China Daily Tribune – December 13, 1948
Newspaper Clippings – China 1948
The Shanghai Evening Post – December 13, 1948
The China Press – December 13, 1948
The China Press _ Transportation Page – December 13, 1948
China Daily Tribune – December 12, 1948
Collection Inventory, Boxes 10-12
Box 10
Letters between Colonel and Mrs. Bailey – 1942-1943
Personal letters between Colonel Edward Bailey and Mrs. Mabel Bailey (1942-1943)
Personal Letters: from Col. Bailey to Mrs. Bailey - 1945
Personal letters between Colonel Edward Bailey and Mrs. Mabel Bailey (1945)
Personal Letters: from Col. Bailey to Mrs. Bailey - 1945
Personal letters between Colonel Edward Bailey and Mrs. Mabel Bailey (1945)
Personal Letters: from Col. Bailey to Mrs. Bailey - 1945
Personal letters between Colonel Edward Bailey and Mrs. Mabel Bailey (1945)
Letters: from Col. Bailey to Mrs. Bailey - 1945
Personal letters between Colonel Edward Bailey and Mrs. Mabel Bailey (1945)
Personal letters; Col., Mrs. Bailey & son – 1945
Personal letters between Colonel Edward Bailey, Mrs. Mabel Bailey and Carroll Bailey (1945)
Letters to Col. & Mrs. Bailey – 1948-1950
Personal letters to Colonel Edward Bailey and Mrs. Mabel Bailey (1948-1950)
Letters between Col., Mrs. Bailey & son – 1951
Personal letters between Colonel Edward Bailey, Mrs. Mabel Bailey and Carroll Bailey ( 1951)
Letters to Mrs. Bailey from her son Carroll – 1945
Personal letters between Mrs. Mable Bailey and Carroll Bailey (1945)
Letters to Pvt. Carroll Bailey, Mrs. Bailey – 1945
Letters between Carroll Bailey and Mrs. Mabel Bailey (1945)
Letters 1945-1951
Letters to Colonel Edward Bailey and Mrs. Mabel Bailey (1945-1951)
Personal letters to & from Chinese – 1949-1951
Personal letters to Col. Edwards Bailey and family – 1949-1951
Copies of personal letters 1950-1951
Personal letters to Col. Edward Bailey, Mrs. Mabel Bailey and Carroll Bailey (1950-1951)
Condolence Letters for the Death of Colonel Edward Bailey - 1951
Condolence letters to Mrs. Mabel Bailey and family for the death of Colonel Edward Bailey (1951)
Box 11
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1942, Folder 1
24 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1942, Folder 2
17 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1942, Folder 3
25 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1942, Folder 4
20 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1942, Folder 5
20 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1943, Folder 1
20 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1943, Folder 2
20 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1943, Folder 3
20 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1943, Folder 4
20 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1943, Folder 5
20 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1943, Folder 6
20 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1943, Folder 7
20 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1943, Folder 8
20 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1943, Folder 9
20 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1943, Folder 10
4 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1944, Folder 1
27 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1944, Folder 2
18 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1944, Folder 3
23 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1944, Folder 4
20 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1944, Folder 5
20 Letters total
Box 12
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1944, Folder 6
27 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1944, Folder 7
36 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1944, Folder 8
26 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1944, Folder 9
25 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1944, Folder 10
13 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1944, Folder 11
20 Letters total
Letters between Mr. and Mrs. Bailey: 1944, Folder 12
Carroll Bailey letter Documents
Mats (macsg) Scott AFB, ILL, 62226
Empty Envelope with a Note on it.
American Consular Service American Passport Carroll Bailey
War Department Letter
Special Services Letter
Death Notice
War Transportation Board
Letters from Army Hospital
Letters of Travel Orders
Letter with Newspaper Clipping
Little note to Carroll
Letter to Bailey
Easter Letter from Amy
International Telegram
Insurance Tickets
Letters Between Carroll and Amy Bailey Pt. 1
14 letters
Letters Between Carroll and Amy Bailey Pt. 2
11 letters
Tiny Photos
Pg. 1
Bailey family
Baby photos of Carroll Bailey, 11
Photos of Mabel Bailey, 4
Photos of Edward Bailey, 5
Pg. 2
Photos of Edward Bailey, 1
Photos of Mabel and Edward, 3
Cats
Cat Photos, 10
Strangers, 6
Pg. 3
Strangers, 1
Documents, 4
Unidentified roads and places, 14
Unidentified Cities and Buildings, 7
Pg. 4
Unidentified Cities and Buildings, 9
Unidentified Boats, 2
Foggy Day, 5
Rock Shore, 3
3 Men on a Street
Pg. 5
Pottery, Statues, and Shrines, 20
Pg. 6
Pottery, Statues, and Shrines, 10
Airplanes, 7
Light House, 1
Silo, 2
Pg. 7
Railroads, 11
Bat Deck, 6
Men Sitting Around Near Fancy Chairs, 3
Pg. 8
Men Sitting Around Near Fancy Chairs, 1
Important Chinese Men, 14
Water Ruins, 4
People in a Line, 1
Pg. 9
Unknown Building, 7
Dinner Party, 5
Unknown Images, 2
Strangers, 6
Pg. 10
Strangers, 7
Pg. 11
Train Trip, 20
Pg. 12
Train Trip, 3
Photo Reels
Pg. 1
Ship Dock
Ship Dock
Aboard a Ship
Train Racks
Picture of the Shore
Pg. 2
Mountains
Ship Dock
Shore Line
Party
Hillside
Ship Dock
Pretty House and Coastline
Pg. 3
Aboard a Train
Aboard a Boat
Mountains
Mountains and Coastline
Boats and Clouds
Boats
Family Photos (Unidentified Family)
Pg. 4
Train
Train Tracks
Mountains
Train Tracks over the Coastline
Back Sleeve
Two Men Carroll Bailey?
Same Men
Coast Line
Mountains
Young Man Bailey?
Military
Train Tracks
Post Card
H- 102 Royal Hawaiian Hotel – Honolulu: May 13th, 1948
Park Hotel, Madison, Wisconsin State Capital: July 14th, 1937
V- 503 Baileys Colo from Lookout: July 11th, 1927
Baehr Den, 724 Washington St, Shelbyville, KY: August 1, 1943
*The Island Park and Pinnacle, Richford, VT.: 1911?
Long Fellow’s Wayside Inn, Sudbury, Massachusetts: September 17th, 1914
Shepfield, University: Date Unknown
Untitled post card with nice home (2 copies)
St. Louis (resort): July 5th, 1941
Baehr Home: August 28th, 1928
Unknown Place: July 19th, 1942
Bay Valley Home: July 27th, 1937
Highway #1 Leading to Noel, Missouri: NOEL – Ozark Photo Shop: Undated
The Martinique – Sixteenth Street at M. Washington D.C. – Five Blocks From the White House: August 10th, 1941
*Officer Reserve Camp Ft. Roots: The House with the X is Where Carroll Bailey Stayed: Undated
“Over the Top” – Fort Riley, Kansas: Undated
“Luxury “DAYLIGHT” gives itself a novel twist on famous Horseshoe curve near San Luis Obisport”: Undated”
“DAYLIGHT” Stream line Train Southern Pacific Co.: Undated
Rainbow Lake, Roaring River, Cassville, Missouri: Undated
Photography – Let Weaver Make Your VIEWS, GROUPS, and POSTCARDS and do your KODAK FINISHING. WM. WEAVER, commercial photographer.
Maniton Scenic Incline to Mt. Maniton Park. Altitude 9500 feet: July 31st, 1912
M.V. Taylor’s Bungalow, Elm Ave., Richford, VT.: Undated
3 Woman. Sunday, April 25th: Undated but big note on back
Family Photograph: Undated
“This is me with the beer” A Genuine Kromekolor Comic Card: Colorado Springs, Colorado: May 19th, 1954
Bailey Photo: Service Studio: 303 North Hill Street, Oceanside, California: December 14th, 1945
St. Louis: July 20th, 1939
Concrete Bridge, Monete Ne, Near Rogers, Ark: Undated
Ozark Spring Tavern, Noel, Missouri. Noel-Ozark Photo Shop: Undated
Dorothy Sellars Easter Party
2 post cards of Dorothy Sellars in a Barn
Part’ Of M.S.M. Campus. Rolla, Missouri – November 7th. To Flora, Mabel Baileys Mom.
7 Cards from Asia
Business Cards
James R. Thomsen
Mrs. L. F. Leach
M.B. Peixoto De Magalhaes
Mrs. George W. Porter
Col. Samual K. Szeto
Edward C. Bailey, Colonel U.S. Army
Francis C. T. Wang
Wang Yao-Wu
E Wen Chai – Specializing In Pearls, Diamonds, Green Jades, and Other Genuine.
W. Zaech
Ram Shou Yu – Marine Engineer
How Gen Wu – Managing Director
C. C. Ch’iao – Vice Manager of Central Bank
Mr. Goa Chu – S
2 Chinese Character cards
Cabinet Cards
Josiah Terrell
Aunt Samantha Caswell
Male Stranger with Black Hair
Black haired Woman in Fancy Dress
Military Squad Posing
Metal Photo With Woman on it
Collection Inventory, Boxes 13-15
Box 13
Amy Bailey Immigration Folder
Application for Marriage – 1957
Federal Bureau of Investigation United States Department of Justice Washington 25, D. C.: Applicant – June 22, 1957
United States Department of Justice Immigration and Naturalization: Notice of Approval of a Visa Petition – September 10, 1957
The Foreign Service of The United States of America: Petition Approval for Nonquota Immigrant Visa Permit. – October 3, 1957
Permanent Domicile: Form – October 15, 1957
Headquarters 500Th Military Intelligence Group APO 613: Full Translation of Certified Extract Copy of Family Register re KODA Emiko – December 9, 1957
Headquarters 500th Military Intelligence Group APO 613: Full Translation of Certified Extract Copy of Family Register re KODA Emiko. – December 9, 1957
Special Naturalization Benefits for Veterans, Wives and Husbands of United States Citizens, and Children of United States Citizens. – Printed 1958
Veterans of Foreign Wars Citizenship School – January 4, 1958
The American National Red Cross Certificate: Amy Bailey – March 26, 1958
DriClad Storm Coat
To All Immigrants to the United States
Amy Bailey Identification Photographs
International Certificates of Vaccination as Approved By The World Health Organization – May 13, 1958
Headquarters US Army Command Reconnaissance Activities Pacific Command (Field) Field Projects Branch APO 500: Full Translation of Certified Extract Copy of Family Register re Koda Emiko – October 31, 1958
Headquarters US Army Command Reconnaissance Activities Pacific Command Field Projects Branch APO 500: Full Translation of Certified Extract Copy of Family Register re KODA Emiko. – October 31, 1958
Application to File Petition For Naturalization – December 8, 1961
McReynolds. Flanigan & Flanigan (Interrogatories Pertaining to Petition) – December 15, 1961
Register of Deeds: County of Dane: Madison, Wisconsin: Request for Information on Maude and Phillip Emmons – December 20, 1961
Letter To Amy & Carroll: From Mabel – December 29, 1961
AFFIDAVIT: Under Question of my Application for a Petition for Naturalization as to the American Citizenship of my Mother – January, 1962 (2 copies)
AFFIDAVIT: Regarding Her Name Translation – January, 1962 (2 copies)
Possible Last Letter To Amy From the Mother (Maude Koda) – February 26, 1962
United States Department of Justice: Immigration and Naturalization Service – April 12, 1962
The American National Red Cross: Service Chevron Notice – April 25, 1962
Carroll Bailey - Will and Testament: July 28th, 1949
France Wigg – Will and Testament: February 10th, 1925
Bailey Family Income Documents
Carroll S Bailey – Tax Withholding: 1957
Carroll S Bailey – Fort Bragg Military Federal Credit Union, Fort Bragg, N.C. – Statement of Account
Mr. Bailey Jeweler Appraisal Certificate
Carroll S Bailey – Bill of Sale – Motor Vehicle (Kaiser 1948, four door sedan, Black)
Carol(spelled wrong) S Bailey – Magistrate Court of Jasper County, Missouri
Osaka City Kita Seiryoku Ship Carpenter Call 18(Translation)
Maruyama Radio Co., Ltd.
Distribution Certificate(Translation)
Carroll S Bailey: Acknowledgment of Remittance
Letter from District Director: Regarding Internal Revenue
United States Postal Money Order: Purchaser’s Receipt – April 19, 1956 (2 copies)
US Army Hospital, Osaka, APO 54: Patient Emy Eileen Koda – February 15, 1957
Carroll S Bailey – Receipt
Carroll S Bailey – Personal Data Sheet
Carroll S Bailey – Travel Voucher Memorandum
Carroll S Bailey – Voucher for Reimbursement for Travel
Carroll S Bailey – Mortgage Slips
Carroll S Bailey – Compulsory Automobile Liability Insurance Certificate
Carroll S Bailey – Liability Insurance Certificate
Carroll S Bailey – Great American Insurance Company: New York - Automobile Insurance Application
No. 1 Return Office of the General Administration of Highways (China)
