Search library databases that contain Criminal Justice specific information

Criminal Justice This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive database supporting research on crime, its causes and impacts, legal and social implications, as well as litigation and crime trends. As well as U.S. and international scholarly journals, it includes correctional and law enforcement trade publications, crime reports, crime blogs and other material relevant for researchers or those preparing for careers in criminal justice, law enforcement and related fields.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information in a variety of formats including newspapers.

Search more databases that cover Criminal Justice and related subjects

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Featuring thousands of full-text journals covering information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology, and many other fields.
Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Single themed weekly reports providing an overview, background and chronology of the issue along with an assessment of the current situation, tables, maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key sources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A growing digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering more than 50 disciplines primarily in the Arts & Sciences, Life Sciences and Business. Coverage begins at the first volume and issue of the journal ever published, and extends up to a publication date usually set in the past three to five years.
MasterFILE Complete This link opens in a new window
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags. This database is updated daily via EBSCOhost.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Searchable full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles covering general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Over five million interdisciplinary bibliographic records and dissertations in psychology, behavioral sciences, and social sciences.
SocIndex with Fulltext This link opens in a new window
Information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study including all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.

Historical Newspapers: The New York Times
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times.

Subscription Databases with Full Text Current Newspapers

These databases are available only to current MSSU students, faculty and staff from off-campus. Community members and others not affiliated with the university must be in the library to access the materials available via these databases.

Access World News Research Collection This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
International Newsstream This link opens in a new window
Provides the most recent news content outside of the US and Canada, with archives which stretch back decades featuring 660 of the world's top newspapers, newswires, and news sites in active full-text format
News Stream This link opens in a new window
Includes national and leading regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal- Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information in a variety of formats including newspapers.

Full Search Video Guide

Interlibrary Loan Request for Articles

If you need an article to which Spiva Library does not have full-text access, we can request a copy from another library using a service called InterLibrary Loan.

This service is available to all MSSU students, faculty, alumni, staff and community card holders.

InterLibrary Loan Policy

*a nominal service fee may
apply in some cases*

Database Search Tips

Use Boolean Logic (AND, OR, NOT) to combine search concepts.

TOO FEW hits: OR to add synonyms; individual key words, NOT whole phrases; drop concept(s) with AND; truncate; consider other databases.

TOO MANY hits: AND another concept into search; use other available limiters in the database.

Truncation symbols (?, *, !, +) will provide variant spelling after the root word.

A wildcard (?, *) is a character that may be used in a search term to represent one or more other characters.

Do an advanced search and take advantage of the fields provided.

Use the subject headings/descriptors to find additional citations on your topic. If that does not work, use the keyword search.

You can also use limits (e.g., publication year, language, words in the title, etc.) to narrow your retrieval.

Set up an auto alert/RSS feed to monitor the research.

Need Help?

Ask A Librarian

In-Person:

Stop by any service desk in the library during the library's hours. Daily library hours can be found on the library homepage.

By Phone:

417-625-9362

Text us! 417-720-2079

By Email:

mssulibrary@mssu.edu

A Librarian will attempt to respond to emails within 24-48 business hours.

Chat with Us:

On Facebook:

The George A. Spiva Library offers help, via our Facebook Fan Page, to all fans of the page.

A Librarian will attempt to respond to Facebook questions and suggestions within 48 business hours.

Google Scholar

Set Preferences to link to full-text available @ MSSU

CJ 225 - Patrol Procedures - Dr. Wilson

Full Search