Access thousands of full-text journals covering information spanning a broad range of important areas of academic study including: anthropology, biology, chemistry, engineering, law, mathematics, multicultural studies, music, physics, psychology, women's studies and many other fields.
A large digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources covering more than 50 disciplines primarily in the Arts & Sciences, Life Sciences, and Business. Coverage begins at the first issue of the journal and extends up to a publication date usually set in the past three to five years.
Covering more than 160 subjects areas, this database includes scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
A sub-database of ProQuest Central; offers indexing and full text for hundreds of academic journals, providing coverage across a wide range of social science disciplines including anthropology, criminology, economics, education, political science, psychology, social work and sociology.
Provides information encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study including all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
A sub-database of ProQuest Central, this database covers the international literature of sociology and social work, including social policy, social services, anthropology, gender studies, gerontology, and population studies.
If you need an article to which Spiva Library does not have full-text access, we can request a copy from another library using a service called InterLibrary Loan.
This service is available to all MSSU students, faculty, alumni, staff and community card holders.
*a nominal service fee may
apply in some cases*
|
CHARACTERISTICS |
SCHOLARLY/PEER REVIEWED JOURNALS |
GENERAL MAGAZINES |
|
How to tell the difference between these two types of periodicals: |
|
|
|
Content |
Reports on original research; in-depth analysis of topics; statistical information; academic level book reviews; refereed or peer-reviewed |
Current events and news; hot topics; brief, factual information; interviews |
|
Length |
Longer articles providing in-depth analysis of topics |
|
|
Authorship |
Author usually an expert or specialist in the field; name and credentials always provided - researchers, academics, professors, scholars |
Author usually a staff writer or a journalist; name and credentials often not provided |
|
Language |
Academic level writing & vocabulary; specialized language of the discipline; can be highly technical |
Non-technical vocabulary; often simple language |
|
Format/Structure |
Articles usually more structured; may include these sections: abstract, literature review, methodology, results, conclusion, bibliography |
Articles do not necessarily follow a specific format or structure |
|
Editors |
Editors/reviewers are experts in the same field as author(s); many participate in peer-review process prior to publication; rigorous publication standards; articles checked for content, format and style |
Editors not academic experts in subject field of article; article topics often assigned or contracted; articles usually only edited for style and format |
|
Publishers |
Professional organizations; Universities, research institutes and scholarly presses |
Commercial/trade publishers; corporate ownership |
|
Special Features |
Illustrations that support the text, such as tables of statistics, graphs, maps, or photographs |
Illustrations with glossy or color photographs, usually for advertising purposes |
|
Credits |
A bibliography (works cited) and/or footnotes are always provided to document research thoroughly |
A bibliography (works cited) is usually not provided; names of reports or references may be mentioned in the text; sources, when used, are rarely cited in full |
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.
