Research and Course Guides: The Year You Were Born: Finding Newspaper Articles

Newspapers and other News Resources LibGuide

This guide provides access to current and historic newspapers found in library subscription databases and links to other news resources online.

Print newspapers are available in the library on the display shelf closest to the Reference desk.

Newspaper Article Databases

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Contains local, regional, national, and international newspapers including The Joplin Globe, The Kansas City Star, USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor, The Guardian, and The Times of India. Many newspapers have decades of access as well as current news.

New York Times Newspaper (1851-2011)
This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. The Historical New York Times with Index (1851-1993) provides search capability using subject terms and topics for focused and targeted results in combination with searchable full text, full page, and article-level images from the Historical New York Times (1851-2007)
The Kansas City Star - Date Range: (1/1/1991 - Current)
The Kansas City Star is the major daily newspaper serving the Kansas City metropolitan area. The Star was founded in 1880 by William Rockhill Nelson and is the winner of eight Pulitzer Prizes.
St. Louis Post-Dispatch - Date Range: (1/1/1988 - Current)
The St. Louis Post-Dispatch covers local, national and international news for the St. Louis Area, with bureaus in Washington, D.C., Jefferson City, MO and Springfield, IL. Full coverage of state and national news is offered with an emphasis on business and the economy.

How can I find New York Times articles for the day I was born?

1. Go to: Historical Newspapers: The New York Times with Index Database

2. Select the Publications tab

3. Select the title of the newspapers listed that corresponds to the date range in which your birthday falls. For most people this will be option #3.

4. On the resulting Publication page, find the Browse specific issues area.

5. Click on the + sign next to the decade in which you were born to see all years of that decade. Then click on the + sign next to your birth year and month. Finally click on the tab listing your exact birth date (mon/day/year).

The articles are displayed alphabetically by title starting with page one of the newspaper.

6. Clicking on the article title or Full text - PDF link will allow you to see a high resolution image of that specific article only.

7. On the resulting page, you have the option to click on to see a scan of the entire page of the newspaper as it was published on that day.

"8 East-West Nations to Set Up Center on Technology Problems." New York Times (1923-Current file): 1. ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times (1851-2007) with Index (1851-1993). Oct 14 1971. Web. 14 Oct. 2011 <http://search.proquest.com/docview/119206444?accountid=12570>.