Skip to main content

Robert Smith Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#11, Robert Smith Collection. This collection includes maps, periodicals, pamphlets, postcards, and a syllabus from a World War I class; pamphlets and periodicals about Japan, China and Korea from the 1930s-1950s.

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#11

Title: 
Robert Smith Collection

Dates: 
1919-1994


Collection Size: 
1 Box

Biographical History

From obituary:

Dr. Robert E. Smith, age 56, of 2630 Ohio Avenue in Joplin, Missouri, passed away at 10:55 a.m. Thursday February 24, 1994 at St. John’s Regional Medical Center, from injuries he sustained in an automobile accident earlier that day.

Born September 28, 1937 in Brooklyn, New York, he was the son of Robert E. Smith and Lillian Cusick Smith. He had lived in Joplin since 1971, moving from Stillwater, Oklahoma. He graduated from high school at Hartwick, New York, attended Pennsylvania State University and received his Bachelor of Science degree from Northwest Missouri State University at Maryville, Missouri. He received his Masters and Doctorate degrees from Oklahoma State University at Stillwater. Since 1971 he was a professor of History at Missouri Southern State College. He taught Indian and Western History and was the author of several Indian historical articles. He edited the books The Keeper of the Council Fires and Oklahoma’s Forgotten Indians.

Dr. Smith was a member of St. Mary’s Catholic Church. He was an honorary member of the Wyandotte Indian Tribe and a former member of the Historical Preservation Committee of the City of Joplin.

On August 21, 1965 he married Anna L. Huber at Easton, Missouri. He had a son, Rob Smith of Junction City, Kansas; a daughter, Theresa Whittington of Springfield, Missouri; and one granddaughter.

Scope and Content

This collection includes maps, periodicals, pamphlets, postcards, and a syllabus from a World War I class. Most of the collection is pamphlets and periodicals about Japan, China and Korea from the 1930s-1950s. There is also a copy of a photograph of Civil War veterans of the republic taken at Purdy, Missouri [ca.1890].

Creator(s)

Robert E. Smith

Acquisition Information

Donated by Robert Smith in 1981. 

Preview the Collection

Collection Inventory

  • Folder 1
    • “In Memory” program and information about Robert E. Smith
    • “Japan & Around the World – Spalding” card
    • Newspaper clipping of comic strips
    • “Viet-nam” postcard with photographs
    • “Provisional Constitution of the Republic of China adopted by the National People’s Convention at Nanking on May 12, 1931.” Paper (9 pages)
    • “Manners & Customs of the Japanese in the 19th Cent.” card
    • 1919 – “Syllabus of the World War” book with written notes
    • 1974 – “Keeper of the Council Fire” booklet
    • Aug. 13, 1987 – Postcard to Dr. Robert Smith from D. Sanders
    • March 12, 1991 – thank you note from Robert Smith’s class to Chief Bearskin
    • June 24, 1993 – Postcard to Dr. Robert Smith
    • July 2, 1993 – postcard to Dr. Robert Smith
    • Feb. 26, 1994 – “A Celebration of Life for Dr. Robert E. Smith” program
  • Folder 2
    • “Map of Shanghai: The Red Triangle Points the Way” map
    • “Navy ‘Y’ Bulletin” poster
    • June 28, 1936 – “Grand Theater: Fourth Marines Program” program
  • Folder 3
    • “SMS’ Mission ‘Blue Smoke and Mirrors” newspaper clipping photocopy
    • “EchoHawk” paper
    • “Facts About St. Stephens Indian Mission” pamphlet
    • Nov. 25, 1977 – “The Indian Giver” paper (2 pages)
    • April 6, 1988 – The Chronicles of Higher Education Volume 34, No. 30, “In a Barren Land, a Tribal College Flourishes” newspaper article
    • Autumn 1988 – The John F. Kennedy Library Newsletter” newsletter
    • April – June 1994 – “STD/HIV Newsletter” paper
    • June 1994 – “HIV/AIDS Statistics” paper (3 pages)
    • Aug. 22, 1994 – “EchoHawk for Governor” letter to friend from Larry EchoHawk
  • Folder 4
    • “Central Europe: Scale 1:2,000,000” map
    • March 1951 – “National Geographic: Asia” map
    • June 1952 – “National Geographic: Southwest Asia: India, Pakistan, and Northeast Africa” map
    • June 1954 – “National Geographic: A Map of California with Descriptive Notes” map
    • June 1955 – “National Geographic: A Map of New England with Descriptive Notes” map
    • Feb. 1981 – “National Geographic: West Indies and Central America” map
  • Folder 5 – Japan
    • “Salmon Industry of the Pacific Coast” booklet
    • “The Hiinokawa Plain” booklet
    • 1932 – “Sad Island” booklet
    • Oct. 1934 – Economic Geography Vol. 10 No. 4, “Agricultural Regions of Asia Part VII: The Japanese Empire” booklet
    • Dec. 1934 – “The Cities of Japan: Notes on Distribution and Inherited Forms” booklet
    • Oct. 1952 – Focus Vol. III No. 2, “Japan” article
    • Nov. 4, 1958 – “Passport of Japan” passport
  • Folder 6 – Korea
    • “A Glimpse of Korea” booklet
    • “Glimpses of Korea” booklet
    • Dec. 12, 1977 – “Korea: Asia’s New Economic Power” magazine
  • Folder 7 – Royal Ontario Museum
    • 1933 – “Guide to the Galleries of the Royal Ontario Museum” booklet
    • Jan. 1937 – “Royal Ontario Museum of Archeology: Outline Guide to the East Asiatic Section” booklet
  • Loose in Box
    • “Peiping: China’s Ancient Capital is Rich in Art Treasure” article (6 pages)
    • “Talks on China” booklet
    • Jan. 1922 – The New York Times Co. Vol. XV No. 4 “Current History” booklet
    • 1934 – “Conflicts of Policy in the Far East” booklet
    • Sept. 1936 – “Fortune: Volume XIV No. III” book

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.