Skip to main content

Theodore W. Osterloh Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#9, Theodore W. Osterloh Collection

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#9

Title: 
Theodore W. Osterloh Collection

Dates: 
1895-1972


Collection Size: 
1 Box

Biographical History

Theodore W. Osterloh (b.1872-d.1964) was born in Cape Girardeau, Missouri and moved to Joplin, Missouri in the 1890s. He was the owner of the Osterloh Book Store in Joplin, Missouri from 1896 through 1949. After selling the bookstore he became president of the Joplin Home Savings and Loan Company.

Theodore W. Osterloh married his first wife, Amanda Nussbaum in 1900. They had three children, Ralph Osterloh, Robert Osterloh and Mary Margaret “Tudy” Aiton. After Amanda’s death in 1950, Theodore W. Osterloh married his second wife, Ruth Bittick West in 1955. They remained married until Theodore W. Osterloh’s death in 1964.

Scope and Content

Letters and correspondence of the Osterloh family. Mr. Theodore W. Osterloh (b.1872-d.1964) was a Joplin businessman, who ran the Osterloh Bookstore in downtown Joplin. 1897s-1970s.

Creator(s)

Theodore W. Osterloh

Mary Margaret “Tudy” Aiten

Ralph Osterloh

George Friedman

Lyle Phillips, Christine Phillips

Acquisition Information

Donated by George Greenlee in 1980.

Preview the Collection

Letter from George Friedman to Amanda Nussbaum Osterloh, January 25, 1899

Letter from George Friedman to Amanda Nussbaum Osterloh, January 25, 1899

Letter from Lyle and Christine Phillips, 1962

Collection Inventory

Box 1

  • Folder 1:  Letters to and from Mrs. Mary Margaret “Tudy” Aiton and Clyde Welch, 1955-1958
  • Folder 2:  Letters and postcards to Ruth Bittick West Osterloh, 1952-1972
  • Folder 3:  Letters to Amanda Nussbaum Osterloh (b.1877-d.1950), Theodore W. Osterloh’s first wife, 1897-1900
  • Folder 4:  Letters to Theodore W. Osterloh, 1895-1957
  • Folder 5: Letters to and from Ralph Osterloh, 1914, 1925
  • Folder 6: Miscellaneous postcards and papers

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.