Skip to main content

Library Collection List: Home

Library Collection List

A collection is a group of sources and similar resources accessible to students and other patrons for referencing and for them to borrow.
Browse our Archives and Special Collections

Located on the first floor of George A. Spiva Library at Missouri Southern State University, the University Archives/Special Collection Department collects, arranges, preserves, and makes accessible the institutional history of Missouri Southern State University, from its beginnings as Joplin Junior College through today. This department also maintains special collections to preserve various local history collections. These special collections include the Daniel Stewart Collection, which contains over 1000 mining maps along with various other mining records, and the collections of Congressman Gene Taylor and Joplin Junior College alumni Arrell Gibson in addition to rare book collections, including a collection of books relating to local history.
Audiobooks can be found on the third floor of the library. The Main Circulation Desk is nearby, so if you have any questions, please feel free to ask our friendly staff to assist you.
Here is a list of audiobooks shelved on that floor. You can check them out using either your Lion Card or your photo ID and S#. For information about our loan periods for audiobooks, please view our circulation policy page.

There are also a number of titles available online for students through Mobius Overdrive E-book and Audio Book Collection.
Browse our Award-Winning Books

Award-winning books include the annual ALA award books (e.g. ALA Notable Fiction/Nonfiction/Poetry), National Book Award (e.g. fiction/nonfiction/autobiography), National Book Critics Circle Award, etc. All of these books are shelved in the main collection.
Browse our Contemporary Collection

Contemporary Collection is updated monthly and has any new titles from a variety of collections on the third floor, that is, Collaborative Collections, Feature Films, Nonfiction DVDs, Graphic Novels, IEP book shelf, International Semester shelf, New bookshelf, Grant Book shelf, and Recreational Reading collection.



Curriculum Kits can be found on the fourth floor of the library. The Audio Visual Center/Government Documents desk is also located on this floor and is staffed most hours the library is open. The friendly staff at this help desk will be happy to assist anyone with locating items from this collection as well as items from any of the other collections located on the fourth floor. Curriculum kits are for MSSU patron checkout only.The checkout period is for 1 week. Kits can be renewed if the item is not wanted by another patron. These Items are only available to MSSU students, faculty, and staff. However, the checkout period depends on the materials. Books can be checked out 7 days, DVDs are 14 days, and kits are 28 days.
Browse our Feature Films

Located across from the Reference desk on the third floor of the library, Spiva Library houses nearly 700 full length feature films for students and patrons to check out. Missouri Southern students, faculty and staff may borrow up to five videos at a time for a period of seven days. They may be renewed for one additional time period if no one has requested the item.
They are requestable to MOBIUS patrons, and the checkout period is at least 10 days.
Browse our Foreign Language Materials

Spiva Library has materials in a variety of languages, with an emphasis on French, German and Spanish.
Foundation Directory Online

Grants to Individuals Online

Foundation maps

A key initiative of the Foundation Center is to reach under-resourced and underserved populations throughout the United States and in other locations around the globe, who are in need of useful information and training to become successful grantseekers. One of the ways they accomplish this goal is by designating new Cooperating Collection libraries in regions that have the ability to serve the nonprofit communities most in need of Foundation Center resources.
Browse our Federal Resources

Spiva Library is a selective depository for Federal publications for the Seventh Congressional District of Missouri. The mission of Government Documents staff is to provide quality reference service as well as free and easy access to government information in all forms, both to our own students, faculty and staff and to the constituents of the Seventh Congressional District of Missouri. All patrons are encouraged to seek help at the fourth floor help desk with any questions they may have concerning government documents.

Materials come in a variety of formats, such as print materials( books, journals, pamphlets, maps) microfiches, and online resources.
Browse our Honor Theses

In their senior year, students in the Honors Program produce original research or a creative project in their field of study, under the guidance of a professional faculty mentor. The Spiva Library made an agreement in 2010 with MSSU's Honors Program to make seniors' theses available online through the SWAN catalog.
Browse our Juvenile & Young Adult Books

Popular fiction for children of all ages, including a section of award winning books can be found on the fourth floor of the library. The Audio Visual Center/Government Documents desk is also located on this floor and is staffed most hours the library is open. The friendly staff at this help desk will be happy to assist anyone with locating these titles as well as items from any of the other collections located on the fourth floor.
Browse our Legal Information

The print law collection located on the 4th floor of the library contains select volumes of the United States Code, Supreme Court Reporter, Federal Reporter, Missouri Statutes, Shepard's Acts and Cases and Shepard's Missouri Citations. Spiva's print law collection is not comprehensive.

The law books themselves are non-circulating, but there are additional publications on standing order, such as West's Education Law Reporter, Vernon's Annotated Missouri Statutes, Vernon's Annotated Missouri rules, Missouri court rules, Code of ordinances city of Joplin, Missouri, ADA compliance guide.
Stacks of cabinets containing microfiches and microfilms are located on the fourth floor. This collection includes national and local journals and newspapers, such as, Wall Street Journal, USA Today, New York Times, Joplin Globe, Neosho Daily News, and etc., as well ERIC microfiches issued by the Educational Resources Information Center.
Browse our Native American Collection

This collection represents the library's resources relating to Native Americans and is located on the 4th floor. Spiva library has been designated as a selective fedral depository library for the State of Missouri to hold federal publications from Congressional Comittees dealing with Native American affairs.


 
Browse by New Titles By Discipline

Each month Spiva Library adds new materials to its collection.

 

Spiva Library has a wide assortment of current and historical newspapers both electronically and physically. You can click here to find a specific category of newspaper or you can search all or our newspapers below.
 
Browse our Non-Fiction DVDs

Our non-fiction DVDs are located on the third floor across from the entrance and behind the graphic novels. The circulation information is the same as those for Feature Films. Missouri Southern students, faculty and staff may borrow up to five videos at a time for a period of seven days. They may be renewed for one additional time period if no one has requested the item. They are requestable to MOBIUS patrons, and the checkout period is at least 10 days.
Browse E-book and Audio Book Collection

A collection contributed to and shared by participating MO libraries, containing over 7000 e-books and 3000 audiobooks available for students.
Browse our Reference Collection

Reference sources such as dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, atlases, etc. are research tools that can help you with your paper or project. Reference sources provide answers to specific questions, such as brief facts, statistics, and technical instructions; provide background information; or direct you to additional information sources.Reference materials cen not be checked out of the library.
Browse our Themed Books.

This collection is a joint effort between the Institute of International Studies and the library. The purpose of this collection is to provide resources related to the selected country or region. Each fall, a particular country or region of the world is selected to become the focus of intensive study for the Missouri Southern Campus. Each summer preceeding the 'themed semester' library staff removes select books related to that theme from our main collection and places them on the International Semester shelf located to the left of the fireplace on the third floor of the library. Books that the library or other departments on campus have purchased to support the theme semester emphasis are also placed on this shelf.
Browse our Streamable Videos

Spiva Library has access to the internet. As such, streaming educational videos is possible on campus. Subject areas include: social studies, literature, fine arts, sciences, political science, medicine, history, fine arts, economics, english, and philosophy.

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.