Florence Woodward Collection: Home

Collection Number: SC#36

Title: 
Florence Woodward Collection

Dates: 
1936-1950

Collection Size: 
1 Folder

Florence Woodward – born September 9, 1885 and death January 9, 1965

Lived in Golden City, Missouri

The correspondence and papers written to Florence Woodward, an antiques and rare books dealer in Golden City, Missouri, from friends and family. Includes an expenditure journal from 1930 to an unknown date. The collection also includes papers on McGuffey History. Alexander and William McGuffey were the authors of the McGuffey school readers from 1930 to 1949.

Florence Woodward

Leona Pearl – Author of Merry Christmas letter

John Lewis Woodward

• “Dear Buddy” Letter
• Letter- from Birtha to Bird
• McGuffey History papers
• Letter written in blue pencil – 4 pages
• Railway Express Agency paper – Letter from Pearle
• Letter from Pearle to Florence (1 page)
• Letter from Mary to Bud
• “Religious Books” papers
• Letter to Florence Woodward
• Letter from Fletcher Hodges Jr.
• June 28^th 1935 – Letter from Bud Woodward
• Dec. – Postcard from Pearle to Florence Woodward
• 1930 to unknown date – Journal
• May 31, 1930 – Letter to Florence Woodward
• June 2, 1930 – Letter from POWNER’S to Florence Woodward
• June 9, 1930 – Letter from F.P. Pitzer to Florence Woodward
• March 11, 1931 – Letter to Woodward
• January 5, 1932 – Letter to John Lewis Woodward “Bud” from Claire on Terry Dairy Company of Little Rock, Arkansas letterhead
• Feb. 1932 – Envelope to Mr. Bud Woodward
• Dec. 19, 1932 – Postcard to Bud Woodward
• Dec. 21, 1932 – Letter to Woodward
• Sept. 20, 1933 – Letter from Ruth to Bud Woodward
• Oct. 1934 – Letter from Pearle to Woodward
• July 13, 1936 – Letter from Morris Sanford to Florence Woodward
• Sept. 1936 - Letter to Mr. & Mrs. J.E. Woodward
  • Includes two photographs
• Dec. 16, 1936 – Envelope from Bill to Florence Woodward
• Jan. 15, 1937 – Letter from Schreiner Hay Company to Florence Woodward
• Jan. 21, 1937 – Letter from John Wilson Townsend to Woodward
• Feb. 11, 1937 – Letter from FH Sweet to Woodward
• May 8, 1937 – Letter from Gardner to Florence Woodward
• March 1939 - Postcard from Pearl to Florence Woodward
• May 16, 1939 – Letter from Woodward
• 1943 - Envelope to Woodward
• 1943 - Illustration “These Women”
• 1944 – “Chronicles of Stephen Foster’s Family”
• March 1944 – Postcard “Texas Jurisprudence” to Florence Woodward
• March 1944 – “The Literature on Stephen Foster”
• March 6, 1944 – Letter from Joel C. Loomis to Florence Woodward
• Nov. 24, 1944 - Letter from Loomis to Florence Woodward
• Dec 1944 – Postcard from L. Johnson Books to Florence Woodward
• July 18, 1945 – Postcard from Claude to Florence Woodward
• Dec. 30, 1945 – Letter from Edna B. to Florence Woodward
• June 28, 1949 – Postcard to Florence Woodward
• July, 1949 - Letter from Pearle to Florence Woodward (2 pages)
• Aug. 15, 1949 – Letter to John Buddy Woodward
• 1950 -“Merry Christmas” Letter – from Leona Pearl to Florence