Skip to main content

Eugene Hayes Collection: Home

Special Collections, SC#45, Eugene Hayes Collection. Newspaper clippings from 1939-1940, about Native American artifact finds and Native American history.

Collection Information

Collection Number: SC#45

Title: 
Eugene Hayes Collection

Dates: 
1938-1940


Collection Size: 
1 Folder

Scope and Content

Newspaper clippings from 1939-1940, about Native American artifact finds and Native American history.

Creator(s)

Joplin Globe

Kansas City Star

Kansas City Times

Acquisition Information

Donated by Eugene Hayes in 1986.

Preview the Collection

"Last Indian Massacre in Kansas Recalled Vividly By A Witness," The Kansas City Times, May 8, 1939

Collection Inventory

  • Undated – “Trace of Ancient Indians”
  • Undated – “A Find May Be Legendary Council Chamber of the Navajo Tribal Gods”
  • Undated – “Rich Pageant of Kansas City’s Past has been Preserved by Collectors”
  • August 16 – The Kansas City Times, “Range Rider With Bow and Arrow Set the Pace for American Cowboy”
  • August 21, 1938 – The Kansas City Star, “Modern Indian Serves His People as Artist”
  • May 5, 1939 – The Kansas City Star, “Indian Medicine Lore”
  • May 8, 1939 – The Kansas City Times, “Last Indian Massacre in Kansas Recalled vividly by a witness
  • Feb. 4, 1940 – The Joplin Globe, “Workers Unearthing Indian Relics Before Grand River Lake Is Formed

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.