By Checklist OptionsBy Content TypeBy Subject TermsBy Publication DateBy Library LocationBy Language
How does Summon compare to the SWAN library catalog?How does Summon compare to Google Scholar?What is in Summon? What is not in Summon?Does Summon search everything in that's in a specific research database (e.g. JSTOR, LexisNexis, MEDLINE, ERIC)?I can't find [an article, book, resource] in Summon. Where can I find it?I click a full-text article/ebook link and get "No results were found." How do I get to the full-text?When I do a search in Summon, I get many results. How to I refine my search to find exactly what I'm looking for?How do I tell if a journal is indexed by Summon?Will Summon change over time?How do I report problems/send feedback about Summon?How do I export citations from Summon to RefWorks?
This is the "What is Summon?" page of the "What is Summon?" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Last Updated: Oct 10, 2013 URL: http://libguides.mssu.edu/summon Print Guide RSS Updates

What is Summon? Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

What is Summon?

Summon provides a Google-like search experience, allowing researchers to use one search box to discover credible and reliable library content.

Summon product description from Serials Solutions

The Summon search box is front and center on the library homepage.  It searches through a massive collection of books, scholarly journals, newspaper articles, e-books, theses and dissertations, conference proceedings, and numerous academic databases.

It contains everything found in the traditional SWAN library catalog, plus much more online full-text content available from the Library.

Consider doing a Summon search when you might otherwise search Google Scholar, SWAN, or a research database. Summon is not intended to replace these other search tools, but we hope that it will be a valued addition to your research toolkit.

 

Summon Search Box

 

Why we got Summon AND General Search Demonstration

Uploaded to YouTube by on Apr 1, 2009

 

Summon's Search Parameters

Summon is a Serials Solutions software service licensed by George A. Spiva Library.

Participating Summon publishers

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip