Research and Course Guides: Missouri Southern Music Department Collection: Home

Collection Information

Collection Number: AC#180

Title:
Missouri Southern Music Department Collection

Dates:
1952-2013

Collection Size:
1 Box

Scope and Content

Papers from the Music department from 1952 to 2013, including programs from individual recitals, programs and promotional material from the Choral Society and Symphony Orchestra, programs and “Allegro” newsletter from the Suzuki Program and programs from the President’s Gala Concert. This collection also includes a video recording of the 1987 "They Made a Constitution!" musical drama performance.

Creator(s)

Missouri Southern Music Department

Acquisition Information

Donated by the Missouri Southern Music Department from 1996 through 2016.

Preview the Collection

Leon & Kemm Piano Recital, October 18, 1985

Clive Swansbourne Piano Concert, October 28, 1986

Suzuki Violin Academy, November 23, 1991

Make a Joyful Noise: Handel's Messiah, December 17, 1991

Liang & Zhu, the Butterfly Lovers, February 11, 1992

Madrigal Feast & Other Courtly Pleasures, March 22-25, 1995

An Evening of Romantic Dances, March 14, 2006

From Paris to the World, November 2-3, 2006

President's First Annual Gala Concert, October 23, 2008

Be A Maestro!, February 15, 2013

Preview the Collection

Paul Carlson, Kexi Liu

Choral Programs & Flyers

Choral Concert Programs 1988-2010,
Folder 1

March 2, 1988 – “Invitation Choral Festival” Program
May 5, 1988 – “Choral Spring Concert” Program
Dec. 13, 1988 – “Choral Christmas Concert” Program
March 2, 1989 – “Choral Post-Tour Concert” Program (2 copies)
Oct. 26, 1989 – “Fall Choral Concert” Program
Jan. 16, 1992 – “Concert Chorale in Concert” Program
Oct. 18, 1992 – “Artist Students in Vocal Concerts” Program
Nov. 12, 1992 – “Fall Choral Concert” Program
Nov. 4, 1993 - Concert Chorale and Southern Exposure” Program
May 10, 1994 – “Spring Choral Concert Featuring Concert Chorale, Southern Exposure, Southern Belles and Surround Sound” Program
Nov. 3, 1994 - Missouri Southern State College Fall Concert Featuring Concert Chorale, Schamber Choir, Southern Exposure, Southern Belles, Program
May 11, 1995 - Spring Concert, Concert Chorale, Chamber Choir, Southern Exposure, “A Touch of Magic”, Program
April 14, 1996 - Marguerite Carney presents Operatic Selections, Program
May 9, 1996 - Spring Choral Concert, Chamber Choir, Conert Chorale, Southern Exposure, Program
Oct. 22, 1996 – “Fall Choral concert” program
April 1, 1997 – “Marguerite Carney presents Selected Artist Students in Vocal Concert, Opera and Musical Theatre” Program
May 8, 1997 – “Spring Choral Concert” Program
Nov. 4, 1997 – “Fall Choral Concert” Program
Nov. 18, 1997 - “On Stage: Voice Majors in Recital” Program
May 7, 1998 – “Spring Choral Concert” Program
Nov. 3, 1998 – “Fall Choral Concert” Program
May 6, 1999 – “Spring Choral Concert” Program
Nov. 2, 1999 – “Fall Choral Concert” Program
April 4, 2000 – “Junior Voice Recital” Program
Nov. 9, 2000 – “Fall Choral Concert” Program
May 3, 2001 – “Spring Choral Concert” Program
May 4, 2010 - Spring Choral Concert, A Field of Gold” Program
Nov. 21, 2013 - “Can’t Live with ‘Em, Can’t Live without ‘Em” Program

Choral Society Programs, Flyers 1988-2012
Folder 2

“Concert Chorale Personnel” paper
Dec. 7 - “Love Came Down at Christmas” Program
Dec. 15&18, 1988 – “Messiah” Flyer
May 4, 1989 – “Choral Spring Concert” Program
May 5&8, 1989 – “Choral Society in Spring Concert” Program
July 20&21, 1989 – “Choral Society in Summer Pops Concert” Program
Oct. 26, 1989 – “Concert Chorale & Southern Exposure” program rough draft
Oct. 26, 1989 – “Fall Choral Concert” flyer
Oct. 26, 1989 – “Fall Choral Concert” program rough draft
Dec. 14, 1989 – “Choral Society in Christmas Concert” flyer
Dec. 14&17, 1989 – “Christmas Concert” program
May 8, 1990 – “Spring Choral Concert” program
Nov. 6, 1990 – “Fall Choral Concert” program
Dec. 11, 1990 – “Winter Choral Concert” program
Dec. 13&16, 1990 – “Choral Society Christmas Concert” program
May 7&17, 1992 – “Spring Concert” program
July 21&26, 1992 – “Summer Pops Concert” program
Dec. 17&20, 1992 – “Choral Society Christmas Concert” program
Feb. 4, 1993 – “Pops Choral Concert” program
May 11, 1993 – “Concert Chorale” program
May 13&16, 1993 – “Choral Society Spring Concert” program
July 29 & Aug. 1, 1993 – “Choral Society Summer Pops Concert” program
May 12&15, 1994 – “Choral Society Spring Concert” program
July 28&31, 1994 – “Choral Society Summer Pops Concert” program
Dec. 15&18, 1994 – “Choral Society Christmas Concert” program
May 18&21, 1995 – “Choral Society Spring Concert” program
July 27&30, 1995 – “Choral Society Summer Pops Concert” program
Dec. 14&17, 1995 – “Choral Society Christmas Concert” program
July 25&28, 1996 – “Choral Society Summer Pops Concert” program
Dec. 12&15, 1996 – “Choral Society Christmas Concert” program
May 15&18, 1997 – “Choral Society Spring Concert” program
July 31 & Aug. 3, 1997 – “Choral Society Summer Pops Concert” program
May 14&17, 1998 – “Choral Society Spring Concert” program
Dec. 17&20, 1998 – “Choral Society Christmas Concert” program
May 13&16, 1999 – “Choral Society Spring Concert” program
May 4, 2000 – “Spring Choral Concert” program
Dec. 14&17, 2000 – “Choral Society Christmas Concert” program
May 6&10, 2001 – “Choral Society Spring Concert” program
May 5&9, 2002 – “Choral Society Spring Concert” program
July 18&21, 2002 – “Choral Society Summer Pops Concert” program
Dec. 5&8, 2002 – “Choral Society Christmas Concert” program (2 copies)
May 4&8, 2003 – “Choral Society Spring Concert” program
July 24&27, 2003 – “Choral Society Summer Pops Concert” program
May 2&6, 2004 – “Choral Society Spring Concert” program
July 28&31, 2005 – “Choral Society Summer Pops Concert” program
Dec. 15&18, 2005 – “Choral Society Christmas Concert” program
May 7&11, 2006 – “Choral Society Spring Concert” program
July 27&30, 2006 – “Choral Society Summer Pops Concert” program
May 6&10, 2007 – “Choral Society Spring Concert” program
Dec. 14, 2008 – “Choral Society Christmas Concert” program (2 copies)
July 26, 2009 – “Choral Society Summer Pops Concert” program
Dec. 13, 2009 – “Choral Society Christmas Concert” program
July 31, 2011 – “Choral Society Summer Pops Concert” program
Dec. 11, 2011 – “Choral Society Christmas Concert” program
May 6, 2012 – “Choral Society Spring Concert” program
July 29, 2012 – “Choral Society Patriotic Concert” program
Dec. 9, 2012 – “Choral Society Christmas Concert” program

Concert Programs

Jazz Concert Programs 1993-2015 and Community Band Programs,
Folder 3

Dec. 11 – “Winter Jazz Concert” program
May 6, 1993 – “Spring Concert” program
Nov. 9, 1999 – “Southern Jazz Orchestra” program
April 18, 2000 – “Southern Jazz Orchestra” program
Nov. 14, 2000 – “Jazz: America’s Music” program
April 17, 2001 – “Southern Jazz Orchestra” program
Dec. 1, 2015 – “Southern Jazz Orchestra Swingin’ Holiday Show” program
Nov. 19, 1992 – “Community Band” program
April 8, 1993 – “Southwest Missouri Community Band” program
Nov. 18, 1993 – “The Southwest Missouri Community Band” program

Community Orchestra Concert Programs 1988-2001,
Folder 4

May 2, 1988 – “Community Orchestra Spring Concert” program
Dec. 5, 1988 – “Fall Concert” program
Dec. 4, 1989 – “Community Orchestra Fall Concert” program
May 7, 1990 – “Community Orchestra Spring Concert” program
Dec. 3, 1990 – “Community Orchestra Fall Concert” program
May 4, 1992 – “Community Orchestra Spring Concert” program
May 2, 1994 – “Community Orchestra Spring Concert” program
Dec. 5, 1994 – “Community Orchestra Fall Concert” program
May 8, 1995 – “Community Orchestra Spring Concert” program
Dec. 4, 1995 – “Community Orchestra Fall Concert” program
May 6, 1996 – “Community Orchestra Spring Concert” program
Dec. 9, 1996 – “Community Orchestra Fall Concert” program
May 5, 1997 – “Community Orchestra Spring Concert” program
Dec. 8, 1997 – “Community Orchestra Fall Concert” program
Dec. 7, 1998 – “Community Orchestra Fall Concert” program
May 3, 1999 – “Community Orchestra Spring Concert” program
May 1, 2000 – “Community Orchestra Spring Concert” program
April 30, 2001 – “Community Orchestra Spring Concert” program

Concerts & Recitals 1989 – 2002,
Folder 5

“Concerts & Recitals” flyer (2 copies)
1989 – “Spring 1989 – Concerts & Recitals” flyer
1990 – “Spring 1990 – Concerts & Recitals” flyer
1992 – “Spring 1992 – Concerts & Recitals” flyer
1992 – “Fall 1992 – Concerts & Recitals” flyer (2 copies)
1993 – “Spring 1993 – Concerts & Recitals” flyer
1993 – “Fall 1993 – “Concerts & Recitals” flyer
1994 – “Fall 1994 – Concerts & Recitals” flyer (2 copies)
1995 – “Spring 1995 – Concerts & Recitals”
1996 – “Spring 1996 – Concerts & Recitals” flyer
1996 – “Fall 1996 – Concerts & Recitals” flyer
1997 – “Spring 1997 – Concerts & Recitals” flyer
1997 – “Fall 1997 – Concerts & Recitals” flyer
1998 – “Spring 1998 – Concerts & Recitals” flyer
1998 – “Fall 1998 – Concerts & Recitals” flyer
1999 – “Spring 1999 – Concerts & Recitals” flyer
1999 – “Fall 1999 – Concerts & Recitals” flyer
2000 – “Spring 2000 – Concerts & Recitals” flyer (2 copies)
2000 – “Fall 2000 – Concerts & Recitals” flyer (2 copies)
2001 – “Spring 2001 – Concerts & Recitals” flyer
2001 – “Fall 2001 - Concerts & Recitals” flyer
2002 – “Spring 2002 Concert & Recitals” flyer

Faculty Recital Programs 1985-2003, Southern Trio 1988-1998, Chamber Music,
Folder 6

Oct. 18, 1985 – “Duo Pianists” program
May 3, 1988 – “Concert Series: Duo Pianists” program
Oct. 18, 1988 – “Faculty Recital: Maureen O’Boyle with Steven Edmund” program
March 21, 1989 – “Faculty Recital: Maureen O’Boyle” program
March 23, 1989 – “Myung-Hee Chug” program
May 2, 1989 – “Concert Series” program
Oct. 24, 1989 – “Faculty Chamber Concert” program
Dec. 12, 1989 – “Faculty Recital: Maureen O’Boyle and Joseph Leiter” program
March 1, 1990 – “Faculty Recital: Carol Cook and Steven Edmund” program
March 6, 1990 – “Faculty Sonata Evening: Maureen O’Boyle and Myung-Hee Chung” program
April 11, 1990 – “Faculty Recital: Joseph Leiter” program
Nov. 10, 1992 – “Faculty Recital: Mark Clinton” program
March 2, 1993 – “Duo Pianists: Mark Clinton and Nicole Narboni” program
March 28, 1995 – “Duo Pianists: Mark Clinton and Nicole Narboni” program
Nov. 7, 1995 – “Faculty Piano Recital: Gloria Chuang” program
March 26, 1996 – “Piano Recital” program
Oct. 1, 1996 – “Piano Recital: Dr. Henry Jones” program
Oct. 8, 1996 – “Violin Duo: Kexi Liu and Paul Carlson” program
Oct. 29, 1996 – “Faculty Flute Recital: Betsy Thurman Reeds” program
Feb. 11, 1997 – “Faculty Recital: Susan K. Smith” program
March 27, 1997 – “Studio Recital: Betsy Thurman Reeds” program
April 22, 1997 – “Piano Recital: Dr. Henry Jones” program
Oct. 21, 1997 – “Faculty Voice Recital: Susan K. Smith” program
Sept. 25, 1998 – “Faculty Recital: William Ludwig and Henry Jones” program
Feb. 23, 1999 – “Faculty Recital: Dr. Henry Jones” program (2 copies)
April 15, 1999 – “Dr. Katherine Kemler and Dr. Henry Jones” program
April 22, 1999 – “Faculty Voice Recital: Susan K. Smith” program
Nov. 7, 2000 – “Faculty Duo Recital: Kexi Liu and Cynthia Hukill” program
April 24, 2001 – “Faculty Voice Recital: Susan K. Smith” program
Oct. 24, 2013 – “Faculty Clarinet Recital” program
“Southern Trio” program
April 14, 1988 – “Southern Trio” program
March 9, 1989 – “Southern Trio” program (2 copies)
March 5, 1992 – “Southern Trio” program
March 4, 1993 – “Southern Trio” program
March 31, 1994 – “Southern Trio” program
March 2, 1995 – “Southern Trio” program
March 7, 1996 – “Southern Trio” program
Feb. 27, 1997 – “Southern Trio” program
March 17, 1998 – “Southern Trio” program
Jan. 26, 1988 – “Chamber Music Concert Series” program
Feb. 4, 1988 – “Chamber Music Concert Series” program
Feb. 11, 1988 – “Chamber Music Concert Series” program
Nov. 10, 1988 – “Chamber Music Concert Series” program
Feb. 21, 1989 – “An Evening of Chamber Music” program

Gala Concert

Gala Concert Flyers, tickets 2008-2009,
Folder 7

“Southern Jazz Orchestra Personnel” paper
“Gold and Silver Sponsors” paper
Faculty information paper
“Program” rough draft (2 copies)
“Parlor Songs” paper (4 pages)
“Possible selections for singers and big band” paper
Written notes (2 pages)
Event planning paper (2 pages)
Aug. 22, 2008 – “TicketPrinting.com” invoice (3 pages)
Sept. 12, 2008 – “President’s Gala Concert release” email from Curtis Betebenner (2 copies)
Sept. 12, 2008 – “President’s Gala Concert release” email to Rod Surber from Bruce Speck
Sept. 16, 2008 – “Sponsors” email to Rod Surber from John Tiede
Oct. 7, 2008 – “President Gala Tickets” email to Rod Surber from Charlene Darland (2 copies)
Oct. 23, 2008 – “The First Annual President’s Gala Concert” tickets
Oct. 23, 2008 – “Celebrate the Greatest Generation” program (2 copies)
Oct. 23, 2008 – “Celebrate the Greatest Generation” program rough draft
Oct. 23, 2008 – “The Presidential Concert” paper
Oct. 23, 2008 – “Celebrate the Greatest Generation” program cover (3 copies)
Oct. 23, 2008 – “Presidential Gala Concert: Patriotic music, Hymns, et al” paper
Sept. 2009 – “Musical Notes Vol. 9 Issue 1” newsletter
Oct. 5, 2009 – “TicketPrinting” invoice (4 pages)
Oct. 28, 2009 – “Nov. 5 TV” email to Rod Surber from Jeffrey Macomber
Nov. 3-5, 2009 – “Southern Jazz Orchestra” flyer
Nov. 5, 2009 – “A Dazzling Display of Southern Splendor” paper (2 pages)
Nov. 5, 2009 – “President’s Second Annual Gala Concert: Big Band Spectacular” program (2 copies)
Nov. 5, 2009 – “Big Band Spectacular” poster
Nov. 5, 2009 – “Big Band Spectacular” flyer (2 copies)
Nov. 5, 2009 – “A Dazzling Display of Southern Splendor” poster
Nov. 6, 2009 – written notes (2 pages)
2009-2010 – “Music Performance Award Auditions” flyer

Gala Concert Flyers, Tickets 2010-2012,
Folder 8

“Missouri Southern Foundation” paper
Aug. 5, 2010 – “President’s Gala PSA” email to Rod Surber from Glenna Watkins
Aug. 5, 2010 – “President’s Gala PSA” email to Glenna Watkins from Rod Surber (4 pages)
Aug. 20, 2010 – “question” email to Mark Parsons from Jeffrey Macomber
Aug. 31, 2010 – “Gala web site” email from Rod Surber
Sept. 23, 2010 – “USA Print and Digital Services” email to Mark Parsons from Rod Surber
Sept. 23, 2010 – “USA Print and Digital Services” email to Rod Surber from Mark Parsons
Oct. 26, 2010 – “President’s Gala” email to Earlene Fort from Rachel Stanley
Oct. 27, 2010 – “Gala concert logos” email to Lyndall Burrow form Rod Surber
Oct. 28, 2010 – “A Night in the Tropics” program paper (3 copies)
Oct. 28, 2010 – “A Night in the Tropics” tickets
Oct. 28, 2010 – “A Night in the Tropics” poster
Oct. 28, 2010 – “A Night in the Tropics” program (2 copies)
Oct. 28, 2010 – “A Night in the Tropics” flyer
Nov. 4&5, 2010 – “Presidential Gala Concert” paper
2010 – “2010 President’s Gala Sponsorships” paper (3 pages)
2010-2011 – “President’s Gala Concert” paper (2 pages)
Sept. 1, 2011 – “Ticket Printing” invoice (3 pages)
Sept. 1, 2011 – “Ticket Printing” Receipt
Oct. 27, 2011 – “Rodgers, Hammerstein and Friends” tickets
Oct. 27, 2011 – “Rodgers, Hammerstein and Friends” program
Oct. 27, 2011 – “Rodgers, Hammerstein and Friends” flyer
Sept. 12, 2012 – “Music Gala” rough draft design (8 pages)
Oct. 4, 2012 – “Gala Reception and Dance” brochure
Oct. 4, 2012 – “Music Gala” flyer (2 copies)