MathSciNet: Home

MathSciNet

MSC

Using Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC) Codes.

Find them under the FREE TOOLS tab.

The codes help describe the content of the publication. There are primary and secondary codes, and some coding has changed over the years. You can see the changes in coding for a more comprehensive search.

Use the codes in tandem with your search terms to narrow your search.

Math SciNet Tutorials

Tutorials provided by AMS. Some features might vary from what is customized for Spiva.

Note: Some browsers may not support the flash plugin. If the tutorials do not work, try switching browsers.

About

What is MathSciNet:

MathSciNet is a database from the American Mathematical Society (AMS) that contains 2.8 million reviews and abstracts from math publications (1.6 million of these have direct links to the article or item!) This database is licensed through Spiva Library and connects you to online versions of several mathematical resources.

What is included in MathSciNet:

Abstracts and mathematical reviews 

How far back does MathSciNet go:

MathSciNet has items that date back to about 1940, with many older mateirals as well. Some older volumes have been retrospectively and are included in the database, such as the Annals of Math (back to 1884)

How do I access MathSciNet:

Go to A-Z Database List, it is listed under the letter, M or as a new database at the right-hand side of this page.

or click https://mathscinet.ams.org/mathscinet/ 

Where can I get help?

You can always ask us if you are stuck with a research question.  Also, there are many tutorials available in MathSciNet.  This link is support help from MathSciNet itself.

Math SciNet Help

Contact Information

Lucy Wang

Emerging Technologies Librarian/ Systems Librarian

Phone: 417-625-3184

Email: wang-x@mssu.edu

Room: L-421

Library Liaison: CIS, Chemical and Physical Sciences, & Math

Technical Issues

If you have trouble signing into the MSSU Proxy: check this page, or contact the IT help desk at 417-659-4444 or helpdesk@mssu.edu.

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.