Skip to main content
Subscription Databases with Full Text Current Newspapers
These databases are available only to current MSSU students, faculty and staff from off-campus. Community members and others not affiliated with the university must be in the library to access the materials available via these databases.
Access World News Research Collection
This comprehensive news collection is ideal for exploring issues and events at the local, regional, national and international level. Its diverse source types include print and online-only newspapers, blogs, newswires, journals, broadcast transcripts and videos. Use it to explore a specific event or to compare a wide variety of viewpoints on topics such as politics, business, health, sports, cultural activities and people.
Facts On File: World News Digest
Presents the full text of the news as reported in the major newspapers and news magazines of the world since 1940, plus a live news feed from Reuters and thousands of in-depth features, images, charts, and primary documents.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic)
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information in a variety of formats including newspapers.
Includes national and leading regional papers such as The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, USA TODAY, Chicago Tribune, Los Angeles Times, The Atlanta Journal- Constitution, Barron's, The Boston Globe, The Guardian, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Washington Post.
Additional Databases to Search
Single themed weekly reports providing an overview, background and chronology of the issue along with an assessment of the current situation, tables, maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key sources.
Facts on File: Issues & Controversies
chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies, and contact information on over 600 controversial topics in the news since September 1995.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Opposing viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and pod casts, and links to Websites with information on today's hottest social issues.
Print Newspapers in Spiva Library
Most of our newspapers are available via online subscriptions. However, Spiva Library still subscribes to a small number of paper (print) newspapers. A few are even available in both formats - print & online. You will find the following print newspapers on the shelf closest to the Reference desk on the 3rd floor. They are filed alphabetically by their titles.
*also available online via library subscriptions; you must be a current MSSU student, faculty or staff member to access the online papers from off-campus
**MSSU student newspaper - freely available online to anyone with internet access
Opposing Viewpoints in Contest Issue
Fake News on Social Media
Site includes links to 18 Viewpoints articles, 5 statistical charts, 23 audio programs, over 500 newspaper articles and some websites all focused on the Fake News on Social Media topic.
CQ Researcher Reports
Jost, Kenneth. "Digital Journalism." CQ Researcher, 30 May 2014, pp. 457-80
Kiener, Robert. "Media Bias." CQ Researcher, 3 May 2013, pp. 401-24.
Trust in Media
McCutcheon, Chuck. "Trust in Media." CQ Researcher, 9 June 2017, pp. 481-508.
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.