Cultural and Country Background Information
Understanding a nation's culture and political background is essential for researching in comparative politics. The resources on this page are places where you can find good background information about a nation's political system, political history, political parties, cultures, economies, and more.
Country Profiles & Fact Sheets
Provides up-to-date information and news on over 190 countries of the world. Off-campus users must login with Missouri Southern credentials.
Presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world.
BBC News - Country Profiles
Provides an overview of various countries - political leaders, chronology of key events, top news stories and more. Click on the region at the top of the page, then scroll down to the list of countries profiled in that region.
CIA World Factbook
Compiled by the Central Intelligence Agency, this is one of the most detailed and authoritative collections of country profiles. A handy reference work with information about the demographics, infrastructure, economy, government, and military of every country in the world. Includes maps and photos.
U.S. Department of State: Countries and Regions
Overviews of each country, plus links to other useful materials such as U.S Census Bureau Foreign Trade Statistics, Human Rights Reports, and U.S. Embassy pages.
The World Banks provides financial and technical support to developing countries. Provides statistics, news, and publications about various social, economic, and environmental issues.
International Statistical Agencies
International Data Base (IDB)
Find demographic indicators, population pyramids, and source information for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more.
Foreign Information by Country
UCB Libraries Foreign Information by Country
Alphabetical listing of Foreign Country Guides produced by the University of Colorado @ Boulder Library. Each guide contains online resources about the country from both governmental and nongovernmental sources. Most of the sources are freely available to the public, but titles followed by a 'cu' symbol are only accessible on campus.
The Nations Online Project
Nations Online Project: Guide to Countries of the World
Each country profile provides links to official web sites of a nation/territory, information on geography, maps, the national flag, history, culture, tourist destinations, its population and languages, the capital and the largest cities, education, economy and much more.
Doing Business Project: World Bank Group
Offers economic data from 2003 to the present. The data is presented in a variety of ways useful to researchers, policy makers, journalists and others. Explore by country by using the gold drop down box on the right side of the page.
2014 Index of Economic Freedom
an annual guide published by The Wall Street Journal and The Heritage Foundation, tracking up to two decades of advancement in economic freedoms - from property rights to entrepreneurship - in 186 countries.
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.