Research and Course Guides: PSC 321: International Relations: Overview of International Relations

Call Numbers

Want to browse the shelves? Here are the Library of Congress call numbers for International Relations and related subjects:

E183.7-183.9 U.S. Diplomatic history. Foreign and general relations.

GN301‑674 Ethnology. Social and cultural anthropology

HG3810-4000 Foreign exchange. International finance. International monetary system

JC11‑605 Political theory. The state. Theories of the state

JV6001‑9480 Emigration and immigration. International migration

JZ5‑6530 International relations

KZ2‑6795 Law of nations

Suggested search terms

Civilization

Constuctivism

Cultural Studies

Diplomacy

Foreign Relations

Global Health

Global Issues

Globalization

Government

Human Rights

Imperialism

International Cooperation

International Law

International Politics

International Relations

International Trade

Liberalism

Nationalism

Realism

World Economics

World Humanities

Reference eBooks - Available 24/7 online

Government, Politics, and Protest by K. Lee Lerner (Editor); Brenda Wilmoth Lerner (Editor); Adrienne Wilmoth Lerner (Editor)
ISBN: 1414403275
Publication Date: 2006-10-30
"Although international in scope, the focus of this collection is primarily the twentieth-century U.S. The 143 entries range from the 1764 Sugar Act to the 2006 protest in Pakistan against anti-Muslim Danish cartoons. The types of protests are not just physical acts but also take the form of memoirs, songs, letters, legislation, and images." - Arthur Meyers, Copyright 2007. Booklist.

Reference Print Books - 3rd floor by Reference Desk

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of International Relations by Cathal J. Nolan
ISBN: 0313307431
Publication Date: 2002-05-30

Print Books Located in Main Collection - 2nd Floor (Available for checkout)

Encyclopedia of International Relations and Global Politics
Call Number: JZ1160 .E635
ISBN: 0415311608
"Thematic coverage ranges across diplomacy, military affairs, international political economy, and IR theory." - H. H. Ives emerita, American University, Choice Review.
Encyclopedia of the United Nations
Call Number: KZ4968 .M66
ISBN: 0816044171
- provides a comprehensive guide to the UN's institutions, procedures, policies, agencies, historical personalities, initiatives, and involvement in world affairs.
The Penguin Dictionary of International Relations by Graham Evans; Richard Newnham; Jeffrey Newnham
ISBN: 0140513973
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
" Timeliness is the overarching value of this necessarily selective compendium of essential ideas, concepts, and theories of international relations, specialized terminology, and neologisms (e.g., "ethnic cleansing"). In an especially useful feature, the authors cite major works and individuals responsible for introducing or popularizing a term (e.g., Samuel Huntington's "clash of civilizations")." - D. Ettinger; George Washington University, Choice Review.

Search for MORE Books at Spiva Library

Use KEWORD option if you don't know the Library of Congress Subject.

eBook Collections

ebrary: Advanced Search : subject:international relations
-browse over 700 ebooks with subject 'international relations' in ebrary.
EBSCO eBooks: keyword search, "international relations"
-browse over 2,000 ebooks with keyword search, "international relations' in EBSCO eBook Collection.

Accessing eBooks

To access the full-text of eBooks subsctiptions (ebrary & EBSCO) from off-campus you must be a current MSSU student, faculty or staff member with a username and PIN. If you don't know or can't remember your Missouri Southern Username or PIN, please contact the IT Help Desk.

Off-Campus Access to Electronic Resources Webpage
To access article databases or eBooks from off-campus you must be an MSSU student, faculty or staff member with a username and PIN.
MSSU IT Help Desk Webpage

MSSU Grant Book Shelf - 3rd floor alcove by lion

From Colony to Superpower: U.S. foreign relations since 1776 by George C. Herring
Call Number: E183.7 H44
ISBN: 0195078225
Publication Date: 2008-10-28
"The purpose of this ambitious and massive work is to track and explain how 13 separate, vulnerable British colonies evolved to carve out a position of dominance in world affairs." -Freeman, Jay Copyright 2008 Booklist

Library:		Search by:
Search for: