Research and Course Guides: Communication Studies: Journalism

Featured EBSCO eBooks

Journalism: a very short introduction by Ian Hargreaves
ISBN: 9780192806567
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Encyclopedia of Journalism by Christopher H. Sterling (Editor)
ISBN: 9780761929574
Publication Date: 2009-09-25

Search for Articles

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Single themed weekly reports providing an overview, background and chronology on the topic along with an assessment of the current situation, tables, maps, pro/con statements, and bibliographies of key sources.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
- provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world with content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Nexis Uni (LexisNexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information as well as U.S. Supreme Court decisions back to 1790.

EBSCO eBooks

ProQuest Ebook Central

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
-link directly to ebrary to search over 80,000 ebooks

Ebook Central LibGuide Page
-Ebook Central search tips page

Search for Books & Other Items at Spiva Library

Use KEWORD option if you don't know the Library of Congress Subject.
In KEYWORD put phrases in quotes.

OR Browse titles by Subject Heading

Broadcast journalism	Newspaper publishing
Foreign news	Online journalism
Journalism	Press
Mass media.	Reporters and reporting

Search Everything at MSSU

Journalism Journals

SEE: ALL 340 Journalism Titles

SAMPLE TITLES:

American journalism (0882-1127)


	from 07/01/2003 to present in Communications and Mass Media Complete

Editor & publisher (0013-094X)


	from 01/01/1991 to present in Business Insights: Essentials

Journalism & mass communication quarterly (1077-6990)


	from 01/01/1999 to present in SAGE Complete A-Z List (1999-Present)

Journalism history (0094-7679)


	from 03/01/1985 to present in Communications and Mass Media Complete

CQ Reseracher Reports related to Journalism, Newspapers, and the Media

Journalism, Newspapers, and the Media

May 03, 2013

Apr. 26, 2013

Apr. 12, 2013

Nov. 2010

Oct. 08, 2010

Journalism Standards in the Internet Age

Feb. 05, 2010

Mar. 27, 2009

Jun. 09, 2006

Jan. 20, 2006

Apr. 08, 2005

Oct. 15, 2004

Oct. 10, 2003

Dec. 25, 1998

Journalism Under Fire

Jun. 05, 1998

Student Journalism

Sep. 20, 1996

Civic Journalism

Sep. 23, 1994

Courts and the Media

Suggested Websites

Committee to Protect Journalists
-established in 1981 and based in New York, the Committee to Protect Journalists describes itself as “an independent, nonprofit organization dedicated to defending press freedom worldwide.” The Web site provides information about international issues, including the difficulties faced by foreign correspondents. The site also provides information about the organization’s efforts to assist journalists reporting from hostile locations.
News Media Alliance
-a nonprofit organization that represents the newspaper industry, from the daily-circulation papers in the U.S. and Canada to university newspapers, press associations, and distributors. It focuses on key elements of the industry: marketing, public policy, diversity, industry development, newspaper operations, and readership. NAA publishes newsletters such as Presstime magazine and Big Ideas for Smaller Market Newspapers.
The Paley Center for Media
-with locations in New York and Los Angeles, leads the discussion about the cultural, creative, and social significance of television, radio, and emerging platforms for the professional community and media-interested public.
Pressthink
-the creation of press critic and author Jay Rosen, Pressthink is an ongoing website that analyzes media trends and debates, including essays on media bias and how the Internet is changing the practice of journalism.

Featured ebrary ebooks

Journalism: Critical Issues by Stuart Allan
ISBN: 9780335214754
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Newsgames: Journalism at Play by Ian Bogost; Simon Ferrari; Bobby Schweizer
ISBN: 9780262014878
Publication Date: 2010-10-01
On the Condition of Anonymity: Unnamed Sources and the Battle for Journalism by Matt Carlson
ISBN: 9780252035999
Publication Date: 2011-04-08
Out on Assignment: Newspaper Women and the Making of Modern Public Space by Alice Fahs
ISBN: 9780807834961
Publication Date: 2011-11-17

Accessing eBooks

To access the full-text of eBooks subsctiptions (ebrary & EBSCO) from off-campus you must be a current MSSU student, faculty or staff member with a username and PIN. If you don't know or can't remember your Missouri Southern Username or PIN, please contact the IT Help Desk.

Off-Campus Access to Electronic Resources Webpage
To access article databases or eBooks from off-campus you must be an MSSU student, faculty or staff member with a username and PIN.
MSSU IT Help Desk Webpage

Google Books

Why use Google Books?

Google Books searches the full-text of books. It is great for narrow topics because it lets you search within the text of books--you can see the table of contents, index or a portion of the contents of the book. You can then locate the book in a nearby library.

Current in print copyrighted books are not full text. Out of print but still copyrighted books will show 20% of the book. Books in the public domain (pre 1923) are completely full text.

SAMPLE SEARCH: "future of journalism"

Library:		Search by:
Search for:

Communication Studies