What is Summon?: Summon Overview

What is Summon?

What is Summon?

Summon is a Google-like search engine for Spiva Library. It searches the library's catalog and many of our databases simultaneously to quickly provide relevancy-ranked, credible library results through a single search box. Use it to find books, articles, and more. You will be linked directly to the full text of materials that match your search terms, whenever possible.

When should I use Summon?

Summon is great for:

  • Getting started on your research
  • Searching for books and journals at the same time
  • Researching interdisciplinary topics
  • Searching for full-text articles

What does Summon Include?

What does Summon include?

Summon includes everything in the library's catalog, numerous academic databases the library subscribes to, and digital repositories like the HathiTrust. It searches for books, scholarly journal articles, magazine and newspaper articles, theses and dissertations, and multimedia materials.

It includes:

  • Books and articles that the MSSU Library has in its physical and online collections;
  • Some articles and other items that are not in Spiva Library collections, but which can be requested through Interlibrary Loan.

When searching Summon for journal articles, the default search shows only results from the library's databases. Note that immediate full text access is not always available.


This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.