Common Assignment & Research Questions: How do I find book reviews?

Answers to the questions we get asked most about your assignments.

Magill's Literary Annuals Online

Available Dates:  1977 - present

Book Review Digest and Book Review Index

Available in print in the library only.  Shelved at the end of the Reference Collection on the 3rd floor of the library.


Book Review Digest ( 1905- 2008)

Book Review Index ( Jan. 1965 - Feb. 1975)

Suggested Websites

Recommended Databases to Search

Contemporary Authors - provides complete biographical and bibliographical information and references on more than 120,000 U.S. and international authors.

Dictionary of Literary Biography - more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.

Horn Book Guide Online - publishes short, critical reviews of virtually every hardcover trade book published in the United States for young people since 1989.

JSTOR Arts & Sciences V Archive Collection - builds on previously introduced disciplines, adding important literary reviews and state historical journals. Also widens the scope of core disciplines in the arts and humanities, such as philosophy, history, classics, religion, art and art history, and language and literature. When complete, the collection will number at least 120 titles.

Literature Criticism Online - combines and cross-references over 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles from Children’s Literature Review, Contemporary Literary Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Criticism, into one easily searchable source.

MLA International Bibliography - detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations consisting of literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, the historical aspects of printing and publishing, and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature.

Something About the Author - examines the lives and works of authors and illustrators for children and young adults and is the preeminent source on authors and literature for young people.

This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.