N Visual arts
NE Print media
NK Decorative arts
NX Arts in general
TT Handicrafts, arts and crafts
Looking for inspiration?
Not sure where to start and need some ideas for research? Start with the Topics in Art & Art History page for a good foundation. The sources on this page will give you a general look at various topics, then the books and journals pages will provide tips for finding more specific sources. The web resources page provides links to various online organizations and image libraries.
General Art Print Books in Reference
These books can be found, by the call number indicated, in our Reference collection located on the 3rd floor.
Biographical encyclopedia of artists by
Call Number: N40 .B535 2005
Alphabetically-arranged entries provide information on the life of notable artists, characteristics of their works, significance of their work, career milestones, and locations where their work is displayed.
The Dictionary of Art by
Call Number: N31 .D5
Boasting well over 6,000 contributors from 12 countries, the Dictionary serves as a unique guide to all the visual arts: painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, drawing, printmaking, as well as the decorative arts.
Encyclopedia of World Art by
Call Number: N31 .E4833
Subject matter consists of representational arts in the broadest sense, architecture, sculpture, painting, and other man-made objects with no limits as to time, place, or cultural environment.
The Grove Encyclopedia of American Art by
Call Number: N6505 .G76
Comprehensive coverage of American art from Pre-Columbian sources to the colonial period to the 21st century. In addition to entries on individual artists, articles on major events, movements, and exhibitions in American art are included.
In Print at Spiva Library
These books are available in the main collection, located on the 2nd floor.
This site is maintained by the librarians of George A. Spiva Library.
If you have a question or comment about the Library's LibGuides, please contact the site administrator.